SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Nov 02, 2011, 06:04 PM
United States, CA, Mill Valley
Joined Feb 2010
657 Posts
Discussion
Home made quad from the remains of a Gaui 330x

Hey all,

I am new to quads and would like to build one using the gyro and motors from my broken 330x.

I dont want a high performance aerobatic machine, just a steady hover platform for the gopro.

I was hoping to make it slightly bigger than the 330x with longer arms but I am unsure how this will effect its flying qualities.

Can the original GU-344 gyro from the 330x work on something bigger or is it designed/tuned for a specific distance between each motor?

Dumb question I know.
drumbum is online now Find More Posts by drumbum
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 03, 2011, 06:18 AM
Australia
Joined May 2011
556 Posts
Sure does. I'm doing exactly as you are saying at the moment, on a home made frame, 450 size, using all Gaui 330 gear, left over after the original frame broke...
Soupbones is offline Find More Posts by Soupbones
Old Nov 03, 2011, 09:16 AM
Joined Feb 2010
657 Posts
sweeeeeeet maaaaate.

Whats a 450 size. How big and how are you making the frame?

So many questions,

DB (an ozmate living in the US)
Old Nov 03, 2011, 08:06 PM
Enjoy Life B4U Die!
United States, GA, Powder Springs
Joined Dec 1999
4,241 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by drumbum View Post
Hey all,

I am new to quads and would like to build one using the gyro and motors from my broken 330x.

I dont want a high performance aerobatic machine, just a steady hover platform for the gopro.

I was hoping to make it slightly bigger than the 330x with longer arms but I am unsure how this will effect its flying qualities.

Can the original GU-344 gyro from the 330x work on something bigger or is it designed/tuned for a specific distance between each motor?

Dumb question I know.
I encourage you to consider this one --> LINK