HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 06, 2012, 09:08 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
11 Posts
Here are some shots of the Bixler in action a few days ago
Airphotog is offline Find More Posts by Airphotog
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 06, 2012, 10:16 PM
Registered User
Eagle202's Avatar
United States, FL, Clearwater
Joined Aug 2011
1,603 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airphotog View Post
Here are some shots of the Bixler in action a few days ago
Someone did a great job of getting those pictures in flight. Really sharp and detailed.
Eagle202 is offline Find More Posts by Eagle202
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2012, 10:19 PM
Better then Sliced Bread!
NorCalMatCat's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,650 Posts
Ok I finally about got my FY31AP working properly!!! Look at this crazy rats nest :P
NorCalMatCat is offline Find More Posts by NorCalMatCat
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2012, 10:50 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airphotog View Post
This afternoon I strapped on my Kodak Zi8 Camera onto the Bixler and tossed it out for a flight. When I got home and looked at the footage I noticed some beeps coming from either the ESC or the RX.
At one point i lost control a little bit and luckily recovered! Just wanted to know if anyone knows if the beeping is due to being out of range, and if so wouldn't it make more sense to beep on the TX so you can hear it and not on the RX.

Here is a screenshot of Google maps that shows the approx distance was about 551m/1690ft . I am using the stock Hobby King TX and RX and read somewhere that the range on that is about 2000 meters in ideal conditions. I don't think I had "ideal" conditions but if the stated range is 2000m and I only got 500m is something wrong?

http://youtu.be/zTDt1P_aS38?hd=1

Here is the video of the full failure and recovery
Out of Range (1 min 24 sec)
Airphotog is offline Find More Posts by Airphotog
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2012, 12:26 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2001
6,190 Posts
Found my glitch. Bad CC BEC. Have to tap it for it to power up. I'll be sending it in to get fixed, meanwhile I will use the BEC in the ESC and leave my pan tilt disconnected for the maiden.
cactus is offline Find More Posts by cactus
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2012, 03:50 AM
Registered User
LiutaS's Avatar
Ireland, County Louth, Dundalk
Joined Aug 2010
115 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maddmax View Post
What kind of antennas are you using??
if you asking me its Cloverleaf and helical
LiutaS is offline Find More Posts by LiutaS
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2012, 04:00 AM
Registered User
LiutaS's Avatar
Ireland, County Louth, Dundalk
Joined Aug 2010
115 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsands2801 View Post
what weight is your setup with gopro?
To be Honest, i never weight my plane, as i dont have weightmeter.
What i have set up is esc pushed deep in the plane with DL RX and ezosd curent sensor. On the tail i have ezosd with gps mounted beside the propeler.
Go pro on the from with this aluminium canopy. http://fpvpilot.com/EasystarAluminumCanopy.aspx
Go pro mounted with waterproof case. So its heavy, but surprised, that it flies
quite good. Plane has to be nose heavy. I had it balanced earlier, but it wasn't flying well. so left nose heavy, now its much better.
LiutaS is offline Find More Posts by LiutaS
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2012, 04:32 AM
Registered User
LiutaS's Avatar
Ireland, County Louth, Dundalk
Joined Aug 2010
115 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airphotog View Post
Here are some shots of the Bixler in action a few days ago
Amasing pictures!!! So sharp and clear. Verry good job !
LiutaS is offline Find More Posts by LiutaS
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2012, 05:00 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
307 Posts
Do you then use live output from the gopro to fly or have you got a second camera? I want to do it but afraid to smash my gopro
rsands2801 is offline Find More Posts by rsands2801
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2012, 05:01 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
307 Posts
Forgot to ask what batteries have you got inside the plane?
rsands2801 is offline Find More Posts by rsands2801
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2012, 06:01 AM
Registered User
LiutaS's Avatar
Ireland, County Louth, Dundalk
Joined Aug 2010
115 Posts
Im using GOPro as FPV camera, no other cameras on the plane. Gopro connected to ezosd.
On bixler using RHINO 2350 3cell 20c battery.
LiutaS is offline Find More Posts by LiutaS
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2012, 12:48 PM
FPV! and nothing else matters.
guy1a's Avatar
Israel, Haifa
Joined Aug 2010
1,891 Posts
yesterday i spent 6 batteries FPVing around some fiends looking for a friend's lost FPV plane ..
had mui fan.

today .. i headed to the fields to have some quite fun by myself ... less then a minutes .. mid air .. the motor fails .. in the middle of a nightmare Thistles & thistles field ...

when i retrieved it... i found that:
1. motor fails at 3/4 throttle, just stops ..
2. also over hitting
3. ESC is over heating when the motor does ..

so i changed the stock motor to RCTIMER 2200.

the stock motor was just fine for the last 5 months.
had a lot of fun, though the axle is a bit crooked thus creates vibrations.

* reminder: the stock servos of elevator / rudder failed after some 5 hours of flight.
guy1a is offline Find More Posts by guy1a
Last edited by guy1a; Apr 07, 2012 at 01:00 PM. Reason: adding a photo
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2012, 12:52 PM
Better then Sliced Bread!
NorCalMatCat's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,650 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy1a View Post
yesterday i spent 6 batteries FPVing around some fiends looking for a friend's lost FPV plane ..
had mui fan.

today .. i headed to the fields to have some quite fun by myself ... less then a minutes .. mid air .. the motor fails .. in the middle of a nightmare Thistles & thistles field ...

when i retrieved it... i found that:
1. motor fails at 3/4 throttle, just stops ..
2. also over hitting
3. ESC is over heating when the motor does ..

so i changed the stock motor to RCTIMER 2200.

the stock motor was just fine for the last 5 months.
had a lot of fun, though the axle is a bit crooked thus creates vibrations.

* reminder: the stock servos of elevator / rudder failed after some 5 hours of flight.
I have atleast 20 hours on the stock servos!
NorCalMatCat is offline Find More Posts by NorCalMatCat
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2012, 01:01 PM
FPV! and nothing else matters.
guy1a's Avatar
Israel, Haifa
Joined Aug 2010
1,891 Posts
the stock ailerons servos are still on for the job
i can't tell how much air time ...
guy1a is offline Find More Posts by guy1a
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2012, 01:08 PM
Better then Sliced Bread!
NorCalMatCat's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,650 Posts
Well time to go back out and see if I can get this AP to stay working right, I think vibrations have been keeping it from functioning completely proper, so I balanced my prop, let's see what that does...
NorCalMatCat is offline Find More Posts by NorCalMatCat
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Sky Surfer or HK Bixler??? fpsazerbaijan Electric Plane Talk 11 Mar 17, 2012 05:43 AM
Sold 1800kv Motor/prop for Sky Surfer / Bixler / Easy Star tdab Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 1 Nov 01, 2011 04:46 PM
Sold Bixler Sky Surfer Hawk Sky ARF or complete kit porcia83 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Sep 14, 2011 09:24 AM
Discussion Review of my Sky Surfer AKA Bixler , Flew Today for the first time. dllhg Electric Plane Talk 19 Aug 10, 2011 10:41 AM
Discussion Propeller recommendations Bixler/ sky surfer sean11 Power Systems 3 Jun 25, 2011 06:08 AM