HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 27, 2011, 04:28 PM
FPV! and nothing else matters.
guy1a's Avatar
Israel, Haifa
Joined Aug 2010
1,899 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fpsazerbaijan View Post
Hi everyone, just thought I might share a few pics of the Bixler, finally finished and ready for my first FPV flight- as soon as it stops raining!



Happy flying,
Al

dude !
this space lazer helmet of yours .. wow !


i hope you will not get electrocuted .. just kidding, it looks great .
i use the hobbyking simple goggles .. and a 7" car dvd lcd as backup.
guy1a is online now Find More Posts by guy1a
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 28, 2011, 02:37 AM
FPV Noob
fpsazerbaijan's Avatar
United Kingdom, Scotland, Aberdeen
Joined Jun 2011
291 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy1a View Post
dude !
this space lazer helmet of yours .. wow !


i hope you will not get electrocuted .. just kidding, it looks great .
i use the hobbyking simple goggles .. and a 7" car dvd lcd as backup.
Hi! it is quite something isn't it I looked at the Turnigy Basic Goggles that HobbyKing have, but none of them are in stock, and haven't been for a while- so I didn't chance it backordering them...

Happy flying,
Al
fpsazerbaijan is offline Find More Posts by fpsazerbaijan
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2011, 05:08 AM
FPV! and nothing else matters.
guy1a's Avatar
Israel, Haifa
Joined Aug 2010
1,899 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fpsazerbaijan View Post
Hi! it is quite something isn't it I looked at the Turnigy Basic Goggles that HobbyKing have, but none of them are in stock, and haven't been for a while- so I didn't chance it backordering them...

Happy flying,
Al
yap .. i had then in BKO for nearly 3.5 months ...
guy1a is online now Find More Posts by guy1a
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2011, 09:29 AM
I land with enthusiasm
Arck's Avatar
Lima-Peru
Joined Aug 2004
799 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogueqd View Post
I have seen a YouTube video with all the stuff on the outside. He put it all in the cockpit area and above the center of the wings. Personally I think it looks messy, and it leaves it more exposed to damage in a crash. As the other guys suggested, cutting a hole in the bottom or side works well.
Thanks, the hole in the botton is a good solution,,,

Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalCAM View Post
can't argue that it does look messy. But i'm afraid that I am the poster child for mounting on the outside. But I don't like to put anything on the wings and disrupt the lift and airflow. Only thing inside is the ESC, the receiver and the flight battery wrapped in foam rubber. -- JOHN
Thanks for the Pics, that is what I was looking for,,,,
Arck is offline Find More Posts by Arck
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2011, 10:12 AM
I land with enthusiasm
Arck's Avatar
Lima-Peru
Joined Aug 2004
799 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy1a View Post
ilovefpv - lol this is the benefit of having a mac
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=26Ln6hG0Rfg
Hi ilovefpv, the first video was with the HK wingCAm?, if so, where did you installed, the video of mine has a problem when is on the nose, (video with waves), It could be due the vibration of the fuse, when I intalled on the wing the video was clear with no waves. It is possible due an unbalance propeller (APC 6x4E)?
Arck is offline Find More Posts by Arck
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2011, 10:40 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
210 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arck View Post
Hi ilovefpv, the first video was with the HK wingCAm?, if so, where did you installed, the video of mine has a problem when is on the nose, (video with waves), It could be due the vibration of the fuse, when I intalled on the wing the video was clear with no waves. It is possible due an unbalance propeller (APC 6x4E)?
No - all the video was shot with a GoPro...

For details see my build log:

www.ilovefpv.com
ilovefpv is offline Find More Posts by ilovefpv
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2011, 10:43 AM
I land with enthusiasm
Arck's Avatar
Lima-Peru
Joined Aug 2004
799 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fpsazerbaijan View Post
Hi!
Lol everyone seems to be posting videos so here is my 5.8Ghz 200mw setup vid!
Hope you enjoy! Any questions just ask me, I'm always happy to help http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pn-gmvhx8Fw
HI, Great video, could you please explain the camera connections, we can not see the color of the wire, which one with which one, also the RX and TX voltage, someone, I don't remember who was, told us about the RX and TX voltage, the the manual said 5.8 for both but in real it is 12v, could you please check this in your setup?. I'm little confuse about this.
Thanks
werner
Arck is offline Find More Posts by Arck
Last edited by Arck; Nov 28, 2011 at 01:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2011, 01:43 PM
I land with enthusiasm
Arck's Avatar
Lima-Peru
Joined Aug 2004
799 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilovefpv View Post
No - all the video was shot with a GoPro...

