SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 23, 2011, 05:37 PM
SJPilot
Joined Oct 2011
2 Posts
Question
New to RC but have commercial license and 1850 hours

As the title states, I'm a commercial pilot with 1850 hours; looking to get into R/C flying. In that 1850 hours are 130 in a T-38 supersonic trainer. I plan to use a simulator (was a sim check pilot way back when). All the recommendations are to start with a SuperCub or other slow trainer. Does my flight experience and knowledge of aerodynamics allow me to step up initially to a faster plane? All input is appreciated.
sjohnsonmbb is offline Find More Posts by sjohnsonmbb
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 23, 2011, 05:58 PM
Shelter Kitty "Orange Death"
United States, FL, Monroe
Joined Jan 2008
3,159 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjohnsonmbb View Post
Does my flight experience and knowledge of aerodynamics allow me to step up initially to a faster plane? All input is appreciated.
9 out of 10 times it makes it harder.

Trust me. Knowledge of what the controls do is helpful but you can't think of yourself in the cockpit. RC is more of a video game mentality.
bartricky is offline Find More Posts by bartricky
Old Oct 23, 2011, 06:04 PM
Senile Member
Moab, Utah, USA
Joined Apr 2003
5,907 Posts
Having flown both full size and RC I can tell you it's a whole new ball game. As far as I'm concerned, flying RC is more difficult because you don't have the instruments and tactile feedback that you get with the full size. Start with the trainer. After you learn the basics and obtain the required eye-hand coordination, then your knowledge of aerodynamics will help you become more proficient.

Larry
Lnagel is offline Find More Posts by Lnagel
Old Oct 23, 2011, 06:11 PM
Too much to do not enough time
Wisconsin
Joined Sep 2010
273 Posts