Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
This thread is privately moderated by Broose27, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Nov 10, 2011, 10:13 PM
Late starter
Swan Hill, Victoria
Joined Jan 2010
167 Posts
Discussion
SE5a build

Now this is something I've never done before, so bear with me.

I'll have a crack at recording the build on my brand new Durafly SE5a that arrived today, with photos, observations and anything that might be relevant.

Hoping the kids are distracted enough, the wife doesn't add to my list of jobs, and that the pieces go together. Not optimistic that the maiden will be tomorrow (Saturday), but the forecast is for calm conditions after work Monday, so we'll see how we go.

Saturday - after parties last night and some awesome flying weather this morning, the Durafly SE5a is ready to go.

If I could summarise the build, it would be a couple of hours doing the general build and enjoying it, then an hour or two doing the fiddly rigging. Having said that, it's worth the wait.

The pics below summarise my late last night and early this afternoon building session:

The very very basic instructions - good for the batting order, and for the clearly labelled screws of various sizes, and the wings, struts, undercarriage and prop are easy. Even the metal wires on the the tail were easy. The black wire rigging and tiny springs (with heaps of spares - great idea!) you had to make up a bit, unless you've worked with biplanes before (not me).

I found it easy to follow the cheat sheet, and lay out the parts, and apart from putting the main wing struts in the wrong wings (linkages were on outside not inside for the rigging), it went togther very well.

Some close ups of the progress and finish - a minor scuff mark where the lower wing meets the fuse was the only evidence of the box being hammered by rough delivery and post office flooding.