HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 01, 2012, 11:05 AM
Shut up and Fly!!!
jw357_23043's Avatar
United States, VA, Hartfield
Joined Aug 2011
1,005 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aeroplayin View Post
I would probably try them on the rudder maybe. I had them in an old H9 Frenzy that's still on the garage rack. If nothing else, that would save $30 off the total and save me $70 since I have bunch of them already. Then the HK servo arms means a saving of $14.69, and the extensions would save another $17.48. This brings the total to $1,055.41 including the $64.83 for shipping. I wonder if I have the stones to put the Orange Rx in this thing. With one satellite, that would save another $31.78. I think that would bring the total to under $1,100 depending on the Tower discount for the servos.
Check out these servos! Pretty sure they meet the requirements and the size is comparable! We shall dub thee Extreme Budget Build!
http://www.hobbypartz.com/50gexidised1.html
jw357_23043 is offline Find More Posts by jw357_23043
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 01, 2012, 08:27 PM
Not as Good as The Kid
Aeroplayin's Avatar
South Pasadena, FL
Joined Sep 2009
7,250 Posts
FYI... we just moved the EF budgeting discussion to a new thread where we hope guys will suggest other items of quality that we can add to the shopping lists at a reduced cost. I moved info about the 91 and the 78 so far, and we can work on the 48, 60/64, and 70 EXPs too.

You can build a 78 to a 10S configuration with a Hacker 215Kv swinging a 22x10 prop for about $1,642, from the ground up. I was able to save about $380 because of some discounts and the fact that I had some of the stuff already.

The 91 will be a bit more, and just the plane, shipping, a DA-60 with all the bling, and some strong and speedy servos, will run about $2,120. I have servos for it, and just about everything else, and it will still cost me about $1,740.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1780847
Aeroplayin is offline Find More Posts by Aeroplayin
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2012, 09:04 PM
VOLTS > AMPS
stgdz's Avatar
United States, MN, Buffalo
Joined Jul 2011
3,867 Posts
750kv 4s
600kv 5s


Both should accelerate at the same rate correct with the same prop size, corrrect?
stgdz is offline Find More Posts by stgdz
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 09:59 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2009
41 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aeroplayin View Post
If you are using a 5000mAh battery, and fly for 6 minutes, and put 2360 back into the battery, then you are only using less than 50% of the full capacity. To use a safe amount, figure on 70%, which is 3500mAh. If you used 2360 in 6 minutes, then you use 393mAh per minute. 3500 divided by 393 is 8.9 minutes, so 9 minutes is fine if you fly the same way all the time.
do you Know the sTANDOFF that need to Use with the Hacker A60-6XS because im to nose Heavy my batteries goes on the Wing tube to balance when i go inverted the Plane goes down fast
jmanopla is offline Find More Posts by jmanopla
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 12:49 PM
Not as Good as The Kid
Aeroplayin's Avatar
South Pasadena, FL
Joined Sep 2009
7,250 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmanopla View Post
do you Know the sTANDOFF that need to Use with the Hacker A60-6XS because im to nose Heavy my batteries goes on the Wing tube to balance when i go inverted the Plane goes down fast
Hmmmmm..... what plane is this in and what battery are you using... number of cells, mAh, and C rating?
Aeroplayin is offline Find More Posts by Aeroplayin
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 01:33 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2009
41 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aeroplayin View Post
Hmmmmm..... what plane is this in and what battery are you using... number of cells, mAh, and C rating?
EF EXTRA 70" EXP, 6S 5000MAH 30C AND 6S ZIPPY COMPACT 5800MAH 25C

Hacker A60-6XS, CASTLE ICE 100 , CASTLE BEC PRO , HITEC HV SERVOS
jmanopla is offline Find More Posts by jmanopla
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 01:59 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,733 Posts
This might be a stupid response but is there any chance to open up servo holes to standard size in the back...use one for the elevator and move the pull pull servo back. Also this is what may make this a stupid suggestion, you would have to use a joiner for the elevator. Might be able to make new home for the rudder servo back there and leave the elevator servos. That is a heavy power system for this plane, and I would change it out before adding lead to the tail, but that is just me. Good luck

PS all caps is hollering on the Internet
bryansifsof44 is online now Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 02:06 PM
Team Twisted!
hone1er's Avatar
United States, CA, Hercules
Joined Dec 2011
4,318 Posts
You could change the tailwheel to something that is heavier than the stock one. That'll add weight pretty much as far back as possible.
hone1er is online now Find More Posts by hone1er
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 02:13 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,733 Posts
That's a good suggestion... But from his description it sounds very nose heavy. It's a heavy motor. But I may be wrong and tail wheel trick may work
bryansifsof44 is online now Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 02:33 PM
Yin & Yang
Liberty10's Avatar
United States, VA, Sterling
Joined Jul 2011
4,401 Posts
Well if his power use is consistent and he does only use 393mAh per minute. He can def get 6 minutes of flight from a 3300mah and reduce forward weight by as much as 300g depending on actual weight of what he is using (Gens 5000 6S @ 750g vs Gforce 3300 6S @ 444g) all that weight is froward of the CG.

