HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 09, 2012, 09:42 AM
Registered User
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Feb 2012
652 Posts
Gree, what are you using for a voltage regulator. Ive been trying to find a decent 12v regulator so i can eliminate my 1000mah 3s for video gear.

Nice plane
elliott000 is online now Find More Posts by elliott000
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:15 AM
Mum is the word!
Joined Jun 2003
6,785 Posts
Hey guys when mounting the motor inboard using the motor shaft side to mount your prop, make sure you use the c clip support thrust collar between you prop adaptor and c clip to suport the clip, or it will fail !!!
klique is offline Find More Posts by klique
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 01:23 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,471 Posts
My C clip kept sliding off!
So, this fixed it!
http://shop.dubro.com/products/produ...=141/101.0.1.1
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 04:16 PM
Registered User
Gree's Avatar
Sydney, Australia
Joined Jun 2006
2,946 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by elliott000 View Post
Gree, what are you using for a voltage regulator. Ive been trying to find a decent 12v regulator so i can eliminate my 1000mah 3s for video gear.

Nice plane

Thanks. I used this voltage regulator after a recommendation by a friend. You'll need a multimeter to set the output voltage.

http://hobbywireless.com/index.php?m...roducts_id=692



Quote:
Originally Posted by klique View Post
Hey guys when mounting the motor inboard using the motor shaft side to mount your prop, make sure you use the c clip support thrust collar between you prop adaptor and c clip to suport the clip, or it will fail !!!
Thanks for the tip Chris! I didn't know this. That would have been bad...
Gree is offline Find More Posts by Gree
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 04:21 PM
Aerial DP
United States, CA, Lakeside
Joined Apr 2010
912 Posts
i used the one gree linked in a small rig, but if you want some clean power to take you out a ways, look into one of these

http://www.dpcav.com/xcart/Power-Sup...-L-C-Type.html
after one of these
http://www.dpcav.com/xcart/Adjustabl...Step-Down.html

It has a ton of power, stays cooler than my cores
Kloner is offline Find More Posts by Kloner
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 04:42 PM
Beyond the BlackStump
Macattaka's Avatar
Australia, SA, Adelaide
Joined Mar 2006
317 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by elliott000 View Post
Gree, what are you using for a voltage regulator. Ive been trying to find a decent 12v regulator so i can eliminate my 1000mah 3s for video gear.

Nice plane
I use a 2S input regulator coming off one of the main battery balance taps
Macattaka is offline Find More Posts by Macattaka
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 06:59 PM
Registered User
Australia, QLD, Beaudesert
Joined Jul 2008
588 Posts
I have had to skip a lot of this thread at the moment, but am wondering what the goss is on running with gearboxes, whats available and or what works ,
Neal
Ps I would be looking for around 100/120 MPH, would like to run threes, as I have some good 5000 3s
If that wont work I am open to suggestions!
neale is offline Find More Posts by neale
Last edited by neale; Oct 09, 2012 at 07:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 07:12 PM
never mind the boll⁣⁣⁣ocks
brosius85's Avatar
Australia, NSW
Joined Dec 2010
1,256 Posts
the original setup CK ran with the gearbox failed. if you are still keen make sure you get something really high quality (mega). and make sure you run a separate RX battery pack just in case it dies and takes the ESC with it.
brosius85 is offline Find More Posts by brosius85
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 08:26 PM
Registered User
Australia, QLD, Beaudesert
Joined Jul 2008
588 Posts
Thanks for that, mmmm sounds like gear boxes may be a bit delicate unless you know what your up do, and I dont.
I think I will just stick with direct,
So is 100/110 mark not asking too much, any thought /recomendations, what sort of speeds are you guys getting with stock set-ups, I am a total noob to Zll, just organizing with CK for order
Neal
neale is offline Find More Posts by neale
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 12:38 AM
Mark Harrison
USA, CA, Piedmont
Joined Jun 2010
2,253 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by klique View Post
Hey guys when mounting the motor inboard using the motor shaft side to mount your prop, make sure you use the c clip support thrust collar between you prop adaptor and c clip to suport the clip, or it will fail !!!
Sorry for being dumb, but what does the c clip support thrust collar look like?
marhar is offline Find More Posts by marhar
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 12:51 AM
Registered User
Gree's Avatar
Sydney, Australia
Joined Jun 2006
2,946 Posts
I hoping it is the metal collar that fits on the shaft with the grub screw, the one that came in the packet of motor accessories. At least that's what I take it be...
Gree is offline Find More Posts by Gree
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 12:54 AM
Registered User
Gree's Avatar
Sydney, Australia
Joined Jun 2006
2,946 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kloner View Post
i used the one gree linked in a small rig, but if you want some clean power to take you out a ways, look into one of these

http://www.dpcav.com/xcart/Power-Sup...-L-C-Type.html
after one of these
http://www.dpcav.com/xcart/Adjustabl...Step-Down.html

It has a ton of power, stays cooler than my cores
Awwww man does this mean I'll get interference in my video from what I have used?
Gree is offline Find More Posts by Gree
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 01:58 AM
Mum is the word!
Joined Jun 2003
6,785 Posts
Its this collar , accept in the pic its not all the way against the c clip, but it up to the clip when you do it.
klique is offline Find More Posts by klique
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 08:16 AM
Aerial DP
United States, CA, Lakeside
Joined Apr 2010
912 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gree View Post
Awwww man does this mean I'll get interference in my video from what I have used?
no it's pretty much the same thing but no filter behind it. Same screw driver to change voltage....

the DE one is smaller and more output power,,,, more than you need. the dpcav one is bigger, less power, but still more than enough. I run 1 watt lawmate 2.4, pixim cam and it idles at .7 amp,,,,,, that's just video gear and servos doing nothing.

I started with dragonlink and got blown out of the water to the point i had to build another model just to get it to work with gobs of seperation so i got freaked out by any over powered on anything. My video works better on the dpcav with filter than the DE or the CORE from tbs

be careful when you set that up,,,, the voltage under a load is totaly different than no load, make sure it's not cranked up when you start out the install and power up. not being contolled by anything but the screw, it's not self adjusting
Kloner is offline Find More Posts by Kloner
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 11:14 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
310 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kloner View Post
i used the one gree linked in a small rig, but if you want some clean power to take you out a ways, look into one of these

http://www.dpcav.com/xcart/Power-Sup...-L-C-Type.html
after one of these
http://www.dpcav.com/xcart/Adjustabl...Step-Down.html

It has a ton of power, stays cooler than my cores
This one is GREAT!
http://www.ebay.com/itm/250954117473...84.m1423.l2649

Cheaper and with great efficiency.

Geotete
geotete is offline Find More Posts by geotete
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Building the ultimate Ritewing Zephyr ThomasWF FPV Talk 34 Feb 20, 2012 05:14 PM
Discussion wing thickness ritewing zephyr Herishi The Builders Workshop 2 Oct 05, 2011 08:36 AM
Discussion Ritewing Zephyr hobbycity motor nexstarselect FPV Talk 2 Mar 07, 2011 04:37 PM