HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 03, 2013, 07:15 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,460 Posts
Pinky!!! How ya doin' my friend???

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 03, 2013, 07:16 PM
Yeeah buddy!
PinkYakRC's Avatar
Northern Colorado
Joined May 2010
2,451 Posts
Good! I have not been flying much at all, but I am getting back into it.
PinkYakRC is offline Find More Posts by PinkYakRC
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2013, 07:23 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,460 Posts
Your plane looks cool!!

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2013, 07:32 PM
Yeeah buddy!
PinkYakRC's Avatar
Northern Colorado
Joined May 2010
2,451 Posts
Thanks!
PinkYakRC is offline Find More Posts by PinkYakRC
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2013, 08:48 PM
Registered User
hertzrepkeith's Avatar
United States, CA, Hughson
Joined Jan 2012
1,091 Posts
Power Poles

I will have to look up power poles because I am not good at soldering either and that is my worst fear. (Losing a plane because I did not solder correctly!
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcbirk21 View Post
ice comes bare on both the motor and esc side. use whatever connectors you are comfortable soldering/crimping. i use powerpoles just because i dont like to solder
hertzrepkeith is offline Find More Posts by hertzrepkeith
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2013, 08:53 PM
Registered User
hertzrepkeith's Avatar
United States, CA, Hughson
Joined Jan 2012
1,091 Posts
I was at the LHS today and they have two different sizes from what I saw. EC3's andEC5's the only reason I know is because I double checked it online to make sure I bought the correct ones today. Steve I grabbed a couple packages of the EC5s to put all those on because that is what my buddy Doug uses and he said when we go fly together he will share some of his batteries with me since I could only afford 3 right now! Thanks for the help guys

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCPilot1234 View Post
The Castle ESCs come with no ends on them (unless you buy them used and someone left some on). Personally I like EC5. The ones I have have a very nice tension; not too tight nor too loose. With this being said, I have seen a few vary in size slightly. So if you stick with EC5, buy your connectors from the same company and don't mix and match, didn't work for me (some just wouldn't fit even though they should've). Make sure the ones you buy fit the Glaciers before soldering the ESC, some just are too tight/loose (it shouldn't really happen as I believe they should all be made to the same spec). They're fairly easy to solder; a 40W soldering iron is enough Never tried Deans. Although I'm interested in trying Power Poles one day Remember you can always make an adapter so you may as well stick to EC5 if you decide to buy a lot of Glaciers.

EDIT: Damn, beaten to the punch by Eric and Steve, haha! Man this forum's fast Should probably go to bed now anyway, 1AM here Night everyone
hertzrepkeith is offline Find More Posts by hertzrepkeith
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2013, 08:57 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,460 Posts
As has been said, everybody should use what they are happiest with. As to sharing batteries, that is always good...and adapters can also be made.

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2013, 09:10 PM
lazy 3D specialist
ronbo111's Avatar
United States, OH, Canal Winchester
Joined May 2007
2,044 Posts
I use EC5 no problem so far
ronbo111 is offline Find More Posts by ronbo111
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2013, 09:31 PM
Barefoot Birkinsomething
rcbirk21's Avatar
United States, CA, Hayward
Joined Aug 2004
9,403 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hertzrepkeith View Post
I will have to look up power poles because I am not good at soldering either and that is my worst fear. (Losing a plane because I did not solder correctly!
http://www.andersonpower.com/product...onnectors.html

That is the manufacturer info page. in this size of plane 45 amp powerpoles are plenty. if you do end up going into it, get this to crimp them :

http://www.powerwerx.com/powerpole-a...-contacts.html

It is worth its weight in gold and makes great crimps every time. Its soooo nice to not have to worry about waiting for the soldering iron to heat up, getting the correct solder, making a good joint (especially on huge wires), etc. I can get 4 packs ends on in a mater of 3 minutes. Its also nice because you can take multiple wires (such as external bec, telemetry, etc) and just put them all in the same crimp sleeve, one squeeze, and they are done. All you have to do to check to see if it is a good crimp is give it a good tug. if the wire stays in, your good to go. If it comes loose, grab a new crimp sleeve and go at it
rcbirk21 is online now Find More Posts by rcbirk21
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Joe's Battery Contraption
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 12:32 AM
Registered User
United States, MA, Lowell
Joined May 2004
863 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcbirk21 View Post
http://www.andersonpower.com/product...onnectors.html

