HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 20, 2013, 12:51 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,096 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebstress View Post
TMF Hawkeye Gimbal available (guess where??) GLB HERE.
With the new brushless motor driven gimbals coming this TMF one may be a short lived product based on its price and lack of availability.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 20, 2013, 07:43 PM
Israel Montoya
crackup007's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
390 Posts
Great!

Quote:
Originally Posted by quaddynamics View Post
Looks Great!
crackup007 is offline Find More Posts by crackup007
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 08:27 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2008
264 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by crackup007 View Post
looks great!
stm32f4
mahui625 is offline Find More Posts by mahui625
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 11:48 PM
Israel Montoya
crackup007's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
390 Posts
New FC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahui625 View Post
stm32f4
STM32 F4 series of high-performance MCUs with DSP and FPU instructions

The ARM® Cortex™-M4-based STM32 F4 series is an extension of the industry-leading STM32 portfolio towards even higher performance. Like the STM32 F2 series, these MCUs leverage ST‘s 90 nm NVM technology and ST’s ART Accelerator™ to reach the industry’s highest benchmark scores for Cortex-M-based microcontrollers with 210 DMIPS/566 CoreMark executing from Flash memory at 168 MHz operating frequency. Combined with dynamic power scaling, these technologies enable the current consumption in run mode to be as low as 238 µA/MHz. The DSP instructions and the floating point unit enlarge the range of addressable applications.

The STM32 F4 series is the result of a perfect symbiosis of the real-time control capabilities of an MCU and the signal processing performance of a DSP, and thus complements the STM32 portfolio with a new class of devices, digital signal controllers (DSC).

http://www.st.com/internet/mcu/subclass/1521.jsp
crackup007 is offline Find More Posts by crackup007
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2013, 07:28 AM
Registered User
Rc Heli Halle's Avatar
Berlin / Germany
Joined Feb 2010
686 Posts
Hi all,
if not seen yet here.......... GPS Position Hold Test from the TMF Developer.
GPS PH Test..... (1 min 49 sec)


Mike RCHHB
Rc Heli Halle is offline Find More Posts by Rc Heli Halle
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2013, 07:29 AM
Registered User
Rc Heli Halle's Avatar
Berlin / Germany
Joined Feb 2010
686 Posts
FPV Training (2 min 37 sec)
Rc Heli Halle is offline Find More Posts by Rc Heli Halle
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2013, 07:32 AM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
United Kingdom, England
Joined Nov 2011
1,605 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rc Heli Halle View Post
Hi all,
if not seen yet here.......... GPS Position Hold Test from the TMF Developer.
http://youtu.be/8YrgoX7J_RU

Mike RCHHB
Guess what you'll see when you look just '5' posts back
nebstress is offline Find More Posts by nebstress
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 12:58 PM
Registered User
Rc Heli Halle's Avatar
Berlin / Germany
Joined Feb 2010
686 Posts
Sorry
Mike
Rc Heli Halle is offline Find More Posts by Rc Heli Halle
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 11:43 AM
Registered User
New Zealand, Hawke's Bay, Napier
Joined Jun 2011
261 Posts
Can someone help me out here - I am going to buy the AQ50D, and I am a little confused with some of the information I have seen

Is the AQ50D the latest incarnation of this board?

Does it need an add on board or is this a modification for an earlier version?

Is everything supplied for connecting to the computer i.e. do I need anything extra.?

If when a GPS version comes out, will it be an addon to the AQ50D board?

I’m planning to buy from Foxtech at $120 USD – any other suggestions?

Thanks.
helidex is online now Find More Posts by helidex
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 05:34 PM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
United Kingdom, England
Joined Nov 2011
1,605 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by helidex View Post
Can someone help me out here - I am going to buy the AQ50D, and I am a little confused with some of the information I have seen

Is the AQ50D the latest incarnation of this board?

Does it need an add on board or is this a modification for an earlier version?

Is everything supplied for connecting to the computer i.e. do I need anything extra.?

If when a GPS version comes out, will it be an addon to the AQ50D board?

I’m planning to buy from Foxtech at $120 USD – any other suggestions?

Thanks.
The AQ50D is the latest "incarnation" & has the new sensor imbedded so no add on needed, there is an Altitude sensor add on available for it though.

You will need the TMF USB programmer to connect the AQ50D to a PC.

No it looks like the GPS will come with a whole new Flight Controller so wont work with the AQ50D (but I hope I'm wrong).
nebstress is offline Find More Posts by nebstress
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:12 PM
Registered User
France, PACA, Aix-en-Provence
Joined Jul 2011
124 Posts
Very good card but go Naza

Cheers
pietronet is offline Find More Posts by pietronet
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:19 PM
Registered User
New Zealand, Hawke's Bay, Napier
Joined Jun 2011
261 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebstress View Post
The AQ50D is the latest "incarnation" & has the new sensor imbedded so no add on needed, there is an Altitude sensor add on available for it though.

You will need the TMF USB programmer to connect the AQ50D to a PC.

No it looks like the GPS will come with a whole new Flight Controller so wont work with the AQ50D (but I hope I'm wrong).
Thanks for that. So the sensor below would plug into a new AQ50D board?

When I add up the USB adaptor, sensor and board it gets to $154 USD, that’s getting up there $ wise ($207 for the Nazza)

I have flown the Nazza and liked it – can anyone give a comparison in terms of ease of set up and flying characteristics of Nazza in Atti mode and AQ50D with sensor.

In other words is spending the 25% more to get a Nazza vs the AQ50D plus all bits . I realise this is subjective stuff but comments from those in the know would be helpful
helidex is online now Find More Posts by helidex
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:20 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,096 Posts
Sensor board is not needed for the newest AQ50D only the older ones. The altitude sensor would be the additional addon for the newer ones if desired.

The AQ50D flies really well, bit more locked in feel than NAZA. However AQ50D only has auto level mode that cannot be disabled, so no true manual mode. AQ50D is nice as it is quick and simple to setup and tune with dip switches and a single gain pot.

I wouldn't hold my breath on the GPS addon, it has been "coming soon" for over a year now.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:24 PM
Registered User
France, PACA, Aix-en-Provence
Joined Jul 2011
124 Posts
I have both, I had the TMF first.

I used to be very happy with it, but I have been waiting too long for addons...

If you just balance, the features, the support, the GUI, the website for both companies.... it worth the extra $$$
pietronet is offline Find More Posts by pietronet
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 12:51 AM
Registered User
New Zealand, Hawke's Bay, Napier
Joined Jun 2011
261 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flitelab View Post
Sensor board is not needed for the newest AQ50D only the older ones. The altitude sensor would be the additional addon for the newer ones if desired.

The AQ50D flies really well, bit more locked in feel than NAZA. However AQ50D only has auto level mode that cannot be disabled, so no true manual mode. AQ50D is nice as it is quick and simple to setup and tune with dip switches and a single gain pot.

I wouldn't hold my breath on the GPS addon, it has been "coming soon" for over a year now.
OK. Thanks to the responders - I have read the whole thread and I feel the (mounting) tension. I want an easy to set up board to test fly frames and sounds like it would do that but I do like alt hold for letting learner pilots have a fly.

Is the add on sensor for the Alt hold available? Is so where please.

For the latest board and firmware - Is it still necessary to recalibrate after a lipo change?
helidex is online now Find More Posts by helidex
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll What Motors do you use on your tri/quad/hexa/octal etc? bob4432 Multirotor Talk 4 Aug 29, 2010 07:10 PM
Sold MicroKopter ARF Quad/Hexa G-unit Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 3 Aug 23, 2010 09:38 AM
Discussion Folding frame for AP - tri, quad, Hexa, Okto danielpetrescu Multirotor Talk 9 May 10, 2010 12:25 AM
Question Tri/hexa-copter or Quad/Octa-copter and Spartan AP2000i or Helicommand Arthur P. VTOLs 2 May 20, 2007 03:02 PM