HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 05, 2012, 01:46 AM
Because gas is for BBQ's
nogas's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Feb 2011
746 Posts
What holes is everyone running on their servo horns / control surface horns?
nogas is offline Find More Posts by nogas
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 05, 2012, 07:19 AM
Rookie
planex's Avatar
Australia, VIC
Joined Jun 2011
1,519 Posts
Thanks guys
1300 mah 3s and 4s packs would be sufficient?
As for CG, is everyone running whats recommended in the manual?
Also is there a write up somewhere regarding wing spar installation?
planex is offline Find More Posts by planex
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2012, 05:57 PM
Because gas is for BBQ's
nogas's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Feb 2011
746 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by planex View Post
Thanks guys
1300 mah 3s and 4s packs would be sufficient?
As for CG, is everyone running whats recommended in the manual?
Also is there a write up somewhere regarding wing spar installation?
Most of your questions are covered in the last few pages but yes 1300 3S is sufficient but you'll only get sub 5 minute run times. You'll have to push the battery as far back as it can go in the cockpit. The 4S might have to go back a bit further into the fuselage.

Most people are running CG about 15 - 20mm further back than the manual recommends.

Haven't seen any write ups about wing spar install but i just drilled a hole through the fuse ( before glueing the wings on and drill from both sides unless you have a long series drill bit) and dremelled a groove along the bottom of the wings just behind the servos. I installed some 4mm rod that i had left over from another build so its not as long as i would have liked but it strengthens the wing join. At the wing / fuse junction the spar will need to be about 2mm below flush with the bottom of the wing. Mine is flush at the wing join and it sticks out slightly at the end, which stops me from going in the shorter holes on the servo horn. I'll probably just cut the rod that bit shorter to miss fouling the pushrod.

Heres some pics





nogas is offline Find More Posts by nogas
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2012, 06:14 PM
"Take Off" eh!
vettster's Avatar
Canada, ON, Beeton
Joined Aug 2008
3,231 Posts
my wing spar is about 2" further ahead of were Nogas is. As Nogas mentioned. I used a long drill bit to go thru the fues and into one wing. I then removed that wing and did the same to the other. I used Gorilla Glue which expands when you use water to activate it. The spar is compleaty concealed in the wings.
vettster is offline Find More Posts by vettster
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 3DTRYER ripped me off!!!
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2012, 06:48 PM
Because gas is for BBQ's
nogas's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Feb 2011
746 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vettster View Post
my wing spar is about 2" further ahead of were Nogas is. As Nogas mentioned. I used a long drill bit to go thru the fues and into one wing. I then removed that wing and did the same to the other. I used Gorilla Glue which expands when you use water to activate it. The spar is compleaty concealed in the wings.
So does your spar come through about where the finger holds are? How long did you make yours?

I wish i'd concealed mine but i was worried i wouldn't get the hole perfectly straight, so did it this way. Did you drill the hole slightly larger to accommodate for some error with the hole??

I used GG as well, thats why it looks like a dogs breakfast

I may be buying a new kit due to an unscheduled meeting with mother earth. Man this 2836 is fast!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
nogas is offline Find More Posts by nogas
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2012, 07:03 PM
"Take Off" eh!
vettster's Avatar
Canada, ON, Beeton
Joined Aug 2008
3,231 Posts
The spar is actually right above the finger holes but not thru them. Im not sure how long, but I measured with a straight edge in the location I wanted and made them about 1" short of the leading edge. Yes I made the holes slightly larger but not by much. When I dry fitted the wings.. I made sure there was no pressure on the spar. I didnt want one wing to be pushed up or down. I then glued the wings on with slow CA and used packing tape over the seams to make them more stream line and add more strength to the joint. On another note..with regards to the large rectangular hatch at the back. I glued that to the long fues hatch. I used super earth magnets to hold down the larger rectangular hatch. Ill take some pics later.
vettster is offline Find More Posts by vettster
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 3DTRYER ripped me off!!!
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2012, 10:37 PM
Rookie
planex's Avatar
Australia, VIC
Joined Jun 2011
1,519 Posts
Thanks guys much appreciated
I want to run the spar long the CG line if possible
As most of the load is there, this may be the best way to prevent flex?
planex is offline Find More Posts by planex
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2012, 05:30 PM
"Take Off" eh!
vettster's Avatar
Canada, ON, Beeton
Joined Aug 2008
3,231 Posts
Thats probably a good idea though.. that would mean you would only have about 2" of spar sticking into the wings. Just put it where the foam is the thickest. I think thats why I choose the location I did.
vettster is offline Find More Posts by vettster
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 3DTRYER ripped me off!!!
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2012, 09:38 PM
Registered User
choopi's Avatar
New Brunswick
Joined Feb 2006
1,250 Posts
Radjet on a small 4s pack 1000mah with a 2208 2200kv motor

