HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 30, 2012, 12:54 PM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,041 Posts
Board: AQ50D newest revision
FW: 5.5

the board seem playing trick with me previously having issues with min range for the ESC, but manage to fix it and did a 1 pack maiden, today the intention was to trim out and finalize my setup, it when CRAZY! the board arm hand held seem to be fine then trying to take off it flew like crazy, sometime it stable a few sec later it started spinning like a UFO then stop I totally have no YAW/RUDDER CONTROL full stick does not do anything both way but the wierd thing is I can ARM and DISARM the board with out any problem mean YAW is good,

Even on the GUI all channel are responding as it should, but as soon as it take off I totally lost yaw control, it fly like it have a mind of it own, I'm out of option here can't think of anything might cause this as it fly perfectly fine few day a go and did nothing on it just put on a shelf take it out pun in a new battery. possible a dud board?

help and idea is appreciated
skellator is offline Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: ZMR/RCX Motor X Mount
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 30, 2012, 01:28 PM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
United Kingdom, England
Joined Nov 2011
1,586 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by skellator View Post
Board: AQ50D newest revision
FW: 5.5

the board seem playing trick with me previously having issues with min range for the ESC, but manage to fix it and did a 1 pack maiden, today the intention was to trim out and finalize my setup, it when CRAZY! the board arm hand held seem to be fine then trying to take off it flew like crazy, sometime it stable a few sec later it started spinning like a UFO then stop I totally have no YAW/RUDDER CONTROL full stick does not do anything both way but the wierd thing is I can ARM and DISARM the board with out any problem mean YAW is good,

Even on the GUI all channel are responding as it should, but as soon as it take off I totally lost yaw control, it fly like it have a mind of it own, I'm out of option here can't think of anything might cause this as it fly perfectly fine few day a go and did nothing on it just put on a shelf take it out pun in a new battery. possible a dud board?

help and idea is appreciated
I would like to help you but you must give more information.

Please give details:
1-Board Version=AQ50D
2-Firmware Version=5.5
3-AGain setting=?
4-Pot Gain setting=?
5-Distance between motors=?
6-Discription of problem=OK

Pot gain:
nebstress is online now Find More Posts by nebstress
Last edited by nebstress; Jun 30, 2012 at 01:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 01:34 PM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,041 Posts
Please give details:
1-Board Version=AQ50D
2-Firmware Version=5.5
3-AGain setting=7.0 (it fly for almost 15 minutes when first maiden with the setting)
4-Pot Gain setting=30%-60%
5-Distance between motors=550
6-Discription of problem=OK
skellator is offline Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: ZMR/RCX Motor X Mount
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 01:43 PM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
United Kingdom, England
Joined Nov 2011
1,586 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by skellator View Post
Please give details:
1-Board Version=AQ50D
2-Firmware Version=5.5
3-AGain setting=7.0 (it fly for almost 15 minutes when first maiden with the setting)
4-Pot Gain setting=30%-60%
5-Distance between motors=550
6-Discription of problem=OK
Have you checked for vibration, mounted FC with anti vibration?

Have you done Transmitter Calibration? (maintain the stick in the center. Then, you move the throttle down; and press and hold the calibration button until the LED light blinks. You will have to do this step again if you change your receiver).

Have you done sensor calibration? (Place the vehicle on level ground. Then move the throttle up and the rudder to the left. Wait until the LED blinks. Then, bring it back to original position).

Please give Pot Gain: 0 - 10
nebstress is online now Find More Posts by nebstress
Last edited by nebstress; Jun 30, 2012 at 01:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 01:53 PM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,041 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebstress View Post
Have you checked for vibration, mounted FC with anti vibration?

Have you done sensor calibration?

Please give Pot Gain: 0 - 10
sensor calibrate via GUI and via stick, Gain was set from 0 to 10 still the same, FC mounted on a foam tape 4 layer
stick centering, after swapping the RX, THR range also done


but that does not explain the problem as i mention it fly perfect 1st time I mean perfect hand off hover everything was fine, just now same setup no changes done on the frame beside putting a new battery
skellator is offline Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: ZMR/RCX Motor X Mount
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 02:00 PM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
United Kingdom, England
Joined Nov 2011
1,586 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by skellator View Post
sensor calibrate via GUI and via stick, Gain was set from 0 to 10 still the same, FC mounted on a foam tape 4 layer

but that does not explain the problem as i mention it fly perfect 1st time I mean perfect hand off hover everything was fine, just now same setup no changes done on the frame beside putting a new battery
That is strange, very frustrating for you.

I am sorry I don't know how to help, all I can suggest is to set the Pot gain low (1-3), re-calibrate Transmitter, re-calibrate sensor by sticks before flying.

Maybe try reinstalling Firmware!? (if still no good try installing different FW (5.3) & see if any better)

use newest GUI 1.21.
nebstress is online now Find More Posts by nebstress
Last edited by nebstress; Jun 30, 2012 at 02:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 02:05 PM
Registered User
Thailand, Bangkok
Joined Jun 2012
7 Posts
I have a TMF FH-X46 Pro board and AQ50D-S digital sensor,download firmware both 1.8 2g for internal analog sensor and 5.6 2g for add-on digital sensor.
I test both 1.8 and 5.6,result is not stable

AQ50D-S is suppport TMF FH-X46?
natchapol is offline Find More Posts by natchapol
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 02:12 PM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
United Kingdom, England
Joined Nov 2011
1,586 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by natchapol View Post
I have a TMF FH-X46 Pro board and AQ50D-S digital sensor,download firmware both 1.8 2g for internal analog sensor and 5.6 2g for add-on digital sensor.
I test both 1.8 and 5.6,result is not stable

AQ50D-S is suppport TMF FH-X46?
You need only firmware "TMF_Digital_v5.6_Add-on"!



