Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 14, 2011, 04:30 AM
Jakub J's Avatar
Krakow/POLAND
Joined Dec 2009
1,698 Posts
Discussion
Good quadcopter simulator?

Hi

I want to improve my skill in flying quadcopter in acro mode (only).
Winter is coming, so will be better to fly in home than outside

Can you recomend any _good_ realistic quadcopter simulator (for PC)?

Jakub
Jakub J is offline Find More Posts by Jakub J
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 14, 2011, 04:50 AM
Official Old Git!
Hampshire, UK
Joined Sep 2000
1,383 Posts
Hi,

Phoenix is a great sim - and has a quadcopter as one of it's models..
Norman Adlam is online now Find More Posts by Norman Adlam
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2011, 04:55 AM
Registered User
fajar's Avatar
sydney, downunder
Joined Jan 2011
1,663 Posts
+1 for phoenix sim.
fajar is offline Find More Posts by fajar
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2011, 05:24 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Gaui in phoenixsim is good.
But it has slightly unrealistic physics.
If you go up high, then turn upside down (half-flip), the acceleration is wrong.
It falls a lot slower than it should. Almost like gliding, lol.
Then when you complete the flip, it straightens out ok. Other than that, its fairly realistic.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Nov 14, 2011, 06:23 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Feb 2004
7,056 Posts
aerosimrc isn't as "photo realistic" as Phoenix but has several quads, hexes and octos to choose from as well as fpv training. I have both it and phoenix.
randall1959 is offline Find More Posts by randall1959
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Nov 14, 2011, 06:29 AM
Suspended Account
UK, Buckinghamshire, High Wycombe
Joined Feb 2007
4,133 Posts
want to fly quad good in acro? fly helicopters in the sim! NOT multirotors
n3m1s1s is offline Find More Posts by n3m1s1s
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Nov 14, 2011, 06:36 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by randall1959 View Post
aerosimrc isn't as "photo realistic" as Phoenix but has several quads, hexes and octos to choose from as well as fpv training. I have both it and phoenix.
All quads in aerosimrc are auto-level.
I'm currently emailing back and forth with aerosim guy about tuning a rate-mode gaui model. It's not perfect but getting there (quite a bit of wobble).
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Nov 14, 2011, 08:45 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
216 Posts
The Gaui 330 in Phoenix RC is fairly good. I haven't tried anything else, but I intend to try the 330 in Realflight eventually. The good thing about Phoenix though, is that when you buy it you get upgrades for life, unlike Realflight where you have to dish out a significant amount every time it's got an upgrade [expansion].
Saneless is offline Find More Posts by Saneless
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2011, 04:06 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Feb 2004
7,056 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timecop View Post
All quads in aerosimrc are auto-level.
I'm currently emailing back and forth with aerosim guy about tuning a rate-mode gaui model. It's not perfect but getting there (quite a bit of wobble).
Unfortunately though, Phoenix doesn't come with any fpv training. That's why I got aerosim.
randall1959 is offline Find More Posts by randall1959
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Nov 15, 2011, 01:44 AM
My RC builds in my profile.
daign's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Feb 2011
2,553 Posts
Phoenix Simulator is beautiful. It has the Gaui 330x-s. The rest all look really bad, dont run on windows 7.

Aerosim looks good.
daign is offline Find More Posts by daign
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2011, 01:50 AM
Registered User
fajar's Avatar
sydney, downunder
Joined Jan 2011
1,663 Posts
Running phoenix sim in win 7 64bit here without problem .
fajar is offline Find More Posts by fajar
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2011, 01:52 AM
Registered User
David Jenkins's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Ipswich
Joined Aug 2011
306 Posts
You do get 7 or 8 different multicopters to play with in AeroSim...

You can download AeroSim to play with and see if it's what you want - it will run full-featured for 2 minutes without the dongle.
David Jenkins is offline Find More Posts by David Jenkins
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2011, 04:24 AM
Registered User
Macon, GA
Joined Sep 2010
40 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fajar View Post
Running phoenix sim in win 7 64bit here without problem .
+1 here
ronnie187 is offline Find More Posts by ronnie187
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2011, 06:14 PM
Master Of My Universe
scotsoft's Avatar
Newcastle, UK
Joined Jul 2010
2,700 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fajar View Post
Running phoenix sim in win 7 64bit here without problem .
I'm running Win 7 32 bit and Phoenix runs fine, no problems
scotsoft is offline Find More Posts by scotsoft
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Good Simulator philipjames11 Electric Plane Talk 5 Sep 01, 2011 11:05 AM
Discussion Ordering parts for mini quadcopter, does this look good? aEx155 Multirotor Talk 21 Aug 11, 2011 08:11 PM
Sold Real Flight G3 R/C Simulator-Good Condition lenci1938e Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jun 15, 2011 09:19 PM
Question Good setup for small indoor quadcopter? marhar Multirotor Talk 7 May 30, 2011 09:21 PM
Sold Real Flight G3 R/C Simulator-Good Condition lenci1938e Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 May 22, 2011 12:38 AM