Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
View Poll Results: Which programmers are you using
AVRisp mkII 14 23.73%
usbasp 34 57.63%
mySmartUSB light 4 6.78%
USBtiny 8 13.56%
other 2 3.39%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 59. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 10, 2012, 07:35 AM
^(_MăĻēŜĐ_)^ ЯuĽe U
Greece, Attica, Eleusina
Joined Sep 2010
199 Posts
Its the best tool to flash all you got, is not that weird!
MoRaLeSD is offline Find More Posts by MoRaLeSD
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 13, 2012, 12:22 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
6 Posts
KK Boardv2.1 not working anymore?

Quote:
Originally Posted by karimm View Post
I assumed so.
Thanks a lot.
I really appreciate your quick responses and your contribution to this field :-)
Hi guys,
I'm back again. I'm the one trying to build a v2.5 tricopter...
When I tried connecting the board to all other components, the board won't arm.
It will not not give even a single blink of the LED when connecting the battery.
After discussing with this on the HK forums and trying various suggested solutions, my last hope is to try flashing the board again... I have a feeling that the board is dead...

Anyway... since the last flashing, I replaced the OS on my PC from Win XP to Win7 32-Bit.

I managed to install the driver and get the Pocket AVR Programmer recognized in the OS.

Then I chose the following params:
programmer: USBtiny
port: USB
baud rate: 19200
Tricopter V1.6 KK by Kapteinkuk
Configure firmware tab: Kapteinkuk Quadrocopter <= 4.7

I tried connecting the programmer and the board in both directions and I get the same error always:

Flash the firmware from repository.

C:\Users\karimm\Desktop\Personal\Project\Tricopter \KK Multucioter Flash Tool Win7\lib\avrdude\windows\usbtiny\avrdude.exe -C C:\Users\karimm\Desktop\Personal\Project\Tricopter \KK Multucioter Flash Tool Win7\lib\avrdude\windows\usbtiny\avrdude.conf -p m168p -P usb -c usbtiny -e -U lfuse:w:0xe2:m -U hfuse:w:0xdd:m

avrdude.exe: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.


avrdude.exe done. Thank you.

Error during setting the fuses.
Flashing of firmware aborted.


could it be that the board is really dead?
karimm is offline Find More Posts by karimm
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 12:40 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,552 Posts
Does the LED on the board flash one time when you connect power to the board?
Does it also flash one time when you connect the usbtiny? If not you probably forgot to enable switch on the usbtiny that pass throw the 5V of USB to the board.
LazyZero is online now Find More Posts by LazyZero
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 04:57 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
6 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LazyZero View Post
Does the LED on the board flash one time when you connect power to the board?
Does it also flash one time when you connect the usbtiny? If not you probably forgot to enable switch on the usbtiny that pass throw the 5V of USB to the board.
I'm afraid that's not the problem...
The LED on the board doesn't flash at all on either statuses of the Pocket AVR swtich...
does the board have a switch?

I don't remember seing the board LED light on ever
The only thing I can "see" is that the board is hot, especially that small "ATMEL chip" in the middle...
karimm is offline Find More Posts by karimm
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 12:29 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,552 Posts
I think then your board has a general problem. The Atmel normally doesn't get hot. You should look for a new board.

Best Christian
LazyZero is online now Find More Posts by LazyZero
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 11:30 PM
Registered User
Australia, QLD, Maleny
Joined Jul 2009
376 Posts
I have just downloaded your kkmulticopter flash tool and I cannot get it to flash xcopter firmware onto my hk v3 board. This is the script I get when I press flash:

Quote:
Flash the firmware from repository.

/Applications/kkMulticopter Flash Tool.app/Contents/Resources/Java/lib/avrdude/mac/avrdude -C /Applications/kkMulticopter Flash Tool.app/Contents/Resources/Java/lib/avrdude/mac/avrdude.conf -p m328p -P usb -c usbasp -B 8 -e -U lfuse:w:0xe2:m -U hfuse:w:0xd9:m

avrdude: set SCK frequency to 93750 Hz
avrdude: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update.
avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.01s

avrdude: Device signature = 0x1e950f
avrdude: erasing chip
avrdude: set SCK frequency to 93750 Hz
avrdude: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update.
avrdude: reading input file "0xe2"
avrdude: writing lfuse (1 bytes):

Writing | ################################################## | 100% 0.00s

avrdude: 1 bytes of lfuse written
avrdude: verifying lfuse memory against 0xe2:
avrdude: load data lfuse data from input file 0xe2:
avrdude: input file 0xe2 contains 1 bytes
avrdude: reading on-chip lfuse data:

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.00s

avrdude: verifying ...
avrdude: 1 bytes of lfuse verified
avrdude: reading input file "0xd9"
avrdude: writing hfuse (1 bytes):

Writing | ################################################## | 100% 0.00s

avrdude: 1 bytes of hfuse written
avrdude: verifying hfuse memory against 0xd9:
avrdude: load data hfuse data from input file 0xd9:
avrdude: input file 0xd9 contains 1 bytes
avrdude: reading on-chip hfuse data:

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.00s

avrdude: verifying ...
avrdude: 1 bytes of hfuse verified

avrdude done. Thank you.