(AQ50=FH-X46 Pro)

AQ50 Pro = Firmware = "TMF Pro v1.8"

AQ50 Pro with AQ50D-S add-on = Firmware = "TMF_Digital_v5.6_Add-on"

AQ50D = Firmware = TMF_Digital_v5.5_Embedded"
nebstress is online now Find More Posts by nebstress
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 02:19 PM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,041 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebstress View Post
That is strange, very frustrating for you.

I am sorry I don't know how to help, all I can suggest is to set the Pot gain low (1-3), re-calibrate Transmitter, re-calibrate sensor by sticks before flying.

Maybe try reinstalling Firmware!?

use newest GUI 1.21.
yes very much frustrating, I did all of those beside reinstalling the firmware, the fact it work fine before is mind boggling! I'm literally scratching my head trying to figure out the problem, I might end up sending the board back
skellator is offline Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: ZMR/RCX Motor X Mount
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 02:22 PM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
United Kingdom, England
Joined Nov 2011
1,586 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by skellator View Post
yes very much frustrating, I did all of those beside reinstalling the firmware, the fact it work fine before is mind boggling! I'm literally scratching my head trying to figure out the problem, I might end up sending the board back
I would try reinstalling FW first then if still no good maybe have to return
nebstress is online now Find More Posts by nebstress
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 02:23 PM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,041 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebstress View Post
I would try reinstalling FW first then if still no good maybe have to return
I am right now but can't test it now 3.23AM here maybe next few hours
skellator is offline Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: ZMR/RCX Motor X Mount
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 02:30 PM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
United Kingdom, England
Joined Nov 2011
1,586 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by skellator View Post
I am right now but can't test it now 3.23AM here maybe next few hours
Remember to reset AGain & calibrate after installing FW, use GUI 1.21.

Good luck!!
nebstress is online now Find More Posts by nebstress
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 02:34 PM
http://drone-pilot.blogspot.fr
lovegroove's Avatar
Rhone Alps, France
Joined Aug 2008
2,540 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebstress View Post
You need only firmware "TMF_Digital_v5.6_Add-on"!



(AQ50=FH-X46 Pro)

AQ50 Pro = Firmware = "TMF Pro v1.8"

AQ50 Pro with AQ50D-S add-on = Firmware = "TMF_Digital_v5.6_Add-on"

AQ50D = Firmware = TMF_Digital_v5.5_Embedded"
Is this 100% correct? I have a board that looks like the last one that you posted, but the same shop sold the add-on sensor, so I purchased that as well. I haven't actually tried the add-on sensor because I haven't made up a cable yet that would allow me to update the software and the board flies so well stock.
lovegroove is offline Find More Posts by lovegroove
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 02:40 PM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
United Kingdom, England
Joined Nov 2011
1,586 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovegroove View Post
Is this 100% correct? I have a board that looks like the last one that you posted, but the same shop sold the add-on sensor, so I purchased that as well. I haven't actually tried the add-on sensor because I haven't made up a cable yet that would allow me to update the software and the board flies so well stock.
YES, 100% correct!

The "AQ50D-S Add-on Sensor" is for the older AQ50 only!

The "AQ50D-S Add-on Sensor" has exactly the same sensor in it as is in the "AQ50D"

If I was you I would return the "Add-on Sensor" & get a "TMF PRO Programming Link" then you can use the GUI & update the Firmware on your AQ50D.
nebstress is online now Find More Posts by nebstress
Last edited by nebstress; Jun 30, 2012 at 02:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 02:57 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2011
40 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by skellator View Post
yes very much frustrating, I did all of those beside reinstalling the firmware, the fact it work fine before is mind boggling! I'm literally scratching my head trying to figure out the problem, I might end up sending the board back
1-Disconnect all motors from the AQ50D.
2-Re-connect 1 motor
3-Connect battery and arm board
4-Hold in hand and power up motor
5-Move multi-copter in different directions at different throttle settings
6-Listen to motor for unusual sounds or vibrations
7-Repeat with each motor

I had a motor that was faulty and would sometimes resonate and lose power causing severe yaw until it would correct itself and then the multi-copter would all of a sudden start flying fine again.

A prop can also go into a resonance causing sudden load increase which causes severe yaw out of nowhere.

I know the multi-copter was fine the flight before but just a little dust or prop nick can create a new problem. I think the board is probably fine. To be certain I would hunt for these gremlins first...
blast is offline Find More Posts by blast
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll What Motors do you use on your tri/quad/hexa/octal etc? bob4432 Multirotor Talk 4 Aug 29, 2010 07:10 PM
Sold MicroKopter ARF Quad/Hexa G-unit Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 3 Aug 23, 2010 09:38 AM
Discussion Folding frame for AP - tri, quad, Hexa, Okto danielpetrescu Multirotor Talk 9 May 10, 2010 12:25 AM
Question Tri/hexa-copter or Quad/Octa-copter and Spartan AP2000i or Helicommand Arthur P. VTOLs 2 May 20, 2007 03:02 PM