SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:04 AM
Suspended Account
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2012
3,265 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T J Gilbert View Post
No picture, but the answer is yes.
It should be easy as most rec I've seen have the antennas attached right out on the edge of the PCB.
You might discover some adhesive helping hold the wire to the PCB.
Cut that away, and replace it (if you want) after you're finished with something appropriate.
Use a low wattage PCB iron.
It'll be like soldering the ESC wires to the Naza bottom plate in minature...
So since there is no loose rattling sound coming from the receiver I will assume the clip if there is one is still in place on the board. The end of the wire that came out looks like it just separated from the inside. This receiver has 2 antenna wires so I bet it still is flying using the still attached antenna wire. I will open the case and see if I have the skills to re solder the wire to whatever it was connected to. If I need adhesive I guess I could just use my hot glue gun.
goldsworthy is offline Find More Posts by goldsworthy
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:09 AM
I never finish anyth
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2012
2,585 Posts
GW what are you doing?! Are you sick?! You do know you can buy them in bulk HERE.
MCrites is offline Find More Posts by MCrites
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:36 AM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,885 Posts
Futaba = Easy

Quote:
Originally Posted by 320pilot View Post
usually these antenna wires are attached to a clip, that is a press fit to the motherboard.
Open up the case, and have a look inside, here is a picture of the inside of a Futaba Rx . You can see the two antenna wires, and the metal clips at the end that are a press fit onto a male pin on the circuit board.

If the clip receptacle is broken or damaged, you need a new receiver. If the wire is just broken, you might be able to order a replacement antenna wire?
Man, the Futaba attachment looks really user friendly (+1 for Futaba).
If Futaba is what GW has, he might not even have to solder.
I know that the Spektrum antenna wires are soldered to the board.
T J Gilbert is online now Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:39 AM
Registered User
mauromassari's Avatar
Brasil, CE, Fortaleza
Joined Jun 2011
1,100 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCrites View Post
GW what are you doing?! Are you sick?! You do know you can buy them in bulk HERE.
+1 on that

Mauro
mauromassari is offline Find More Posts by mauromassari
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:40 AM
Suspended Account
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2012
3,265 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCrites View Post
GW what are you doing?! Are you sick?! You do know you can buy them in bulk HERE.
Dont be a wise a%&^! Thanks for the link I just orderd 6 at that great reduced price!
goldsworthy is offline Find More Posts by goldsworthy
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Oct 09, 2012, 04:35 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2005
2,550 Posts
Georgian Peaks FPV

I was at the Georgian Peakss ski club with my Naza TBS Disco for some FPV fun. I hooked up with the boys from TBRC, Zoltan from NGHobbies, Greg from Fatshark and a few more fellows. Lots of flights from wings to multis. Here are a few pics and my two flights.

Geogian Peaks FPV #1 (11 min 5 sec)


Georgian Peaks FPV #2 (10 min 26 sec)
Buffythesaint is offline Find More Posts by Buffythesaint
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 05:13 PM
Registered User
Hkubota's Avatar
Japan, Tokyo
Joined Mar 2012
269 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldsworthy View Post
Here is a photo of the type receiver I use showing the 2 antenna wires. Thanks!
I got the RX 802 and it has the "normal" antenna sockets. For 2.4GHz stuff you rarely see something else. Any replacement antenna should work. I ordered some from HK which are originally for FrSky.
Hkubota is offline Find More Posts by Hkubota
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:29 PM
Westland Michigan.
Joined Jan 2012
103 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T J Gilbert View Post
Here is a screenshot of the Naza Manual where DJI does not recommend the Naza FC for more than 650mm.
Your link does show the FC on a larger frame.
Draw your own conclusions...
Experimenting is what a lot of this hobby is about.
Let us know how it goes if you decide to try it!
TJ, Don't you remember? You helped me get this beast going. It's 110cm (1,100mm) M to M.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=r2lbfIvDevs
mikemijal is offline Find More Posts by mikemijal
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:40 PM
DJI Support
Las Vegas/Lake Tahoe
Joined Feb 2010
9,776 Posts
There is at least one person using a Naza with GPS on an S800 frame.
Tahoe Ed is online now Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Landing Gear Reset S800
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:44 PM
Westland Michigan.
Joined Jan 2012
103 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemijal View Post
TJ, Don't you remember? You helped me get this beast going. It's 110cm (1,100mm) M to M.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=r2lbfIvDevs
Tahoe Ed , You were a big help for me also !!!
mikemijal is offline Find More Posts by mikemijal
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:48 PM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,885 Posts
I do now! You're a fellow 62 yr old!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemijal View Post
TJ, Don't you remember? You helped me get this beast going. It's 110cm (1,100mm) M to M.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=r2lbfIvDevs
I'm sorry.
After a while, all the posts and issues sort of swim together or fade to gray.
I think you probably understand that...
Like wazzer and I were saying, it should work, and your success proves it!
Thanks for the reminder...

