HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 25, 2003, 06:58 AM
rehsarCeoJ
JoeCrasher's Avatar
Glenmoore, PA
Joined Jul 2003
253 Posts
Phoenix 25 - won't start motor every 8th time

Hi,

I have a Phoenix 25 that does something strange.

Here's what happens;

Power everything up. Then I turn the motor on an off at the transmitter. Every 8th time, the motor fails to start and the red led on the controller lights up.

My setup is 3 HS55 servos, etec 3s1p 1200, GWS 4 channel receiver, razor 350.

I was flying with my buddy last night who has the same setup. So, we tried his & guess what? The same thing happens...

Is this normal? Or do these have to go back for a software revision? Mine is about a month old and his just came in last week.

Joe
JoeCrasher is offline Find More Posts by JoeCrasher
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 25, 2003, 09:18 AM
Schumacher USA
Tampa FL
Joined Jul 2000
3,038 Posts
Try the fast start option in the "soft start" menu.

I've heard of this, but neither Patrick, nor myself, have been able to reproduce it with the reported consistency.

Shawn
Shawn Palmer is offline Find More Posts by Shawn Palmer
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2003, 04:13 PM
high-speed freak
opualuan's Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Sep 2001
3,863 Posts
i have been having problems with my p35, similar issues. after reading this, I tried testing to see a pattern. yes, every 8th time my setup (mega 16/15/2 4.4:1, 9.5x6) won't run, light just blinks.

so, the idea here is to count how many times you use the throttle and double blip every 8th to make this controller run right? this is bad...
opualuan is offline Find More Posts by opualuan
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2003, 04:39 PM
Must cancel PayPal acct!
Drivie's Avatar
AZ
Joined Mar 2003
1,077 Posts
My Phoenix 25 will do this too I've noticed and it's connected to a Hacker B20-15L (I think I mentioned this in another thread). I haven't had too much trouble with it in flight but it is annoying. Maybe it's a software bug because I'm pretty sure it was every eighth time for me as well.

Drivie
Drivie is offline Find More Posts by Drivie
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2003, 09:10 PM
high-speed freak
opualuan's Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Sep 2001
3,863 Posts
just flew my prima with miniac extreme 6:1, 12.5x8, 2s2p etec, on my p25. same issue. I actually had no power in flight when I needed it. I really don't want to ground my planes wo send these controllers in AGAIN. this was NOT happening with the older FW for me...
opualuan is offline Find More Posts by opualuan
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2003, 09:31 PM
rehsarCeoJ
JoeCrasher's Avatar
Glenmoore, PA
Joined Jul 2003
253 Posts
Have you guys tried the fast start option?

Or does this still happen with it turned on?

Me, I never got around to trying it yet. I'll check it out tomorrow & post my results.

Joe
JoeCrasher is offline Find More Posts by JoeCrasher
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2003, 09:45 PM
rehsarCeoJ
JoeCrasher's Avatar
Glenmoore, PA
Joined Jul 2003
253 Posts
Have you guys tried the fast start option?

Or does this still happen with it turned on?

Me, I never got around to trying it yet. I'll check it out tomorrow & post my results.

Joe
JoeCrasher is offline Find More Posts by JoeCrasher
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2003, 10:13 PM
high-speed freak
opualuan's Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Sep 2001
3,863 Posts
yes, still does it on fast start.
opualuan is offline Find More Posts by opualuan
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2003, 08:05 AM
FPVing for fun...
rcall's Avatar
Joined Jul 2003
551 Posts
My Phoenix-10 does it too...

Already tried all programming options, same result ever...

I reported it on this thread

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...hreadid=150015

rcall
rcall is offline Find More Posts by rcall
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2003, 08:21 PM
rehsarCeoJ
JoeCrasher's Avatar
Glenmoore, PA
Joined Jul 2003
253 Posts
Shawn,

Were you able to duplicate this problem?

Joe
JoeCrasher is offline Find More Posts by JoeCrasher
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2003, 10:54 AM
Schumacher USA
Tampa FL
Joined Jul 2000
3,038 Posts
Not yet, but still trying - flew w/Patrick last night, I'll fly again this afternoon.
Shawn
Shawn Palmer is offline Find More Posts by Shawn Palmer
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2003, 11:24 AM
FPVing for fun...
rcall's Avatar
Joined Jul 2003
551 Posts
Shawn:

You can try the same setup I have on my P-10...

Here it is...

1) 3 cutoff 6.0V
2) 1 very sensitive
3) 1 soft delayed brake
4) 2 fixed range throttle
5) 2 standard advance
6) 2 soft cutoff
7) 1 very soft start

I tried other combinations, same result...

rcall
rcall is offline Find More Posts by rcall
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2003, 11:40 AM
rehsarCeoJ
JoeCrasher's Avatar
Glenmoore, PA
Joined Jul 2003
253 Posts
rcall

What kind of motor & batteries are you running?

I have 3 razor 350 motors & two cc25 controllers - they all exibit the same problem. My buddy is running a razor 350 as well. I don't have any other bl motor to try.

I'm with you on programming - it keeps cutting out on the 8th try no matter what I set it to.

One thing - I always run it on a a couple of 3s1p 1200 etec packs. When I get home, I'll try it on some different types of batteries.

Joe
JoeCrasher is offline Find More Posts by JoeCrasher
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2003, 11:44 AM
Must cancel PayPal acct!
Drivie's Avatar
AZ
Joined Mar 2003
1,077 Posts
I've tried it on different batteries (KAN950s) with the default programming and a Hacker B20-15L and it did the same thing for me. It sounds to me like a software bug in the ESC.

Drivie
Drivie is offline Find More Posts by Drivie
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2003, 11:53 AM
FPVing for fun...
rcall's Avatar
Joined Jul 2003
551 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by JoeCrasher
rcall

What kind of motor & batteries are you running?


Joe
motors are all CD-ROM converts...

batts are 2S1P Lipo, 6/7 NimH, 6/7 NiCds... don't have any pacs with more than 7 cells...

rcall
rcall is offline Find More Posts by rcall
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phoenix 10 - won't start, LED on solid tch_popeye Castle Creations 11 Oct 03, 2005 09:10 AM
Phoenix-25 won't program! dadspet Castle Creations 5 Mar 05, 2005 10:11 AM
Castle Creations Phoenix 25 won't program Ender Power Systems 4 Jul 10, 2004 01:50 AM
Phoenix 25 won't throttle up properly Frank Klenk Castle Creations 10 Mar 19, 2004 12:03 PM
Phoenix 25 won't arm thomer Castle Creations 4 Mar 18, 2004 07:21 PM