HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 13, 2011, 12:51 PM
"you'll play to live "
Alwayscrash's Avatar
Canada, QC, Montreal
Joined Sep 2009
1,681 Posts
New firmware give more stability on all axis, also i notice that there's no need to recalibrate FC after changing battery .
AC
Alwayscrash is offline Find More Posts by Alwayscrash
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 13, 2011, 12:58 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
6,977 Posts
So is there any need for a hardware mod or just the new firmware handles it all?
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2011, 01:20 PM
"you'll play to live "
Alwayscrash's Avatar
Canada, QC, Montreal
Joined Sep 2009
1,681 Posts
Just load new firmware and use TMF pro tool to recalibrate it, no mod on hardware .First time flight move throtle max and left, wait until blue led lids again and fly.Disconnect battery and repower it, you'll notice that there's no calibration is needed as before.
AC
Alwayscrash is offline Find More Posts by Alwayscrash
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2011, 01:54 PM
Registered User
Italia, Piemonte, Biella
Joined Feb 2011
394 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alwayscrash View Post
Just load new firmware and use TMF pro tool to recalibrate it, no mod on hardware .First time flight move throtle max and left, wait until blue led lids again and fly.Disconnect battery and repower it, you'll notice that there's no calibration is needed as before.
AC
wow.. this is very good news.. specially when i fly from my field that is not level :-)

here is this afternoons flight. nothing special, just trying some smooth flying

aq50d test 02 (4 min 18 sec)
thepelell is offline Find More Posts by thepelell
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 01:55 PM
RTFM // copter damaged
warthox's Avatar
Joined Aug 2009
1,724 Posts
another flight with the aq50d pro. this time with another frame/setup.
as u can see its pretty stable

tmf aq50d pro // testflight no3 (4 min 19 sec)
warthox is offline Find More Posts by warthox
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 01:55 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
6,977 Posts
warthox - Have you tried the newest firmware?
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 02:23 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2009
64 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alwayscrash View Post
Just load new firmware and use TMF pro tool to recalibrate it, no mod on hardware .First time flight move throtle max and left, wait until blue led lids again and fly.Disconnect battery and repower it, you'll notice that there's no calibration is needed as before.
AC
So i wonder what did I gain from the HW mod ?
Mix57 is offline Find More Posts by Mix57
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 02:25 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
6,977 Posts
I'm still not clear what the hardware mod is suppose to do over what the firmware update does.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 02:34 PM
"you'll play to live "
Alwayscrash's Avatar
Canada, QC, Montreal
Joined Sep 2009
1,681 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flitelab View Post
I'm still not clear what the hardware mod is suppose to do over what the firmware update does.
There's no hardware mod.Don't worry, just try new firmware,if you don't like it just return to precedent: http://code.google.com/p/aq50-pro-mu...downloads/list
AC
Alwayscrash is offline Find More Posts by Alwayscrash
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 02:42 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
6,977 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alwayscrash View Post
There's no hardware mod.Don't worry, just try new firmware,if you don't like it just return to precedent: http://code.google.com/p/aq50-pro-mu...downloads/list
AC
Well they even show the hardware mod on the homepage now so I am a bit curious what it is for:

http://sjprs.myweb.hinet.net/tmf.htm

Bings conversion to Engrish...
"Please note:
TMF Pro you fly ...
There is a new firmware V1.2 update
Because in order to increase dynamic stability and gyroscope temperature drift correction
Therefore this update is required to use hardware (and a resistor solder the other end and short circuit)"
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 02:46 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2009
64 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flitelab View Post
Well they even show the hardware mod on the homepage now so I am a bit curious what it is for:

http://sjprs.myweb.hinet.net/tmf.htm

Bings conversion to Engrish...
"Please note:
TMF Pro you fly ...
There is a new firmware V1.2 update
Because in order to increase dynamic stability and gyroscope temperature drift correction
Therefore this update is required to use hardware (and a resistor solder the other end and short circuit)"
me to
Mix57 is offline Find More Posts by Mix57
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 03:03 PM
RTFM // copter damaged
warthox's Avatar
Joined Aug 2009
1,724 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flitelab View Post
warthox - Have you tried the newest firmware?
not yet.
warthox is offline Find More Posts by warthox
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 03:38 PM
"you'll play to live "
Alwayscrash's Avatar
Canada, QC, Montreal
Joined Sep 2009
1,681 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flitelab View Post
Well they even show the hardware mod on the homepage now so I am a bit curious what it is for:

http://sjprs.myweb.hinet.net/tmf.htm

Bings conversion to Engrish...
"Please note:
TMF Pro you fly ...
There is a new firmware V1.2 update
Because in order to increase dynamic stability and gyroscope temperature drift correction
Therefore this update is required to use hardware (and a resistor solder the other end and short circuit)"
ok, hardware mod is just take out a flat resistor on R21 and short circuit on R19, easy to do with small pen solder. The R21 has very small resistance.
AC
Alwayscrash is offline Find More Posts by Alwayscrash
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 03:40 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
6,977 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alwayscrash View Post
ok, hardware mod is just take out a flat resistor on R21 and short circuit on R19, easy to do with small pen solder. The R21 has very small resistance.
AC
I'm interested in the details of what the hardware mod does as well, not just what to do for it. Still seems unclear what the mod does in conjunction with the new firmware, etc.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 03:55 PM
"you'll play to live "
Alwayscrash's Avatar
Canada, QC, Montreal
Joined Sep 2009
1,681 Posts
I'm not expert on FC circuit but in my thought, swapping from R21 to R19 was like activating some hidden function on FC itself.So far on mine,there's no need to recalibrate after changing battery and stability did increase a lot.Another thing i notice is after flashing new firmware, when using TMF pro tool to recalibrate, every data on FC was changed,especially on Flight instrument.
AC
Alwayscrash is offline Find More Posts by Alwayscrash
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll What Motors do you use on your tri/quad/hexa/octal etc? bob4432 Multirotor Talk 4 Aug 29, 2010 07:10 PM
Sold MicroKopter ARF Quad/Hexa G-unit Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 3 Aug 23, 2010 09:38 AM
Discussion Folding frame for AP - tri, quad, Hexa, Okto danielpetrescu Multirotor Talk 9 May 10, 2010 12:25 AM
Question Tri/hexa-copter or Quad/Octa-copter and Spartan AP2000i or Helicommand Arthur P. VTOLs 2 May 20, 2007 03:02 PM