That is the manufacturer info page. in this size of plane 45 amp powerpoles are plenty. if you do end up going into it, get this to crimp them :

http://www.powerwerx.com/powerpole-a...-contacts.html

It is worth its weight in gold and makes great crimps every time. Its soooo nice to not have to worry about waiting for the soldering iron to heat up, getting the correct solder, making a good joint (especially on huge wires), etc. I can get 4 packs ends on in a mater of 3 minutes. Its also nice because you can take multiple wires (such as external bec, telemetry, etc) and just put them all in the same crimp sleeve, one squeeze, and they are done. All you have to do to check to see if it is a good crimp is give it a good tug. if the wire stays in, your good to go. If it comes loose, grab a new crimp sleeve and go at it
Are the 45A Power Poles really big enough? Or are they severly underrated? I'm planning on running 6S and expecting close to 100A at WOT.
Neil_SC is offline Find More Posts by Neil_SC
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 12:34 AM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,460 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil_SC View Post
Are the 45A Power Poles really big enough? Or are they severly underrated? I'm planning on running 6S and expecting close to 100A at WOT.
Yes, they will work...

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 08:45 AM
Epoxy & CA Investor
DenverJayhawk's Avatar
United States, CO, Denver
Joined May 2010
2,592 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil_SC View Post
Are the 45A Power Poles really big enough? Or are they severly underrated? I'm planning on running 6S and expecting close to 100A at WOT.
i'm using them in everything now, including my 90+ amp 57sc and my former 74 Edge. No problems.
DenverJayhawk is online now Find More Posts by DenverJayhawk
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 09:22 AM
Barefoot Birkinsomething
rcbirk21's Avatar
United States, CA, Hayward
Joined Aug 2004
9,403 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil_SC View Post
Are the 45A Power Poles really big enough? Or are they severly underrated? I'm planning on running 6S and expecting close to 100A at WOT.
the 45a rating is for a 110v input. if you do the calculation, that is over 200 amps at 6s voltage
rcbirk21 is online now Find More Posts by rcbirk21
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Joe's Battery Contraption
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 09:22 AM
House of Paine
weaser42's Avatar
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined May 2007
2,178 Posts
I'm using 45 amp APP on everything including my electric 104 and Logo 700.
weaser42 is online now Find More Posts by weaser42
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 09:39 AM
Team Hillbilly
blaiss's Avatar
United States, OH, New Albany
Joined Jun 2006
418 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcbirk21 View Post
the 45a rating is for a 110v input. if you do the calculation, that is over 200 amps at 6s voltage
I'm gonna have to try those one of these days. Problem is I still have about 20 EC5s and about 30 pairs of Deans.
blaiss is offline Find More Posts by blaiss
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 60 inch edge 540 vs 48 inch extreme flight extra 300 & edge 540 vs 3dhs slick 51 & 59 CRFan1 3D Flying 40 Mar 04, 2012 02:45 PM
Sold 3DHS 41" Edge 540 PNP $225 gonzoman5 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 10 Oct 05, 2011 10:53 AM
Wanted 3dhs Edge 540 47" (red bull scheme) SmokeDogg Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 13 Sep 29, 2011 02:19 PM
Wanted 3DHS Edge 540 47" (Red Bull Scheme) SmokeDogg Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 24, 2011 01:58 AM
Wanted 3dhs edge 540 47" (red bull scheme) vhuang168 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Sep 08, 2011 10:13 PM