I would suggest double checking that power usage though. That's very low...

In comparison I use about 2400mah in approx. 6 minutes on 6S in my 64" MXS. (approx. 400mah/minute) A much lighter airframe than the 70. But maybe he fly's it pretty easy...
Liberty10 is offline Find More Posts by Liberty10
Last edited by Liberty10; Dec 02, 2012 at 02:47 PM. Reason: My power use added
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 03:41 PM
Shut up and Fly!!!
jw357_23043's Avatar
United States, VA, Hartfield
Joined Aug 2011
1,005 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmanopla View Post
EF EXTRA 70" EXP, 6S 5000MAH 30C AND 6S ZIPPY COMPACT 5800MAH 25C

Hacker A60-6XS, CASTLE ICE 100 , CASTLE BEC PRO , HITEC HV SERVOS
IMO instead of mod's to the air frame and moving servos why not build a battery tray behind the rudder servo under the pull pull system, install a life receiver battery and dump the BEC pro. That will transfer weight behind the CG not to mention the ability to land your plane if the main pack disconnects itself. Too much money to just rely on one battery.
jw357_23043 is offline Find More Posts by jw357_23043
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 03:50 PM
Yin & Yang
Liberty10's Avatar
United States, VA, Sterling
Joined Jul 2011
4,401 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jw357_23043 View Post
IMO instead of mod's to the air frame and moving servos why not build a battery tray behind the rudder servo under the pull pull system, install a life receiver battery and dump the BEC pro. That will transfer weight behind the CG not to mention the ability to land your plane if the main pack disconnects itself. Too much money to just rely on one battery.
+2
I won't run anything bigger than 48" without a seperate rx batt. Too much investment in these bigger planes to lose it due to an ESC burnout.. I know it's prob. rare but I like the peace of mind.

And you should never add weight until you shifted every gram you can aft of the CG. I moved my ESC as far back as possible a my rx lipo and telemetry module to under the pilot and neutral CG is easy to get in all battery sizes now.
Liberty10 is offline Find More Posts by Liberty10
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 04:02 PM
Shut up and Fly!!!
jw357_23043's Avatar
United States, VA, Hartfield
Joined Aug 2011
1,005 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liberty10 View Post
+2
I won't run anything bigger than 48" without a seperate rx batt. Too much investment in these bigger planes to lose it due to an ESC burnout.. I know it's prob. rare but I like the peace of mind.

And you should never add weight until you shifted every gram you can aft of the CG. I moved my ESC as far back as possible a my rx lipo and telemetry module to under the pilot and neutral CG is easy to get in all battery sizes now.
Yeah, My first Extra 70" I was running a BEC and had a connector get lose. Needless to say I destroyed it. On my second I have the Life pack. The last time I flew it as a matter of fact the main pack disconnected due to lose genuine "Deans connectors". Yeah, the connector everyone raves about! Anyway I was able to land safely in the field. Had I not installed the extra pack it would have been toast as well. Too much risk for me not to have it.
jw357_23043 is offline Find More Posts by jw357_23043
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 04:05 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,733 Posts
Excellent suggestion... I do however tie my becs into one of my main packs. Just got to be sure batteries are secure and connections absolutely will not be disconnected. I think it's a bigger PITA to maintain a second voltage that may be the planes demise if you don't keep a close eye on it. I always use a good dependable BEC. I think the only way that is more bulletproof is bypassing a BEC, but then you need HV servos and voltage changes as battery lowers. But it's all about preference... I think I have pretty bulletproof systems that I put a lot of time on without issues. I'm knocking on wood.
bryansifsof44 is online now Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 04:09 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,733 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jw357_23043 View Post
Yeah, My first Extra 70" I was running a BEC and had a connector get lose. Needless to say I destroyed it. On my second I have the Life pack. The last time I flew it as a matter of fact the main pack disconnected due to lose genuine "Deans connectors". Yeah, the connector everyone raves about! Anyway I was able to land safely in the field. Had I not installed the extra pack it would have been toast as well. Too much risk for me not to have it.
Connectors need changing when they wear out... Also you don't want connectors flapping in the wind. I don't even give them a chance to be disconnected.
bryansifsof44 is online now Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question RC kits for experimenting with flight control systems SubZer0 DIY Electronics 11 Oct 12, 2011 09:58 AM
Wanted left wing for extreme flight yellow and black 74 yak hondaboy92hatch Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 29, 2011 11:18 AM
Discussion Extreme power systems & Royal Evo 12 rbehrends Radios 5 Oct 11, 2007 06:55 PM
Discussion Battery for Logo 10 - Thunder Power "eXtreme" 5S 4600 or Flight Power 5S 3700? WeatherB Electric Heli Talk 6 Jan 25, 2007 11:29 PM