HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 02, 2012, 03:27 PM
Yin & Yang
Liberty10's Avatar
United States, VA, Sterling
Joined Jul 2011
3,594 Posts
I've heard people say they don't use a second battery because they might forget to check it. I don't see how I could possibly forget it. I check my batteries after every flight. It's fundamental to safety for me. My rx pack is a 500mah 3S regulated to 7.4v. it gets changed after 4 flights. It's usually still about 50% but it's easier to change it on a regular interval. I also have the telemetry so if the voltage gets too low it sounds an alarm. I hopefully won't ever hear it but it's there just in case.
Quote:
Connectors need changing when they wear out... Also you don't want connectors flapping in the wind. I don't even give them a chance to be disconnected.
I agree connectors are not allowed to flop around. Why take a chance
Liberty10 is online now Find More Posts by Liberty10
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 02, 2012, 05:27 PM
Shut up and Fly!!!
jw357_23043's Avatar
United States, VA, Hartfield
Joined Aug 2011
1,004 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansifsof44 View Post
Connectors need changing when they wear out... Also you don't want connectors flapping in the wind. I don't even give them a chance to be disconnected.
Worn out connectors!!! Really!! 10 flights and there worn. I went with the China T-plugs and they actually fit better and tighter. Got over a 100 flights on these plugs and still fit tight. Deans got lose and almost cost me a plane!
jw357_23043 is offline Find More Posts by jw357_23043
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 08:01 PM
Not as Good as The Kid
Aeroplayin's Avatar
South Pasadena, FL
Joined Sep 2009
6,240 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmanopla View Post
EF EXTRA 70" EXP, 6S 5000MAH 30C AND 6S ZIPPY COMPACT 5800MAH 25C

Hacker A60-6XS, CASTLE ICE 100 , CASTLE BEC PRO , HITEC HV SERVOS
The Hacker A60-6XS is only 17 oz and the rest of the setup seems standard to me. The problem is that I donít have the 70 so there is no real way for me to tell. My suggestion would be to visit the first page of the 70 build thread because Herc did a great job explaining and documenting the build, the setup, and how the plane flies on 6, 7, and 8 cellsÖ and how different batteries changed the weight, and how many mAh per minute he was using per setup. For a numbers guy like me, this is pure perfections. So check it out and see because several of the pcitures show the standoffs he used, and you can always check out the AXI motor on Hobby Lobby for specs. I think the motor he used was the 20 oz 5325, but donít take my word for it.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1261826
Aeroplayin is offline Find More Posts by Aeroplayin
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 08:26 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,447 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jw357_23043 View Post
Worn out connectors!!! Really!! 10 flights and there worn. I went with the China T-plugs and they actually fit better and tighter. Got over a 100 flights on these plugs and still fit tight. Deans got lose and almost cost me a plane!
Come on, no need to get wordy... I was only stating some good practices, not what happened to you. Obviously you have a issue with deans, I haven't in thousands of flights. If you over heat connector because of a low power soldering iron takes so long to melt the solder... the plugs integrity is compromised. (now not saying this is what happened to you) However, there are many choices out there to choose from. Good luck!
bryansifsof44 is online now Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 09:33 PM
Shut up and Fly!!!
jw357_23043's Avatar
United States, VA, Hartfield
Joined Aug 2011
1,004 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansifsof44 View Post
Come on, no need to get wordy... I was only stating some good practices, not what happened to you. Obviously you have a issue with deans, I haven't in thousands of flights. If you over heat connector because of a low power soldering iron takes so long to melt the solder... the plugs integrity is compromised. (now not saying this is what happened to you) However, there are many choices out there to choose from. Good luck!
No worries,
I'm just a little peeved over the fact that A LOT of pilots rave over the "Deans" and when I try to go the "Name Brand Route" they nearly screw me by almost tearing up my most treasured plane. Nothing personal and I'm sorry it come across that way.
jw357_23043 is offline Find More Posts by jw357_23043
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 09:39 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,447 Posts
No worries too... I always get hot for a equipment failure crash... If I dumb thumb one in ok, but the crash out of your control that's the one that hurts the most.
bryansifsof44 is online now Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 09:57 PM
Shut up and Fly!!!
jw357_23043's Avatar
United States, VA, Hartfield
Joined Aug 2011
1,004 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansifsof44 View Post
No worries too... I always get hot for a equipment failure crash... If I dumb thumb one in ok, but the crash out of your control that's the one that hurts the most.
You're are right about that one!! At first I thought it was the radio and was going to stomp it in the dirt. Good thing I didn't do it.
jw357_23043 is offline Find More Posts by jw357_23043
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2012, 06:35 PM
fly and then fly some more!
nickelbn1's Avatar
Springdale, AR
Joined Dec 2006
2,178 Posts
dumb question I am sure, got my new 9.9V life battery for my Dx7 Tx, how many volts will it actually charge to on my charger to be fully charged?
nickelbn1 is offline Find More Posts by nickelbn1
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2012, 07:33 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,447 Posts
pretty sure its 3.6 per cell so 10.8v fully charged
bryansifsof44 is online now Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2012, 07:48 PM
fly and then fly some more!
nickelbn1's Avatar
Springdale, AR
Joined Dec 2006
2,178 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansifsof44 View Post
pretty sure its 3.6 per cell so 10.8v fully charged
it charged for 2 hours and showed at 12.2V. I finally just unplugged it. put it in my TX and it showed 12.2V at first, but in 1 minute had decreased to 10.2V and stayed there.
nickelbn1 is offline Find More Posts by nickelbn1
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2012, 09:28 PM
The wind caused that!!
hoghead5150's Avatar
United States, OK, Poteau
Joined Jul 2012
617 Posts
you didn't accidentally charge it under a lipo setting did ya?
hoghead5150 is online now Find More Posts by hoghead5150
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2012, 09:32 PM
VOLTS > AMPS
stgdz's Avatar
United States, MN, Buffalo
Joined Jul 2011
3,864 Posts
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1781880

