HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 08, 2012, 03:53 PM
Suspended Account
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Nov 2010
3,139 Posts
Actually.....
-= GYRO =- is offline Find More Posts by -= GYRO =-
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 08, 2012, 03:57 PM
Epoxy & CA Investor
DenverJayhawk's Avatar
United States, CO, Denver
Joined May 2010
2,516 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
Actually...Rob said it had the larger mount....I said you should have gotten a Hacker....

SteveT
actually, i had a hacker a50 16L in it that i sold. I'm moving the 4325 from the 71 slick into the 74 edge.
DenverJayhawk is offline Find More Posts by DenverJayhawk
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 08, 2012, 04:02 PM
Epoxy & CA Investor
DenverJayhawk's Avatar
United States, CO, Denver
Joined May 2010
2,516 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by robj View Post
The 5320 has the new lighter design and the new mount with the 2 holes per point. We mounted ours(5320) on the inner holes that match the hacker mount. I think the 4325 has the larger mount. Prolly not much you can do.
if the 5320 has two holes per point in the x-mount that aligns with the hacker blind nuts, why can't they do the same with the 4325 and eliminate the need to new holes in the firewall?
DenverJayhawk is offline Find More Posts by DenverJayhawk
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 08, 2012, 04:23 PM
Registered User
robj's Avatar
United States, LA, Moss Bluff
Joined Nov 2008
8,048 Posts
I think it was easier to do it on the 5320 becuase of the way the motor has been redesigned. I sent Ken a layout of the 74 mounting face and I guess he went off of that. If you ditch the electric box and go with longer standoffs like a 72 you won't have any problem(mounting to the gas motor box)

I just mounted a 4325 to a 71 but had no problems other than redrilling holes. You can look back in this thread and see some pics of the new 5320.
robj is offline Find More Posts by robj
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 08, 2012, 04:29 PM
iumop ap!sdn w,I
G.P.'s Avatar
Joined May 2005
6,374 Posts
Used the outer holes on my 5320 without issue on the Edge. I'm pretty sure that the outer holes on the new 5320 are further apart than the holes on the 4325 too...because I swapped the 4325 out for a new 5320 in my 72" Extra and had to drill new holes.

I don't see what the issue could possibly be with mounting the 4325 on the Edge, unless the electric motorbox has changed.
G.P. is online now Find More Posts by G.P.
Last edited by G.P.; Sep 01, 2012 at 09:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 08, 2012, 05:00 PM
Epoxy & CA Investor
DenverJayhawk's Avatar
United States, CO, Denver
Joined May 2010
2,516 Posts
maybe the motor box did change because this is the template on the 4325 and it's a tight fit. I think i can get it to fit just barely by rotating it a bit more clock wise.

There is A LOT more room on the 71 slick
DenverJayhawk is offline Find More Posts by DenverJayhawk
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 08, 2012, 11:48 PM
Suspended Account
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Nov 2010
3,139 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenverJayhawk View Post
maybe the motor box did change because this is the template on the 4325 and it's a tight fit. I think i can get it to fit just barely by rotating it a bit more clock wise.

There is A LOT more room on the 71 slick
Me thinks there is plenty of space...
Name: ImageUploadedByTapatalk1339217297.301959.jpg
Views: 84
Size: 121.3 KB
Description:
-= GYRO =- is offline Find More Posts by -= GYRO =-
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jun 09, 2012, 11:21 AM
iumop ap!sdn w,I
G.P.'s Avatar
Joined May 2005
6,374 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenverJayhawk View Post
maybe the motor box did change because this is the template on the 4325 and it's a tight fit. I think i can get it to fit just barely by rotating it a bit more clock wise.

There is A LOT more room on the 71 slick
Looks like there's lot's of room.

Are you just worried about the new holes being too close to the old one's? You can fill them with epoxy if you want. That's all I did on mine. If you are really worried you can add some light ply behind the firewall.
G.P. is online now Find More Posts by G.P.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 12:15 PM
Team 3DHS
Bivens's Avatar
United States, TN, Knoxville
Joined Apr 2010
4,184 Posts
I have several holes in my firewall....

Four for the mounting bolts in use now.....

Plus a couple more....

