HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 11, 2013, 05:34 PM
Barefoot Birkinsomething
rcbirk21's Avatar
United States, CA, Hayward
Joined Aug 2004
9,473 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonathan7x70 View Post
With that setup I am running my rudder servo in the tail direct connect vs pull pull.. the batterys are half inch from the fire wall so it is perfect!
did you mean push pull?
rcbirk21 is offline Find More Posts by rcbirk21
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Joe's Battery Contraption
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 11, 2013, 05:45 PM
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
USA, GA, Cochran
Joined Jun 2008
20,174 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonathan7x70 View Post
with that setup i am running my rudder servo in the tail direct connect vs pull pull.. The batterys are half inch from the fire wall so it is perfect!
nice
Manta1 is offline Find More Posts by Manta1
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 05:53 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,624 Posts
Very nice....

SteveT.
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:36 PM
Perpetual 3D Noob
PlaneCraz3d's Avatar
United States, KY, Calvert City
Joined Jun 2010
284 Posts
Ok, I'm looking to order some SpotOn servo arms and after searching this thread I believe I need the following arm lengths:

Ailerons: 1.25"
Elevator: 1.5"
Rudder: 3" offset (offset may not be needed, but I can use the straight holes if not)

Someone let me know if this is correct before I place this order.

My other question is, all of the SpotOn arms are tapped to either m3 or 4-40. However it appears that the ball link bolts are just slightly smaller than 2-56 which should be 2.5mm, right? If that is true then what do I need to do to connect the ball link to the new arms and which tapped size should I order if they are both wrong? BTW, I'm looking at these arms at Aztech Aeromodels.
PlaneCraz3d is offline Find More Posts by PlaneCraz3d
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 01:11 PM
Gas Monkey Vic
Vitter's Avatar
Snohomish, WA
Joined Jan 2005
1,506 Posts
I went with the SpotOn Servo Arms, 3" on the rudder & 1.5" on elevator & ailerons. I went one hole in on the rudder and aileron servo horns. I used the 3mm arms and just used the stock ball links and mounting hardware, nothing has moved in over a year with plenty of knife edge spins and other high energy maneuvers. BTW Azhar at Aztech Aeromodels is a great guy to deal with.

Here are some pics and setup info.

At about :33 seconds in you can see what kind of throws you will have with those arms.
Cinestar 8 - Video Test (4 min 30 sec)
Vitter is offline Find More Posts by Vitter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 01:23 PM
Perpetual 3D Noob
PlaneCraz3d's Avatar
United States, KY, Calvert City
Joined Jun 2010
284 Posts
Thanks Vitter. I had wondered about just using the stock hardware and ignoring the threaded holes. Thats a great video, I believe that "might" be enough elevator throw.
PlaneCraz3d is offline Find More Posts by PlaneCraz3d
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 01:30 PM
Registered User
United States, MA, Lowell
Joined May 2004
883 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
Not to me....it only takes a minute, and our club has picnic tables to put the planes on while doing things like that...

SteveT.
We need some kind of fastener that will pop out but stay connected to the canopy, kind of like those plastic fasteners in car interiors to secure plastic panels. But the car ones still require a turn or a screw driver though.
Neil_SC is offline Find More Posts by Neil_SC
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 01:35 PM
Gas Monkey Vic
Vitter's Avatar
Snohomish, WA
Joined Jan 2005
1,506 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlaneCraz3d View Post
Thanks Vitter. I had wondered about just using the stock hardware and ignoring the threaded holes. Thats a great video, I believe that "might" be enough elevator throw.
No problem I also found a in action shot showing that it "might" have enough aileron throw too
Vitter is offline Find More Posts by Vitter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 01:39 PM
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
USA, GA, Cochran
Joined Jun 2008
20,174 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitter View Post
I went with the SpotOn Servo Arms, 3" on the rudder & 1.5" on elevator & ailerons. I went one hole in on the rudder and aileron servo horns. I used the 3mm arms and just used the stock ball links and mounting hardware, nothing has moved in over a year with plenty of knife edge spins and other high energy maneuvers. BTW Azhar at Aztech Aeromodels is a great guy to deal with.

Here are some pics and setup info.

At about :33 seconds in you can see what kind of throws you will have with those arms.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KxXrt...DAEA3DFA5CF45D
very cool video!
Manta1 is offline Find More Posts by Manta1
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 02:50 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,624 Posts
One thing I really like about the Extreme Flight 78" Extra, is that is has dual spring loaded latches on each side of the canopy itself, which fastens into the fuselage....I think it would take something pretty major to get that canopy to come loose.

SteveT.
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 01:22 PM
FoamyFactory.com
Tim H.'s Avatar
USA, TX, Fort Worth
Joined Nov 2001
4,346 Posts
Could someone post the ESC settings (timing, etc.) you are using for the Hacker A60-6XS? II'll be using a Xoar 21x10 and 6s. Brown truck should bring my Edge today!

Thanks in advance!
Tim H. is offline Find More Posts by Tim H.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 02:04 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,624 Posts
Yup....here you go....

The ICE100 Settings for the 6xs are:

Fixed Endpoints
Throttle response Custom 10
Cut off- Auto Lipo 3.2v/cell
Current Limiting- Disabled
Soft Cutoff
Start Power- High (100)
Motor timing- Low
PWM- 12khz
Firmware- 3.27

SteveT.
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 07:08 PM
FoamyFactory.com
Tim H.'s Avatar
USA, TX, Fort Worth
Joined Nov 2001
4,346 Posts
Thanks Steve!
Tim H. is offline Find More Posts by Tim H.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 09:12 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,624 Posts
No problem!!

SteveT.
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 09:28 PM
inverted-i-fly
3drcparts's Avatar
United States, CA, Petaluma
Joined Mar 2011
4,442 Posts
got 6 more flights on mine today, glacier batteries are breaking in nicely, now at 12 cycles, and definitely putting out more power than they did when new. Plane flys fantastic, the only thing I'm having a bit of a problem adjusting to is the p-factor with the a60-6xs and 21x10, seems it wants yaw to the left in harrier so I find I need to hold a lot of right rudder and or aileron and it does it especially hard when getting on the throttle after doing a parachute. I need to try a 20x10 and see if it helps
3drcparts is offline Find More Posts by 3drcparts
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 60 inch edge 540 vs 48 inch extreme flight extra 300 & edge 540 vs 3dhs slick 51 & 59 CRFan1 3D Flying 40 Mar 04, 2012 03:45 PM
Sold 3DHS 41" Edge 540 PNP $225 gonzoman5 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 10 Oct 05, 2011 11:53 AM
Wanted 3dhs Edge 540 47" (red bull scheme) SmokeDogg Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 13 Sep 29, 2011 03:19 PM
Wanted 3DHS Edge 540 47" (Red Bull Scheme) SmokeDogg Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 24, 2011 02:58 AM
Wanted 3dhs edge 540 47" (red bull scheme) vhuang168 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Sep 08, 2011 11:13 PM