HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 12, 2013, 12:31 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Thousand Oaks
Joined Oct 2009
53 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTHead4u View Post
NO CALIBRATION needed for DJI ESC. Hence why you didn't see any info for doing so..

They are already setup for the Naza. That's only if you switch to different ESC (SimonK).
Sorry about bringing more confusion. You can skip the calibration. The next step should be checking if stick movements do what they supposed to do. You do not necessarily need to fly, but check if moving the aileron stick to right tilts the hex to the right and so on. Use manual mode for that. Watch the blades!
1ooo0aks is offline Find More Posts by 1ooo0aks
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 12, 2013, 12:33 AM
Having fun again!!
MTHead4u's Avatar
United States, AZ, Queen Creek
Joined Aug 2012
87 Posts
Update to my Naza #3.

Issues were:
IMU locked at Y = -16.0
Motors will not run after CSC in ATTi/GPS
GPS will not calibrate in vertical position

No issues at all with the replacement Naza (#4).

Not 100% sure what about #3 was bad to cause all those issues. It connected and programmed fine.

All I got to say is the distributors that sell them REALLY stand behind them!!

Time for the Dome and some Props!!
MTHead4u is offline Find More Posts by MTHead4u
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: er9x and Naza Setup
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 12:48 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2012
287 Posts
Ok so a question pertaining to props.. Mine came with 8 and 10 inch props. What is the better of the two for nice controlled stable flight on a F550?

Which one will give longer flights and such
alwaysconfused is offline Find More Posts by alwaysconfused
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 01:03 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2012
287 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1ooo0aks View Post
Sorry about bringing more confusion. You can skip the calibration. The next step should be checking if stick movements do what they supposed to do. You do not necessarily need to fly, but check if moving the aileron stick to right tilts the hex to the right and so on. Use manual mode for that. Watch the blades!
So far it does all the correctly..its still the lazy throttle and the runaway hex that are driving me bonkers.

I am wondering if there is a calibration I am missing on the gyros or any other sensor.
alwaysconfused is offline Find More Posts by alwaysconfused
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 01:09 AM
Creator of the 1st 6S HT-Flip!
flohio117's Avatar
United States, TN, Clarksville
Joined Dec 2011
3,438 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cquian View Post
Exactly!

I have 6 of them but his definition of cheap probably doesn't match what it would take for them to depart my possession
Well cheaper than retail lol. Also are they new or used?
flohio117 is offline Find More Posts by flohio117
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 01:29 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Thousand Oaks
Joined Oct 2009
53 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by alwaysconfused View Post
So far it does all the correctly..its still the lazy throttle and the runaway hex that are driving me bonkers.

I am wondering if there is a calibration I am missing on the gyros or any other sensor.
Again: which mode, atti or manual? In atti, throttle in the middle means 'keep height', more stick means higher less stick go lower. Depending on the atti gain it could be sluggish, but not in manual. Post a screenshot of the autopilot screen.
1ooo0aks is offline Find More Posts by 1ooo0aks
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 01:40 AM
Crashaffinity on youtube
CrashAffinity's Avatar
Joined Nov 2012
2,950 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by alwaysconfused View Post
Ok so a question pertaining to props.. Mine came with 8 and 10 inch props. What is the better of the two for nice controlled stable flight on a F550?

Which one will give longer flights and such
use the 8 inch props if you're running 4s, 10 inch if you're running 3s. FYI, the 8 inch DJI props tend to explode, the 10 inch props are solid, even if unbalanced somewhat

edit: on the 10" props you should get 11 minute hover on a 5000 3s battery
CrashAffinity is offline Find More Posts by CrashAffinity
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 12, 2013, 01:46 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2012
287 Posts
I need to add the props to see what it does. everything seems to be ticking along nicely
alwaysconfused is offline Find More Posts by alwaysconfused
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 01:59 AM
Registered User
United States, FL, Tampa
Joined Apr 2012
336 Posts
How about a picture of the hex? How is the Naza mounted and where?
dedfish is offline Find More Posts by dedfish
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:07 AM
Doing stuff since 1902.
Olivier_C's Avatar
France, RA, Grenoble
Joined Dec 2004
2,473 Posts
Are the X1/X2 gain channels in use ?
If plugged and not properlly setup, maybe there's an extreme gain setting messing things ?
Some good photos of the machine may indeed help.
Olivier_C is online now Find More Posts by Olivier_C
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:14 AM
Seattle, WA - USA
mark_q's Avatar
Joined Sep 2003
3,231 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by alwaysconfused View Post
I need to add the props to see what it does. everything seems to be ticking along nicely
Looking good!
Btw, are you flying Accro or heli?
mark_q is offline Find More Posts by mark_q
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:17 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2012
287 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olivier_C View Post
Are the X1/X2 gain channels in use ?
If plugged and not properly setup, maybe there's an extreme gain setting messing things ?
Some good photos of the machine may indeed help.
The plugs are in but not in use. Since they are a pain to reach I set them in but wont need them until the GPS is used.
alwaysconfused is offline Find More Posts by alwaysconfused
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:29 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2012
287 Posts
some photos of the beast
yes that is a little bit of dust. It's cleaned out now but I live in the country and to get to my house includes turning onto the dirt road..lol
alwaysconfused is offline Find More Posts by alwaysconfused
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:32 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2012
287 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_q View Post
Looking good!
Btw, are you flying Accro or heli?
I am on Accro (plane) mode.
alwaysconfused is offline Find More Posts by alwaysconfused
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:46 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2012
287 Posts
Just took it out and ran it again to check some settings. it is still "bunny Hopping" on atti and drifting all over the place. Going to bed.
alwaysconfused is offline Find More Posts by alwaysconfused
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DJI WooKong-M Autopilot System for multirotors **Owners Thread** DJI INNOVATIONS Multirotor Electronics 19942 Yesterday 08:04 AM
New Product MultiWiiCopter "MiniWii" FC - Cheap, small 6DOF FC JussiH Multirotor Talk 707 Jan 01, 2013 08:54 AM
Discussion DJI Innovation helicopter autopilot XP.3.1 for European customers JoelT Aerial Photography 2 Sep 24, 2009 11:43 AM
New Product United Hobbies FC 28-05 & FC 28-22 brushless outrunners $5.95 ea. JawaSnack Hot Online Deals 9 Jul 17, 2007 10:31 AM
Futaba FC-18 teacher to FC-16 pupil problem . jmquetin Radios 5 Nov 02, 2004 06:48 AM