HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 27, 2011, 12:54 AM
United States, NJ, Berkeley Heights
Joined Nov 2009
244 Posts
Discussion
Joined a Club--Plane Suggestions?

Hi Guys,

I've been back into flying for a couple of years; mostly smaller micros and parkflyers (P-51 micro, umx extra 300, epp leadfeather yak-55, rebuilt wingo, etc.).

I've just joined a nice new club that has a great large field. I just got a new radian pro but I'd like to get something else that's acrobatic/3d that can take advantage of the bigger space, can cope with a bit of wind and land well on the not terribly short grass. It needs to fit into my wagon without too much trouble (43" wingo fits easily without removing wings--so something in this size range would be great).

I've been poking around a bit and I'm thinking of perhaps a heavier foamy acrobatic plane with an airfoil (I'm still learning 3d--I keep punishing my epp yak because it can take it, but it would be nice to up the performance and I'll adjust my style to be more cautious ). Any suggestions for a roughly 40" 3d plane--could be epp or profile depron (not ready for balsa yet--ummm again)?

Also, I was looking to find a nice cub or similar high-wing that would do some acrobatics and that I could fit with big tires to make into a bush plane. I keep finding smaller cubs (usually with radio gear I don't need) or larger 1400mm+ that I don't have the room for--any suggestions? I was looking at maybe the HK Decathlon (red epo) but maybe I could go a bit bigger and find something that wouldn't need quite so many mods out of the box. Not to start a flame war, but I don't appreciate the looks of the fun cub (there are some mods out there that definetly improve it, but too me it's just an ehhh looking plane).

Thanks for any suggestions.
AeroHeadTW is offline Find More Posts by AeroHeadTW
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My Selected FPV Flights
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 28, 2011, 10:47 AM
Clintonville, WI
Joined Jun 2008