Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Nov 15, 2011, 02:29 PM
Joined Jun 2011
5 Posts
Discussion
Storm launcher

Hey guys
I got my hands on a storm launcher and tried to do some small mods on it. I upgraded the battery to a 800mah 7.4v and installed two 240 johnson brushed motors. But not when I give some throttle the storm launcher dies? I was told it could be the Esc but I dont see one to replace? I am new to this stuff and would appreciate if anyone can help me out with this!

Rob
rseeker is offline Find More Posts by rseeker
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 15, 2011, 03:31 PM
Live to ride... and fly!
Forney, TX
Joined Mar 2002
15,165 Posts
There for a while Storm Launchers were wildly popular, but you hardly see them mentioned anymore. It's quite likely that the Johnson motors you put on there are drawing a lot more juice than the stock motors were and it could be overloading the onboard ESC (actually there are two, one for each motor). Unfortunately if you're using the stock electronics, it's a brick configuration and you cannot replace the ESCs without also replacing the receiver. You're getting into a fairly complicated setup because the left/ right control on the SL is handled via differential thrust (IE, varying the speed of the motors), so you'll also need a transmitter that has computer mixing capabilities. Frankly I'd suggest you put the stock motors back on unless you're willing to sink a bunch of money into it.

If you do decide to proceed, some time back there were threads on converting the SL to dual brushless and there have been wiring diagrams posted (would be the same for dual brushed), but it would take some digging to find the info. Two local guys invented the Storm Launcher and sold the idea to Air Hogs, one of them (Ernest- UAVPilot) posted the brushless conversion info, so if you search posts on his ID you should find it. I actually have all the parts to convert mine, but I keep putting other projects ahead of it!