One for throttle linkage and another for the fuel line...
Bivens is offline Find More Posts by Bivens
RCG Plus Member
Old Jun 11, 2012, 09:09 AM
Registered User
robj's Avatar
United States, LA, Moss Bluff
Joined Nov 2008
8,048 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G.P. View Post
Used the outer holes on my 5320 without issue on the Edge. I'm pretty sure that the outer holes on the new 5320 are further apart than the holes on the 4325 too...because I swapped the 4325 out for a new 5320 in my 72" Extra and had to drill new holes.

I don't see what the issue could possibly be with mounting the 4325 on the Edge, unless the electric motorbox has changed.
No drilling using the inner holes.
robj is offline Find More Posts by robj
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2012, 09:32 AM
iumop ap!sdn w,I
G.P.'s Avatar
Joined May 2005
6,374 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by robj View Post
No drilling using the inner holes.
I mounted mine before anyone tried using the inner holes. I wanted to give my mount all of the mechanical advantage that it could possibly get and didn't want to be the guinea pig for that. I've seen what happens when parts fail during my knife edge spins!!!
G.P. is online now Find More Posts by G.P.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2012, 09:41 AM
Registered User
robj's Avatar
United States, LA, Moss Bluff
Joined Nov 2008
8,048 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G.P. View Post
I mounted mine before anyone tried using the inner holes. I wanted to give my mount all of the mechanical advantage that it could possibly get and didn't want to be the guinea pig for that. I've seen what happens when parts fail during my knife edge spins!!!
mechanical advantage vs. more holes/weaker plate. I went with less drilling. But I do like swiss cheese!

It was a bit of a hassle with the nylocks under the motor but it's not vibrating loose!
robj is offline Find More Posts by robj
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2012, 11:07 AM
Old Dog learning new tricks~~
bradhoke08's Avatar
United States, PA, East Stroudsburg
Joined Jan 2011
351 Posts
Well I finally got to fly my 74 Edge that I picked up a couple of weeks ago... Man I love this plane!! It's my first plane of this size so I don't have anything to compare it to, but to me it flies great!!!! I was able to put a bunch of packs through it this weekend and I'm getting more comfortable with it already!! Mine is set-up with the Motrolfly 4325-310 with a 8 cells (2-4cell 5000's) and I'm using a ACP 18x8 with a Castle Ice 100 esc with a Demention Engineering Sport BEC.

I do have one question Is there a way to program a different throttle curve?? It just seems like it's ok up to a point then it goes to all out from that point.(not much calibration from half to full) I guess am looking to see if you can get a more steady and continual increase in throttle instead of what seems like a big jump from half throttle to full?? Again I'm pretty new to this so maybe that's just how it is.. I am currently using a Futaba 7C for my transmitter.

Thanks again for any thoughts you may have.
bradhoke08 is offline Find More Posts by bradhoke08
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2012, 11:21 AM
Team 3DHS
Bivens's Avatar
United States, TN, Knoxville
Joined Apr 2010
4,184 Posts
Glad you enjoy it! Plenty of flight time for sure with 8s5000 I bet!

Unfortunately I've never had 7C programming experience or I'd chip in on your throttle curve question. Hopefully some day castle may put a programmable curve in their software.....wouldn't that be cool.
Bivens is offline Find More Posts by Bivens
RCG Plus Member
Old Jun 11, 2012, 12:09 PM
Irg
ol' yellow eyes is back
Irg's Avatar
Brooklyn, NY
Joined Apr 2009
7,615 Posts
are you using fixed endpoints?
Irg is online now Find More Posts by Irg
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 60 inch edge 540 vs 48 inch extreme flight extra 300 & edge 540 vs 3dhs slick 51 & 59 CRFan1 3D Flying 40 Mar 04, 2012 02:45 PM
Sold 3DHS 41" Edge 540 PNP $225 gonzoman5 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 10 Oct 05, 2011 10:53 AM
Wanted 3dhs Edge 540 47" (red bull scheme) SmokeDogg Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 13 Sep 29, 2011 02:19 PM
Wanted 3DHS Edge 540 47" (Red Bull Scheme) SmokeDogg Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 24, 2011 01:58 AM
Wanted 3dhs edge 540 47" (red bull scheme) vhuang168 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Sep 08, 2011 10:13 PM