RADJET (1 min 1 sec)
choopi is online now Find More Posts by choopi
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2012, 07:16 AM
Registered User
unisev's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
54 Posts
RadJet 800... my next plane !

Hello,

I'd like to buy and use a full stok RadJet 800, with prop-saver, spare prop, and my turnigy 3S/1300 mAh (x4).

Do you think it will be easy to make removable rudders ?
Wich prop-saver must I buy (this one ?) ?
Wich spare prop must I buy to use with stock motor (TGS 6x5E ?) ?

Sev
unisev is offline Find More Posts by unisev
Last edited by unisev; Jan 07, 2012 at 10:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2012, 03:07 PM
"Take Off" eh!
vettster's Avatar
Canada, ON, Beeton
Joined Aug 2008
3,231 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by choopi View Post
Radjet on a small 4s pack 1000mah with a 2208 2200kv motor

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H4Rte...0jIEEtvmAE6R6H
Hey Eric...You sure seem to be enjoying that Radjet a whole lot more than that Multipriced thing you have

Sounds like you could use a bigger prop. What do you have on there now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by unisev View Post
Hello,

I'd like to buy and use a full stok RadJet 800, with prop-saver, spare prop, and my turnigy 3S/1300 mAh (x4).

Do you think it will be easy to make removable rudders ?
Wich prop-saver must I buy (this one ?) ?
Wich spare prop must I buy to use with stock motor (TGS 6x5E ?) ?

Sev
Sev.. I think you question could be better answered on the HK site under Discussions.
vettster is offline Find More Posts by vettster
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 3DTRYER ripped me off!!!
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2012, 03:21 PM
Registered User
unisev's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
54 Posts
Thank you vettster, I've asked there
But there is some RadJet users here, I was hoping they know the stock prop size
unisev is offline Find More Posts by unisev
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2012, 07:11 PM
Registered User
choopi's Avatar
New Brunswick
Joined Feb 2006
1,250 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vettster View Post
Hey Eric...You sure seem to be enjoying that Radjet a whole lot more than that Multipriced thing you have

Sounds like you could use a bigger prop. What do you have on there now?
Ya the Funjet is gone! At that price, it's just amazing! I'm using a small prop, 4.5x4.5 or something like that. I'm using a small 4s pack, do wnat to push it to much! But I got most the pass between 95-103mph on the rc speedo!
choopi is online now Find More Posts by choopi
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2012, 08:19 PM
"Take Off" eh!
vettster's Avatar
Canada, ON, Beeton
Joined Aug 2008
3,231 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by unisev View Post
Thank you vettster, I've asked there
But there is some RadJet users here, I was hoping they know the stock prop size
I think its 4.5x4.5 but the guys here are useing 6x4
vettster is offline Find More Posts by vettster
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 3DTRYER ripped me off!!!
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2012, 08:39 PM
Registered User
choopi's Avatar
New Brunswick
Joined Feb 2006
1,250 Posts
6x4 is for show off! That want to waste neutron
choopi is online now Find More Posts by choopi
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Contest Habu 32 Speed Contest Stock Class Habu Burners 7s 132.6 mph keithtsr Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 2066 Nov 16, 2014 10:56 AM
Discussion RadJet from the KING! vettster Foamy EDFs 1 Jun 01, 2014 07:00 PM
Help! New ViperJet From Hobby King dviperjet Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 20 Sep 30, 2011 08:04 AM
For Sale orange rx from hobby king and orange satilite from hobby king ZEROSKIN76 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 8 Mar 15, 2011 02:41 PM
Sold orange rx from hobby king and orange satilite from hobby king ZEROSKIN76 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 4 Feb 21, 2011 01:06 PM