Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 24, 2012, 06:36 PM
FPV maniac
bah7566's Avatar
Colorado
Joined Sep 2007
587 Posts
Who is the manufacturer of the motor?
bah7566 is offline Find More Posts by bah7566
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 24, 2012, 07:59 PM
never mind the boll⁣⁣⁣ocks
brosius85's Avatar
Australia, NSW
Joined Dec 2010
1,256 Posts
my first Z was a 3s zeph. same technique.

if you are worried then wait for a windy day and launch into the headwind if you are still worried use a bungee.

everyone seems to end up launching by running and holding the prop area and then throwing with the power off. i think you are setting yourself up for a lot of crashes this way.

my first ever launch of the zeph - used a big headwind.
Ritewing Zephyr Maiden Flight (1 min 21 sec)


another big headwind launch
Ritewing Zephyr setup (2 min 42 sec)


compilation of many many launches... mostly the 3s zeph.
last one is with a magnet about to let go
launching a zephyr (0 min 47 sec)
brosius85 is offline Find More Posts by brosius85
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 08:13 PM
Mum is the word!
Joined Jun 2003
6,768 Posts
I spent the last year testing motors , why would I give up that info. ? I am 100% sure if you asked Hacker who their China mfg was they would not tell you. And neither would any other motor vendor.
klique is offline Find More Posts by klique
Last edited by klique; Feb 24, 2012 at 08:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 08:14 PM
Nakelp
nakelp86's Avatar
United States, NJ, Union
Joined Sep 2004
6,785 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brosius85 View Post
nakelp drill 4 new holes, or you can use a piece of angle like normal when making the mount
Yep, will drill....3 screws should do the trick
Thx Bro

Hope you recovered and get in the air soon mate , like yr videos .
nakelp86 is offline Find More Posts by nakelp86
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: New (old) Disco gimbal
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 08:33 PM
Registered User
United States, NY, Wappingers Falls
Joined Jun 2011
578 Posts
I thought about holding it between the foam and motor mount but wasn't sure if my arm would clear the prop area fast enough.
Maddmax is offline Find More Posts by Maddmax
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 10:13 PM
Registered User
Eagle202's Avatar
United States, FL, Clearwater
Joined Aug 2011
1,597 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maddmax View Post
I thought about holding it between the foam and motor mount but wasn't sure if my arm would clear the prop area fast enough.
Max

Wear gloves and a long sleeve shirt just in case.
Eagle202 is offline Find More Posts by Eagle202
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2012, 01:00 AM
Mark Harrison
USA, CA, Piedmont
Joined Jun 2010
2,180 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by klique View Post
They will be 1.50 with the 65 amp ESC , so about 1.00 for motor only.
??? I thought he was asking about the price ???
marhar is offline Find More Posts by marhar
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2012, 02:17 AM
Registered User
United States, NY, Wappingers Falls
Joined Jun 2011
578 Posts
Kevlar gloves!!
Maddmax is offline Find More Posts by Maddmax
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2012, 02:40 AM
Registered User
United States, NY, Wappingers Falls
Joined Jun 2011
578 Posts
OK, so I'm still fairly new to flying and this may be a stupid question. I have a spektrum dx6i and was wondering what a good long range rx would be for my plane. I have some hk orange rx, and several different spektrum rx's. What's a decent one for 1-1.5 miles away flights??? And I do have dragonlink on my shopping list also.

Thanks
Maddmax is offline Find More Posts by Maddmax
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2012, 02:42 AM
Crashomatic
CrashMeUp's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined May 2010
2,044 Posts
I always ever launch my wings (and theres many) on the side, even if its too heavy to light with 1 arm it doesnt matter, but a little of throttle and here she goes.
i find it safer since even if u were going to completely fail the launch you'll never get any body part in the prop. its also easy since you don't really have to toss it hard.

well anyway. i know its not a super popular technic for some reason (too easy ? XD)
CrashMeUp is offline Find More Posts by CrashMeUp
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2012, 03:27 AM
never mind the boll⁣⁣⁣ocks
brosius85's Avatar
Australia, NSW
Joined Dec 2010
1,256 Posts
madmax forget spektrum. do not let them have any more of your money. get a dragonlink or ez or TS or sometihng but leave spektrum alone for FPV especially
brosius85 is offline Find More Posts by brosius85
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2012, 06:23 AM
Registered User
Locko's Avatar
Australia, WA
Joined Oct 2011
555 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brosius85 View Post
madmax forget spektrum. do not let them have any more of your money. get a dragonlink or ez or TS or sometihng but leave spektrum alone for FPV especially
if your going more then a couple of Km's you wack on a UHF system anyway.
So if you got a Spektrum , no point chucking it way and gettting a different brand.I think I got nearly 1.5km on a dx6 and after that chucked on a rangelink
UHF , and was sweet as.
Each too there own, I spose.
Locko is online now Find More Posts by Locko
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2012, 07:43 AM
FPV maniac
bah7566's Avatar
Colorado
Joined Sep 2007
587 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by klique View Post
I spent the last year testing motors , why would I give up that info. ? I am 100% sure if you asked Hacker who their China mfg was they would not tell you. And neither would any other motor vendor.
My thought is if it's a reputable manufacturer you wouldn't be hesitant to tell your customers who manufactures the equipment you are selling. I certainly would if it were me.

I don't need to know who Hacker's China mfg is, the Hacker name carries it's own reputation that's known throughout the industry. I'm not sure but I believe Hacker motors are manufactured in Germany anyhow.

I'm not trying to build a custom motor for myself or to sell, I would just like to know what I am purchasing. If it has no name I am forced to assume it's some Chinese no name brand.

Bruce
bah7566 is offline Find More Posts by bah7566
Last edited by bah7566; Feb 25, 2012 at 07:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2012, 07:56 AM
Crash Test Dummy
e2346437's Avatar
United States, ME, Mapleton
Joined May 2005
897 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bah7566 View Post
I don't need to know who Hacker's China mfg is, the Hacker name carries it's own reputation that's known throughout the industry
Using the same logic, you don't need to know who makes the Ritewing motors. All you need to know is Klique's reputation for high-quality products that he stands behind 110%.

Eric
e2346437 is offline Find More Posts by e2346437
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2012, 08:01 AM
FPV maniac
bah7566's Avatar
Colorado
Joined Sep 2007
587 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by e2346437 View Post
Using the same logic, you don't need to know who makes the Ritewing motors. All you need to know is Klique's reputation for high-quality products that he stands behind 110%.

Eric
Fair enough, my question has been answered.
Thanks for the help guys,
Bruce
bah7566 is offline Find More Posts by bah7566
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Building the ultimate Ritewing Zephyr ThomasWF FPV Talk 34 Feb 20, 2012 05:14 PM
Discussion wing thickness ritewing zephyr Herishi The Builders Workshop 2 Oct 05, 2011 08:36 AM
Discussion Ritewing Zephyr hobbycity motor nexstarselect FPV Talk 2 Mar 07, 2011 04:37 PM