HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 28, 2013, 06:41 PM
Registered User
v00d0o's Avatar
United States, VA, Fairfax
Joined Dec 2012
1,249 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCrites View Post
I saw on the spreadsheet most people with Cutoff = Off, Timing = Medium, Startup = Normal, Battery = NiMh
Awhhhh man..

still have the same problem...motors just click not turning
I'm about to cry lol
v00d0o is offline Find More Posts by v00d0o
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 28, 2013, 06:43 PM
I never finish anyth
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2012
2,585 Posts
Time to try different things... change timing to slow.... then to high.... not working change back to medium and change the startup to soft... repeat.
MCrites is offline Find More Posts by MCrites
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 06:54 PM
Registered User
v00d0o's Avatar
United States, VA, Fairfax
Joined Dec 2012
1,249 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCrites View Post
Time to try different things... change timing to slow.... then to high.... not working change back to medium and change the startup to soft... repeat.
I think I'm going to go crazy from these beep codes.

Still didn't work

I tried all startup modes and timings...
Very strange.. Nothing worked
v00d0o is offline Find More Posts by v00d0o
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 28, 2013, 06:55 PM
I never finish anyth
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2012
2,585 Posts
Now cry... sounds to me to be the wrong ESCs. Check through your Naza Assistant, make sure the low voltage cutoff isn't on. Go through all of the ESCs again... triple check all wiring. Make sure your flight mode stuff and VU is working properly (lights on the VU).
MCrites is offline Find More Posts by MCrites
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 07:00 PM
Registered User
v00d0o's Avatar
United States, VA, Fairfax
Joined Dec 2012
1,249 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCrites View Post
Now cry... sounds to me to be the wrong ESCs. Check through your Naza Assistant, make sure the low voltage cutoff isn't on. Go through all of the ESCs again... triple check all wiring. Make sure your flight mode stuff and VU is working properly (lights on the VU).
I wasn't using the NAZA at all this whole time.. Just connected each motor straight to the Transmitter.

All my wiring for the ESCs are soldered connections with tightly wound wire and heatshrink/electrical tape. All connected to a "power spider."

How good is hobby king returns?
v00d0o is offline Find More Posts by v00d0o
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 28, 2013, 07:32 PM
Habitual Line Stepper
Cervanchez's Avatar
United States, WA, Redmond
Joined Dec 2011
698 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by v00d0o View Post
I wasn't using the NAZA at all this whole time.. Just connected each motor straight to the Transmitter.

All my wiring for the ESCs are soldered connections with tightly wound wire and heatshrink/electrical tape. All connected to a "power spider."

How good is hobby king returns?
So that video you posted was with the ESC directly connected to the rx? And this happens with all four motors? If so, the last thing I can think of is a bad solder joint in your power spider. Maybe its not getting enough current. You gotta rule things out one at a time, even if that means unsoldering your connections.
Cervanchez is online now Find More Posts by Cervanchez
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 07:38 PM
Registered User
v00d0o's Avatar
United States, VA, Fairfax
Joined Dec 2012
1,249 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cervanchez View Post
So that video you posted was with the ESC directly connected to the rx? And this happens with all four motors? If so, the last thing I can think of is a bad solder joint in your power spider. Maybe its not getting enough current. You gotta rule things out one at a time, even if that means unsoldering your connections.
Yes..only to the Rx

One motor works perfectly. 3 don't ...they just glitch/stutter out.

What do you mean not getting enough current?

I have a 10 AWG wire power spider...and that just branches off to each esc/ vu/ and battery. Is there something wrong with this setup?
v00d0o is offline Find More Posts by v00d0o
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 28, 2013, 07:43 PM
Habitual Line Stepper
Cervanchez's Avatar
United States, WA, Redmond
Joined Dec 2011
698 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by v00d0o View Post
Yes..only to the Rx

One motor works perfectly. 3 don't ...they just glitch/stutter out.

What do you mean not getting enough current?

