HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 25, 2011, 07:19 PM
Whisper Model Aircraft
Greensburg, PA
Joined Feb 2008
558 Posts
Discussion
Pressure bladder with a wing pylon

I’m building a mold for a one piece fuse that has a pylon. Insides of pylons are normally hollow so, how do you incorporate a pressure bladder without blowing the thing out? My plug is just about done, so anything is up for grabs.

A friend and I have come up with two ideas’… Some kind of 3 piece mold (a drawing would be nice). Or some kind of molded insert to block off the opening. Trouble with that is the pylon would not get any benefits of the bladder.

Go slow, I’m still learning
heliwill10 is offline Find More Posts by heliwill10
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 25, 2011, 09:41 PM
San Diego
Joined Mar 2003
2,293 Posts
Are you making the bladder out of plastic sheeting? Maybe you can incorporate the pylon shape into that....
Ward Hagaman is online now Find More Posts by Ward Hagaman
Old Oct 25, 2011, 10:27 PM
Entropy is happening!
Bellingen NSW Australia
Joined Aug 2008
6,716 Posts
As Ward says.
I would design the mould so that the pylon will be layed up with with wing seat intact. ie. the mould will be closed allowing the use of a bladder. If you go over to the inflation bladder thread, (which you may already have done), you will find lots of discussion on methods of heat "welding" plastic sheet to form a suitable bladder.
It might require a few attempts to get the bladder template just right, but is doable I think. I would try at least one sacrificial light layup to see if the bladder holds etc. before commiting to a full one with carbon reo etc.

Jim
Jim.Thompson is offline Find More Posts by Jim.Thompson
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Yet another light plank!
Old Oct 26, 2011, 07:34 AM
Whisper Model Aircraft
Greensburg, PA
Joined Feb 2008
558 Posts