Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 13, 2012, 12:38 PM
I never finish anyth
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2012
2,585 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldsworthy View Post
I just PM'd you detailed instructions. Change your WINDOWS font size to something smaller. People often change that with the keyboard shortcut without knowing it and some programs do it for you. Details in the PM on how to change in Windows XP, let me know if you are on a different version and don't have access to Google.

EDIT** Ohh and you could also just reverse things on your TX... much easier and it will be less likely you will forget to make sure that box is always checked after firmware updates. Just a thought.
MCrites is offline Find More Posts by MCrites
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 13, 2012, 12:43 PM
Registered User
pajonate's Avatar
United States, NJ, Fair Lawn
Joined Dec 2009
818 Posts
GW,
I think it is better to reverse the stick movement on your radio, if needed and do a re-calibration on the Assistant afterwards. That way all the sliders on the Assistant should be set to Normal, none reversed.
Maybe there is no difference in the behavior, but I am trusting my radio more than the assistant reversing.
pajonate is offline Find More Posts by pajonate
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 12:59 PM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,642 Posts
Thanks Guys...

I appreciate your helping GW.
I've been busy at work today, and he's wanting help getting back in the air...
T J Gilbert is offline Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: BMPCC/Z15 Transport
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 01:04 PM
I never finish anyth
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2012
2,585 Posts
My standard babysitting fee is $6/hr and if you want me to watch him for more than 3 hours you have to leave me money to order a pizza.
MCrites is offline Find More Posts by MCrites
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 01:17 PM
ehx
Registered User
Northern Minnesota
Joined Oct 2001
440 Posts
Hexacopter vs. Quad Gains

In general you can expect a hexacopter to handle higher gains than a quad because of the two extra control points.

You do have to be careful in generalizing though. The motor, ESC, battery, prop, weight distribution, and frame arm length all play parts in the gain settings. You could easily create a quad that could handle higher gain settings than a hex, but if you kept everything the same except the number of arms the hex is expected to handle higher gains. This is mentioned briefly under "Tips" in the Naza manual.
ehx is offline Find More Posts by ehx
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 01:43 PM
Seattle, WA - USA
mark_q's Avatar
Joined Sep 2003
3,266 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldsworthy View Post
I had the same issue GW, I had to go the DJI site, download the 1.8 Assistant software, install that, open the new Assistant, then it would automagically download and upgrade the firmware.

(remember - PROPS OFF or no power to the ESC's)

Good luck
mark_q is offline Find More Posts by mark_q
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: TBS Disco Gimbal Update
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 01:46 PM
Registered User
United States, IN, Schererville
Joined Jan 2004
260 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by windfou View Post
newbie question again for the naza , can i use a dx7 tx with this system because i want to purchase one maybe today thanks

if the answer is yes which mode i have to use to make it work ? tradition or ppm
Yes. Traditional mode
nike25 is offline Find More Posts by nike25
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 01:50 PM
Suspended Account
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2012
3,265 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by c3d76 View Post
On DJI site,
Go to Products > Naza > Downloads > Assistant v 1.8 .exe

Once new assistant installed, go to "Tools"

Update firmware.

TAKE YOUR PROPS OFF BEFORE UPGRADING!
Thanks I did take the props off and upgraded the firmware. I am still having trouble setting up the NAZA but I will try more tomorrow.
goldsworthy is offline Find More Posts by goldsworthy
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Nov 13, 2012, 01:52 PM
Suspended Account
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2012
3,265 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCrites View Post
My standard babysitting fee is $6/hr and if you want me to watch him for more than 3 hours you have to leave me money to order a pizza.
HEY! I deliver pizza here in Oro Valley. I get to see all the home bound fat ladies
goldsworthy is offline Find More Posts by goldsworthy
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Nov 13, 2012, 02:13 PM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Mt Hutton
Joined Jul 2007
144 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldsworthy View Post
HEY! I deliver pizza here in Oro Valley. I get to see all the home bound fat ladies
Thats put all sorts of scary images in my mind
joeb56 is offline Find More Posts by joeb56
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 02:17 PM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,642 Posts
Proper Procedure

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_q View Post
I had the same issue GW, I had to go the DJI site, download the 1.8 Assistant software, install that, open the new Assistant, then it would automagically download and upgrade the firmware.

(remember - PROPS OFF or no power to the ESC's)

Good luck
They don't tell you to do what you suggest above.
But it probably goes without saying that you need the latest Assistant to download the latest firmware.
I think most of us just do it instinctively, and don't think about it being a requirement...

When DJI releases something new, I generally want to see what they've changed on the Assistant before I upgrade to a new firmware. So, I get the new Assistant first...
T J Gilbert is offline Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: BMPCC/Z15 Transport
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 02:26 PM
I never finish anyth
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2012
2,585 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldsworthy View Post
Thanks I did take the props off and upgraded the firmware. I am still having trouble setting up the NAZA but I will try more tomorrow.
Please try the font size first. It should work.
MCrites is offline Find More Posts by MCrites
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 04:22 PM
Suspended Account
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2012
3,265 Posts
Italian Authority Awards First Commercial UAV Permit http://www.ainonline.com/aviation-ne...ial-uav-permit
goldsworthy is offline Find More Posts by goldsworthy
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Nov 13, 2012, 04:24 PM
Suspended Account
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2012
3,265 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCrites View Post
Please try the font size first. It should work.
font size adjustment worked! I managed to calibrate the sticks but the second adjustment the settings for fail safe, manual flight ect. I did not fix. For some reason I am unable to make the adjustments. I will try again tomorow!
goldsworthy is offline Find More Posts by goldsworthy
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Nov 13, 2012, 04:28 PM
I never finish anyth
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2012
2,585 Posts
I'm a little bit of a genius, and i'm handsome. It should be illegal to be me.
MCrites is offline Find More Posts by MCrites
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DJI WooKong-M Autopilot System for multirotors **Owners Thread** DJI INNOVATIONS Multirotor Electronics 19962 Yesterday 04:16 PM
New Product MultiWiiCopter "MiniWii" FC - Cheap, small 6DOF FC JussiH Multirotor Talk 707 Jan 01, 2013 08:54 AM
Discussion DJI Innovation helicopter autopilot XP.3.1 for European customers JoelT Aerial Photography 2 Sep 24, 2009 11:43 AM
New Product United Hobbies FC 28-05 & FC 28-22 brushless outrunners $5.95 ea. JawaSnack Hot Online Deals 9 Jul 17, 2007 10:31 AM
Futaba FC-18 teacher to FC-16 pupil problem . jmquetin Radios 5 Nov 02, 2004 06:48 AM