Error during writing flash.
Also, I tried to use the flash tool on my windows desktop computer and after running the command file, a command window flashes very quickly and the program doesn't open.

Thanks in advance
hwat rc is offline Find More Posts by hwat rc
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 11:23 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2012
1 Posts
I have the 0.7 (latest version) and having exactly the same script and problem appear. I'm using a hk v2.1 board. Could this be a bug with the new version?
It is a little frustrating seeing as I don't currently have an Internet connection to download a previous version
The VXL is offline Find More Posts by The VXL
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 12:14 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,552 Posts
You need a internet connection to use the tool. It will download the firmware during flashing process. When it is downloaded once you can flash that firmware again without internet.

Best Christian
LazyZero is online now Find More Posts by LazyZero
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 12:29 AM
Registered User
Cheyenne, WY
Joined Oct 2010
113 Posts
Also, I tried to use the flash tool on my windows desktop computer and after running the command file, a command window flashes very quickly and the program doesn't open.

Thanks in advance [/QUOTE]

Had that problem too. Updated JAVA now it works
augerN is offline Find More Posts by augerN
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 12:32 AM
Registered User
Malaysia, Selangor, Sungai Buloh
Joined Dec 2012
5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LazyZero View Post
You need a internet connection to use the tool. It will download the firmware during flashing process. When it is downloaded once you can flash that firmware again without internet.

Best Christian
Bro, Your inbox is full.. Have some inquiry
zarul is offline Find More Posts by zarul
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 12:45 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,552 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zarul View Post
Bro, Your inbox is full.. Have some inquiry
Now there should be some space. ;-)
LazyZero is online now Find More Posts by LazyZero
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2013, 12:10 AM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Jan 2012
117 Posts
can anyone please help me with supplying a preflashed v2.0 KK board ?

i bought the v2.0 with v1.2 pre installed from Hobbyking, and i bought the usbasp programmer also. but i have been slowly going insane over the last 3 days trying and failing to get it to be recognised in 3 different pc's, with 3 different os on them.

windows 7 and windows xp, both report an unrecognised device, and ubuntu doesnt seem to even see the device at all.

the v1/2 FW is almost unflyable on my tri copter. i really want to try v1.5 FW, but im unable to flash anything because the device is not recognised.

tried uninstalling the device, but windows just finds it again as an unrecognised device.

ill happily pay for saomeones time to get a kk2.0 and reflash it with 1.5.

as it stands, i cant fly my new tri.....

Jason.
Exaturbo is offline Find More Posts by Exaturbo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2013, 12:25 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,552 Posts
Hi,

maybe I can help you with the programmer. Have you tried to do a lsusb on ubuntu and a dmesg? What are they reporting when the usbasp is plugged in?
Have you tried add the udev rule I propose in the FAQ of my homepage?
http://lazyzero.de/en/modellbau/kkmu..._work_on_linux

If lsusb doesn't report anything, then usbasp itself is propably broken. There where some in the past that hadn't have a firmware installed.

Hope that helps you a bit.

Best Christian
LazyZero is online now Find More Posts by LazyZero
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2013, 12:37 AM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Jan 2012
117 Posts
I have no clue with Ubuntu. I only tried a live cd because the windows machines wouldn't work.

I think I have killed the KK board now

I plugged the programmer into a win xp laptop and it
Recognised it as a USBASP and installed drivers !
I thought wahoo !!

Tried flashing the 1.5fw and it crashed half way and failed.
Now the KK board won't boot, and I still have an unrecognised device.

If anyone can please please offer to sell me a kk2.0 pre flashed I'd be truly greatful.

Thanks.

Jason.
Exaturbo is offline Find More Posts by Exaturbo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2013, 12:53 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,552 Posts
Sorry to hear. Where there any ESC connected to the board during flashing?
In some cases they draw to much current from the USB port and shutdown the usbasp.
That will cause in a bricked KK2.0. So never flash with ESC connected.

Best Christian
LazyZero is online now Find More Posts by LazyZero
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools