HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 18, 2011, 09:58 PM
1.21 Gigawatts!
Steph280's Avatar
Irvine, CA, USA
Joined Oct 2000
7,492 Posts
I plan to feed two motors with a single 6s-5000 pack as well, but one of my buddy had problem with the ESC going in and out of sync. He ended up with two 6s-3300, one feeding each motor, and problem went away. Hopefully I don't have to go that route...
Steph280 is online now Find More Posts by Steph280
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 18, 2011, 10:47 PM
Registered User
X30PILOT's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
440 Posts
Quote:
The flaps are installed in place. Done exactly per the instructions, with one deviation: replaced the hinges with the robart 308 steel pin hinge points. Installing it is a bit tricky, and I didn't know what to expect from those two 1.5mm flexibly metal wire, but I'm very happy with the results.
I,m glad to hear it went well. Thanks for the info.

X30
X30PILOT is offline Find More Posts by X30PILOT
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2011, 10:58 PM
Registered User
X30PILOT's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
440 Posts
Quote:
one of my buddy had problem with the ESC going in and out of sync.
The issue here is that with the two motors pulling 60 amps each you have enough of a momentary drain on the battery to knock one of the ESCs into low voltage cutoff. The easy solution to this problem is to program your ESCs not to use this feature or set them up with a very low voltage before they go into low voltage reduced power or cutoff.

X30
X30PILOT is offline Find More Posts by X30PILOT
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 12:50 PM
Registered User
Jeanskydive's Avatar
Canada, QC, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Joined Feb 2009
754 Posts
Thunderbolt A-10

Exact I use one 6-S5000 single pack for both motor, with no problem so far, but reprogram the speed control , cutoff voltage set at option 2: 4.0V cutoff voltage, also setting 2 Current Limiting Option 5: Disabled Setting, 3 Brake Type Option 5: Brake disabled., with is set-up, be aware of your flying time!! Cheers
Jeanskydive is offline Find More Posts by Jeanskydive
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Jeanskydive; Dec 19, 2011 at 02:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 12:56 PM
Registered User
Jeanskydive's Avatar
Canada, QC, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Joined Feb 2009
754 Posts
thun

If you use a clips for the flaps set-up on the Nitro plane A-10 is verry easy to set-up straight , robart hinges better stronger also . Cheers
Jeanskydive is offline Find More Posts by Jeanskydive
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Republic Fairchild A-10 Warthog
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 11:02 AM
A Texan abroad
torque roll's Avatar
Joined Oct 2011
936 Posts
So, a single 5s 5000 30-45c pack will do it? Many thanks. Considering it for Christmas! At $120, it certainly is a good deal!
torque roll is offline Find More Posts by torque roll
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 01:24 PM
Another one on the way...
ysolomon's Avatar
Plano, Texas
Joined Feb 2009
2,355 Posts
I don't know if it's still active, but they had a 10% discount when we bought it last month (beyond the $120...). 5,000mAh at 30C would be 150A peak, 5S would give you 18.5V, so you will have peak 2,775W. This plane should probably weigh around 6lb by the time it is complete, so you would have 462 W/lb peak. Should be plenty...
ysolomon is offline Find More Posts by ysolomon
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 01:31 PM
A Texan abroad
torque roll's Avatar
Joined Oct 2011
936 Posts
4s 5300mah? A little bit of a stretch, but I think I would stay with a fixed gear so it would be a little bit lighter.
torque roll is offline Find More Posts by torque roll
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 05:42 PM
Registered User
Jeanskydive's Avatar
Canada, QC, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Joined Feb 2009
754 Posts
Thunderbolt A-10

There almost half price compare to Hitec price like HS-125 metal gear from Hobby King. Need to try . Cheers http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...15sec_23g.html
Jeanskydive is offline Find More Posts by Jeanskydive
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Jeanskydive; Dec 20, 2011 at 05:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 10:09 PM
Another one on the way...
ysolomon's Avatar
Plano, Texas
Joined Feb 2009
2,355 Posts
This is the servo we are using for the rudders:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...n%5FServo.html
ysolomon is offline Find More Posts by ysolomon
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 11:48 PM
1.21 Gigawatts!
Steph280's Avatar
Irvine, CA, USA
Joined Oct 2000
7,492 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeanskydive View Post
There almost half price compare to Hitec price like HS-125 metal gear from Hobby King. Need to try . Cheers http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...15sec_23g.html
Too bad those servo have such poor reviews. The spec and price certainly is attractive if they work well.
Steph280 is online now Find More Posts by Steph280
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2011, 02:11 AM
Registered User
Jeanskydive's Avatar
Canada, QC, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Joined Feb 2009
754 Posts
Hitec Servos

HS-125 a bit more expensive i use them since fews years now and still verry smooth running action servos . The digital one from Hobbt King BMS-555 DMG would try. almost the same torq., 50 oz., Cheers
Jeanskydive is offline Find More Posts by Jeanskydive
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Republic Fairchild A-10 Warthog
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2011, 02:31 PM
A Texan abroad
torque roll's Avatar
Joined Oct 2011
936 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by torque roll View Post
4s 5300mah? A little bit of a stretch, but I think I would stay with a fixed gear so it would be a little bit lighter.
Anybody? Sorry for bieng so stuborn.
torque roll is offline Find More Posts by torque roll
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2011, 03:31 PM
Another one on the way...
ysolomon's Avatar
Plano, Texas
Joined Feb 2009
2,355 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by torque roll View Post
Anybody? Sorry for bieng so stuborn.
I don't know, but you might just be able to pull it off, if you keep the plane really light. My SAPAC T-45 was not a very light plane (fiberglass and wood construction), and it flew on a single 70mm SAPAC MB-1 combo, on a 4S 4400mAh (2x 4S 2200mAh 40C in parallel), and the A-10 seems to be a much more "lifty" plane compared with the "bricky" T-45. Again--I haven't finished building mine to the point of flying it and telling you if my power system is an overkill... If the rule-of-thumb is that you need at least 200W/lb for an EDF jet, and you can get the plane to 6lb, you might be able to get away with 1200W setup, which you could run off a 4S battery (82A total, 42A per side). On 5300mAh battery, a 25C battery would be enough (although I would probably go with 30C or higher).

Take my advice/calculation above with a grain of salt, as I haven't finished/flown mine yet.
ysolomon is offline Find More Posts by ysolomon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert RC Nitro Tech (UK Only) - 10% OFF!!! artuan00 Hot Online Deals 2 Oct 24, 2011 06:41 AM
Question 10% vs. 15% nitro fuels? DanF Beginner Training Area (Fuel) 30 Oct 19, 2011 05:08 PM
Question Good Plane for a 7 or 9 0r 10 nitro engine Rob1962 1/2A Planes 7 Oct 08, 2011 04:25 PM
For Sale Trade 1/10 nitro buggy for micro plane dinopilot Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 1 May 06, 2011 03:38 PM
Help! Nitro-plane A-10 kit ? cyclops2 Foamies (Kits) 3 Nov 08, 2008 07:49 AM