I have a 10 AWG wire power spider...and that just branches off to each esc/ vu/ and battery. Is there something wrong with this setup?
It was just a thought that a bad solder joint could act like a current limiting resistor. But since one of your motors works fine that eliminates the power board. So, when you say one motor works fine can you switch that motor to a different esc or vice versa and see if you can pin it to the ESC or motor? Or did you already do that?
Cervanchez is online now Find More Posts by Cervanchez
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 07:44 PM
Registered User
v00d0o's Avatar
United States, VA, Fairfax
Joined Dec 2012
1,249 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cervanchez View Post
It was just a thought that a bad solder joint could act like a current limiting resistor. But since one of your motors works fine that eliminates the power board. So, when you say one motor works fine can you switch that motor to a different esc or vice versa and see if you can pin it to the ESC or motor? Or did you already do that?
good thinking :P... let me try that out.
v00d0o is offline Find More Posts by v00d0o
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 28, 2013, 07:59 PM
Registered User
v00d0o's Avatar
United States, VA, Fairfax
Joined Dec 2012
1,249 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cervanchez View Post
It was just a thought that a bad solder joint could act like a current limiting resistor. But since one of your motors works fine that eliminates the power board. So, when you say one motor works fine can you switch that motor to a different esc or vice versa and see if you can pin it to the ESC or motor? Or did you already do that?
Well...by the looks of it...Something is wrong with the motors!

Whats the next step?
v00d0o is offline Find More Posts by v00d0o
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:05 PM
Habitual Line Stepper
Cervanchez's Avatar
United States, WA, Redmond
Joined Dec 2011
698 Posts
Ok, so to confirm, you can use any ESC with that good motor and it works fine. But if you swap motors only one works? If that is so, then I would say you've got some bad motors. I would return them. Which sucks if you got em from HK
Cervanchez is online now Find More Posts by Cervanchez
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:10 PM
Registered User
v00d0o's Avatar
United States, VA, Fairfax
Joined Dec 2012
1,249 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cervanchez View Post
Ok, so to confirm, you can use any ESC with that good motor and it works fine. But if you swap motors only one works? If that is so, then I would say you've got some bad motors. I would return them. Which sucks if you got em from HK
I got them from hobby king... 3 of them are BAD?!@$?

I swap motors and the ESC works.
I swap ESC on the one motor that works...and it works!

How bad is their return policy?
No hope?
v00d0o is offline Find More Posts by v00d0o
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:15 PM
Habitual Line Stepper
Cervanchez's Avatar
United States, WA, Redmond
Joined Dec 2011
698 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by v00d0o View Post
I got them from hobby king... 3 of them are BAD?!@$?

I swap motors and the ESC works.
I swap ESC on the one motor that works...and it works!

How bad is their return policy?
No hope?
I don't know I've never returned, I was just saying because it takes so long. Unless you got it from the US warehouse.
Cervanchez is online now Find More Posts by Cervanchez
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:20 PM
Registered User
v00d0o's Avatar
United States, VA, Fairfax
Joined Dec 2012
1,249 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cervanchez View Post
I don't know I've never returned, I was just saying because it takes so long. Unless you got it from the US warehouse.
Well this sucks...I just sent in a refund...Don't know how that will turn out.

I'm going to try and re-solder connections just to make sure.
v00d0o is offline Find More Posts by v00d0o
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:24 PM
Habitual Line Stepper
Cervanchez's Avatar
United States, WA, Redmond
Joined Dec 2011
698 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by v00d0o View Post
Well this sucks...I just sent in a refund...Don't know how that will turn out.

I'm going to try and re-solder connections just to make sure.
Actually just remembered. Chinese new years about to hit so your not gonna get squat for a while.

Just to be sure we're not missing something. You haven't told much about your setup, unless I missed it. Like what kind of motors, battery, power distribution. pics or a video wouldn't hurt. Maybe we can see something else.

edit: nm, i just saw your videos. hmm can't think of anything else right now...
Cervanchez is online now Find More Posts by Cervanchez
Last edited by Cervanchez; Jan 28, 2013 at 08:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DJI WooKong-M Autopilot System for multirotors **Owners Thread** DJI INNOVATIONS Multirotor Electronics 20064 Dec 12, 2014 07:19 AM
New Product MultiWiiCopter "MiniWii" FC - Cheap, small 6DOF FC JussiH Multirotor Talk 707 Jan 01, 2013 09:54 AM
Discussion DJI Innovation helicopter autopilot XP.3.1 for European customers JoelT Aerial Photography 2 Sep 24, 2009 12:43 PM
New Product United Hobbies FC 28-05 & FC 28-22 brushless outrunners $5.95 ea. JawaSnack Hot Online Deals 9 Jul 17, 2007 11:31 AM
Futaba FC-18 teacher to FC-16 pupil problem . jmquetin Radios 5 Nov 02, 2004 07:48 AM