some 2820 deals in classifieds
stgdz is offline Find More Posts by stgdz
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2012, 09:52 PM
fly and then fly some more!
nickelbn1's Avatar
Springdale, AR
Joined Dec 2006
2,178 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoghead5150 View Post
you didn't accidentally charge it under a lipo setting did ya?
yes. my Imax b6 charger says it charges Life batteries, but it doesnt show life as an option in the charging menu. it looked like it was listed in the same category as lipo, so i thought i was supposed to used the lipo menu and it seemed to work. I guess I am not supposed to do that?
nickelbn1 is offline Find More Posts by nickelbn1
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2012, 10:05 PM
Yin & Yang
Liberty10's Avatar
United States, VA, Sterling
Joined Jul 2011
3,594 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickelbn1 View Post
yes. my Imax b6 charger says it charges Life batteries, but it doesnt show life as an option in the charging menu. it looked like it was listed in the same category as lipo, so i thought i was supposed to used the lipo menu and it seemed to work. I guess I am not supposed to do that?
I looked at the manual and you need to change to life in the user programing.

Here's a video; http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=h9wHP4ZBL9w
Liberty10 is online now Find More Posts by Liberty10
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2012, 10:57 PM
Not as Good as The Kid
Aeroplayin's Avatar
South Pasadena, FL
Joined Sep 2009
6,240 Posts
Right, when you select LiPo battery in Programming and reduce the volts, the screen will change to LiFe, then continue just as you did for the LiPo. I charged both Tx LiFe batteries on Saturday morning and they both start off in the Tx about 10.1 or 10.2.
Aeroplayin is offline Find More Posts by Aeroplayin
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question RC kits for experimenting with flight control systems SubZer0 DIY Electronics 11 Oct 12, 2011 08:58 AM
Wanted left wing for extreme flight yellow and black 74 yak hondaboy92hatch Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 29, 2011 10:18 AM
Discussion Extreme power systems & Royal Evo 12 rbehrends Radios 5 Oct 11, 2007 05:55 PM
Discussion Battery for Logo 10 - Thunder Power "eXtreme" 5S 4600 or Flight Power 5S 3700? WeatherB Electric Heli Talk 6 Jan 25, 2007 10:29 PM