SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Sep 22, 2003, 09:00 AM
Registered Loser
Zwolle, Netherlands
Joined Sep 2003
219 Posts
Which brushless power system for FVK Optima XXL

Hi there,

As I am very pleased with my FVK Optima XXL I am planning on replacing the power system with a more efficient brushless outfit in due time. Although I already checked several options (AXI, Kontronik) I am very interested in your opinions, as I have no experience with the brushless power.

I now use:
- LRP 550 7-8BB motor
- MPJet 3,8:1 gearbox
- Aeronaut 15x10" Carbon Prop
- Kontronik SUN4001 ESC
- 8x SANYO RC3300HV
which gives it a climb-rate of about 3-4m/s. I'd like just a bit more but I am not interested in hotliner-like performance as the plane is not designed for it. My main reasons for considering brushless are more efficiency and less wear 'n tear.

The Optima XXL is a 2,2m wingspan thermal glider w/ ailerons, flying weight is about 1600g, it has a separate nose-cone with limited space (40mm spinner). See also http://www.fvk.de/Englisch/Optima%20XXL.html for more details.

Thanks,

Martijn
Vinkie is offline Find More Posts by Vinkie
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 22, 2003, 01:41 PM
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Joined Aug 2003
2,434 Posts
AXI 2820/10 is ok with 7-8cells. Use propellers like 12x8, 13x7-8, 14x8 (max). Graupner 13x7 and 7 cells is slightly less than 30 amps. Torcman 280-20 would be even better. Even economy LRK brushless motors are superior to their conventional counterparts.

Take a look at the new Flyware innenlaufer 650 series. Another good alternative!

BTW How did your Optima XXL balance with 2 servos in tail? I am just finishing mine with AXI in the nose.
Tuomo is offline Find More Posts by Tuomo
Old Sep 23, 2003, 04:07 AM
Registered Loser
Zwolle, Netherlands
Joined Sep 2003
219 Posts
Hi Tuomo,

First of all, welcome at this forum, I guess we're both newbies!!