I'd also forgotten how impressive the video was! Went back and watched it again. You're setup must be near perfect to achieve such steady results. I sincerely doubt anything I posted caused your craft to fly that well. That credit goes to you as the builder/pilot. Kudos!
Thanks for sharing it again.


BTW, what ESCs/motors make up your powertrain?
Brand and size, if you don't mind...
T J Gilbert is online now Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Last edited by T J Gilbert; Oct 09, 2012 at 11:30 PM. Reason: Watched the video again...
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 03:17 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Norwich
Joined Jun 2004
451 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemijal View Post
TJ, Don't you remember? You helped me get this beast going. It's 110cm (1,100mm) M to M.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=r2lbfIvDevs
That's a relief, as I've just built a quad that's only 690mm motor to motor and have not tried it yet until the 2nd Naza arrives.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...7#post22960454

john
jetstuff is offline Find More Posts by jetstuff
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 10, 2012, 07:30 AM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,885 Posts
Sorry, Guys....

Quote:
Originally Posted by jetstuff View Post
That's a relief, as I've just built a quad that's only 690mm motor to motor and have not tried it yet until the 2nd Naza arrives.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...7#post22960454

john
I didn't mean to lead anyone to think that Naza can't handle larger airframes.
Being the cautious fellow that I am, I just was insinuating that experimenting into unrecommended areas requires extra attention to details, trial & error work, and more knowledge.
Also, since most posters are here to air problems, the few success stories that are posted get covered up and forgotten. I honestly had forgotten mikemijal's success story (back in August & 2000 posts back on the GPS thread)...
T J Gilbert is online now Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Last edited by T J Gilbert; Oct 10, 2012 at 07:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 02:30 PM
Registered User
Maxedout's Avatar
New Zealand
Joined Dec 2011
202 Posts
It works fine on my 1000mm MTM Quad.
Maxedout is offline Find More Posts by Maxedout
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 02:35 PM
Suspended Account
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2012
3,265 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T J Gilbert View Post
I didn't mean to lead anyone to think that Naza can't handle larger airframes.
Being the cautious fellow that I am, I just was insinuating that experimenting into unrecommended areas requires extra attention to details, trial & error work, and more knowledge.
Also, since most posters are here to air problems, the few success stories that are posted get covered up and forgotten. I honestly had forgotten mikemijal's success story (back in August & 2000 posts back on the GPS thread)...
Your slipping TJ! I guess you must be getting old! Happens to the best of us I guess
goldsworthy is offline Find More Posts by goldsworthy
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DJI WooKong-M Autopilot System for multirotors **Owners Thread** DJI INNOVATIONS Multirotor Electronics 19997 Sep 26, 2014 11:05 AM
New Product MultiWiiCopter "MiniWii" FC - Cheap, small 6DOF FC JussiH Multirotor Talk 707 Jan 01, 2013 08:54 AM
Discussion DJI Innovation helicopter autopilot XP.3.1 for European customers JoelT Aerial Photography 2 Sep 24, 2009 11:43 AM
New Product United Hobbies FC 28-05 & FC 28-22 brushless outrunners $5.95 ea. JawaSnack Hot Online Deals 9 Jul 17, 2007 10:31 AM
Futaba FC-18 teacher to FC-16 pupil problem . jmquetin Radios 5 Nov 02, 2004 06:48 AM