HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 21, 2011, 09:39 PM
United States, WI, Appleton
Joined Sep 2011
86 Posts
Discussion
Futaba vs Spektrum?

I am going to buy a 7 or 8 ch. tx. Problem is I am relatively new to flying and don't know which would be better. Futaba or Spektrum. I realize a lot of it is personal preference but any info or comments would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Tom
tomle is offline Find More Posts by tomle
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 21, 2011, 09:41 PM
I don't want to "Switch Now"
Toronto (Don Mills), Canada
Joined Dec 2002
16,545 Posts
Main advantage of Spektrum is the huge variety of Bind and Fly models they sell.
They won't work with a Futaba transmitter.

Pat MacKenzie
pmackenzie is offline Find More Posts by pmackenzie
Old Oct 22, 2011, 01:55 AM
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,272 Posts
First, anything is better than a Spektrum

Then, be aware that Futaba is in a process of switching system and you might own next year a brand new end of life system !
renatoa is online now Find More Posts by renatoa
Old Oct 22, 2011, 03:20 AM
Fast and low...
Joined Apr 2009
837 Posts
Consider the Hitec Aurora 9 too. It can't be used with the bind and fly models with the included module (there is a mod to make it fly with them with a Spektrum module) but otherwise its an excellent radio system.

The programming is extremely easy and intuitive for any beginner and it has a lot of features which you can grow into as you improve your flying. Watch a couple of the A9 programming videos on YouTube and you will see what I mean.
aa78 is offline Find More Posts by aa78
Old Oct 22, 2011, 03:52 AM
South Africa, WC, Cape Town
Joined Dec 2009
1,401 Posts
Shu its still civil.

The entry level market is quite competitive with lots of choices.

I hink it would be helpful to yourself if you have a look at what you to achieve in the hobby over the next year or two. That will help with helping you to seelct a Tx.