For details see my build log:

www.ilovefpv.com
Thanks ilovefpv, did you measured the flying distance with the stock antenna?
Arck is offline Find More Posts by Arck
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2011, 01:46 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
210 Posts
No, I don't have an OSD ot anything like that to measure it yet.. The video does pick up some interference when I fly directly over the base station.. As would be expected with the dipole...

For now I'm just flying within visual range...
ilovefpv is offline Find More Posts by ilovefpv
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2011, 05:01 PM
FPV Noob
fpsazerbaijan's Avatar
United Kingdom, Scotland, Aberdeen
Joined Jun 2011
291 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arck View Post
HI, Great video, could you please explain the camera connections, we can not see the color of the wire, which one with which one, also the RX and TX voltage, someone, I don't remember who was, told us about the RX and TX voltage, the the manual said 5.8 for both but in real it is 12v, could you please check this in your setup?. I'm little confuse about this.
Thanks
werner
Hi! You need 12V for the camera, transmitter and receiver. I am using one 3S lipo for the transmitter (this also powers the camera) and one 3S lipo for the receiver...

For the camera connections, you need to solder on a standard servo plug onto the wire that comes with the 5.8Ghz system, like I said in the video, solder red servo wire to red wire on transmitter, black servo wire to black on the transmitter and white servo wire to yellow wire on the transmitter...

It should all be in the video- sorry if I went a little fast...

Happy flying,
Al
fpsazerbaijan is offline Find More Posts by fpsazerbaijan
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2011, 06:05 PM
I land with enthusiasm
Arck's Avatar
Lima-Peru
Joined Aug 2004
799 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fpsazerbaijan View Post
Hi! You need 12V for the camera, transmitter and receiver. I am using one 3S lipo for the transmitter (this also powers the camera) and one 3S lipo for the receiver...
Ok,,,,thanks
Arck is offline Find More Posts by Arck
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 12:56 PM
I land with enthusiasm
Arck's Avatar
Lima-Peru
Joined Aug 2004
799 Posts
About the radio range, who knows what is the range for a Futaba 9CAP in 72mhz?
I read that everybody fly 1 to three miles, some up to ten or more, are this special radios?
Arck is offline Find More Posts by Arck
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 09:07 PM
Quads, 4 times the fun.
Australia, NSW, Brookvale
Joined Apr 2011
731 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arck View Post
About the radio range, who knows what is the range for a Futaba 9CAP in 72mhz?
I read that everybody fly 1 to three miles, some up to ten or more, are this special radios?
Usually special antennas. Search for IBCrazy and read his blog.
rogueqd is offline Find More Posts by rogueqd
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 08:08 AM
Better then Sliced Bread!
NorCalMatCat's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,650 Posts
I just pulled the trigger and ordered myself one from HK .
NorCalMatCat is offline Find More Posts by NorCalMatCat
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 10:37 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
210 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorCalMatCat View Post
I just pulled the trigger and ordered myself one from HK .
Bixler? Welcome to the club.... ;-)
ilovefpv is offline Find More Posts by ilovefpv
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Sky Surfer or HK Bixler??? fpsazerbaijan Electric Plane Talk 11 Mar 17, 2012 06:43 AM
Sold 1800kv Motor/prop for Sky Surfer / Bixler / Easy Star tdab Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 1 Nov 01, 2011 05:46 PM
Sold Bixler Sky Surfer Hawk Sky ARF or complete kit porcia83 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Sep 14, 2011 10:24 AM
Discussion Review of my Sky Surfer AKA Bixler , Flew Today for the first time. dllhg Electric Plane Talk 19 Aug 10, 2011 11:41 AM
Discussion Propeller recommendations Bixler/ sky surfer sean11 Power Systems 3 Jun 25, 2011 07:08 AM