HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 18, 2012, 06:22 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,426 Posts
I am looking for a 950 kv -- 1000kv motor!
The bigger the prop the more air it moves!
I am at the end of my throttle range after 3/4.
I am spinning a 9" prop!
But, I am very happy with mine!
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 18, 2012, 07:01 PM
Mum is the word!
Joined Jun 2003
6,781 Posts
Its 60 amp , on 4s dont go larger than a 9/7 , I would use a watt meter to check.
klique is offline Find More Posts by klique
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 11:17 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Lake Forest
Joined Apr 2012
72 Posts
Anybody know the TX program sequence for the esc on the stock ritewing set up?
Tonyatrre is offline Find More Posts by Tonyatrre
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 11:37 AM
Mum is the word!
Joined Jun 2003
6,781 Posts
No need its already programmed.


Or go to the first page here and see first post at the bottom.


http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread....wing-Zephyr-II

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonyatrre View Post
Anybody know the TX program sequence for the esc on the stock ritewing set up?
klique is offline Find More Posts by klique
Last edited by klique; Sep 19, 2012 at 11:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 11:04 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,426 Posts
All you guys having bobbing and flutter problems , can I ask you what servos are you using?
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 05:22 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,426 Posts
Here is something I remember hearing a long time ago!
Wing don't like fast servos. I was told buy a couple guys a long time ago!
I was looking for that info somewhere, to prove my point. But I can't find it anywhere.
The guys I got the info from have been flying wings for over 12 years and they do know thier stuff!
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 09:16 PM
DFC~ We Do Flyin' Right
bsbauman's Avatar
USA, GA, Atlanta
Joined Nov 2008
14,294 Posts
I have flown a hundred wings; varying from snail slow to 100+mph. In every project I have done, the higher speed and higher torque servos are preferred- especially with heavier loads associated with fast speeds and large control surfaces.

It may simply be my personal preference, but test for yourself to see if you prefer faster or slower servos. You can do this without having to buy new servos, fly with a 4.8v receiver pack then switch to a 6v receiver pack. Using the same servos, they will be faster on 6v.

Report back what you think...
bsbauman is offline Find More Posts by bsbauman
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My New Workshop
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 10:16 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,426 Posts
I am not having no issues with mine or anything I ever built!

So, what do you think is the reason some are having this issue.
You may have more experience than I.
Would love to know, what you think.


Quote:
Originally Posted by bsbauman View Post
I have flown a hundred wings; varying from snail slow to 100+mph. In every project I have done, the higher speed and higher torque servos are preferred- especially with heavier loads associated with fast speeds and large control surfaces.

It may simply be my personal preference, but test for yourself to see if you prefer faster or slower servos. You can do this without having to buy new servos, fly with a 4.8v receiver pack then switch to a 6v receiver pack. Using the same servos, they will be faster on 6v.

Report back what you think...
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 10:37 PM
DFC~ We Do Flyin' Right
bsbauman's Avatar
USA, GA, Atlanta
Joined Nov 2008
14,294 Posts
sorry, I did not see your post 3335 and thought you were talking about your plane...

I have found that when the servos are up to spec, I usually start at the servo and start working my way back to the control surface. I have found on more than one occasion, a servo had come loose in a servo bay and was not full secure, often times a hinge might need to be retaped to get a better hinge line.... but really could be anything
bsbauman is offline Find More Posts by bsbauman
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My New Workshop
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 07:54 AM
Tricopters Rule
United States, NC, Goldsboro
Joined Mar 2012
532 Posts
There is one popular radio that has a tendency to bad pots, that jitters the inputs,you can see it move by itself in the servo monitor screen, another thing to look at.
A lot of people that have bad experience with digitals alo run marginal power systems.
Panzlflyer is offline Find More Posts by Panzlflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 08:15 AM
Registered User
w4Rd3n's Avatar
Switzerland, VS, Oberems
Joined Apr 2010
526 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorAudio View Post
All you guys having bobbing and flutter problems , can I ask you what servos are you using?
ya i have flutter on my z2. servos are ritewing oem digital servos. but they have some play
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PESJ12XYbko
do you think this can be from this.
i don't know if it is the wind here or it is an issue on the z2

here is a recent video:
fpv or nothing (4 min 13 sec)


i have cut alot bad scenes but if i fly down the mountain you can still notice the flutter. also on the climb there was some flutter sometimes. i think this comes from the wind but if i look the videos from trappy, there looks all pretty smooth.
w4Rd3n is online now Find More Posts by w4Rd3n
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:53 PM
Tricopters Rule
United States, NC, Goldsboro
Joined Mar 2012
532 Posts
I see some yawing, flutter is a really fast flapping of the ailerons or control surface that will tear them off in the end, a high speed pass or dive and you would hear it as a buzzing, the end comes shortly after, if you dont slow down.
I would add some glue to that loose servo.
Panzlflyer is offline Find More Posts by Panzlflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:55 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,426 Posts
True dat!
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 05:47 PM
Money Shot
United States, CA, Lakeside
Joined Apr 2010
903 Posts
klique,have you ever had anyone try to fly a nex-5 type camera? there the mirrorless cameras all the multi rotor AP guys use on mid lift type rigs, high end 1080p 60fs like this
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...=REG&A=details

there about 12 oz all ready to film,,,,,, if i stuff that as far back as possible and slide a couple 4s packs back,,,,, any ideas on stall speed or what i should use to power it? motor/prop/esc? it'd be a full fpv layout, vtx, lrs rc,board cam works.... the one i got now just like my next witha gopro and 6000 mah 4s stalls at 14mph.

Would i need a special way to get it launched? trials and errors are gonna be expensive to just "try"
Kloner is offline Find More Posts by Kloner
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 05:55 PM
Mum is the word!
Joined Jun 2003
6,781 Posts
Just use a bungee , its a no brianer as long as it ballances.
I think if you jocky things around and change it to ballance it mite just haul the weight.
Maybe even change bat size to help.
klique is offline Find More Posts by klique
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Building the ultimate Ritewing Zephyr ThomasWF FPV Talk 34 Feb 20, 2012 05:14 PM
Discussion wing thickness ritewing zephyr Herishi The Builders Workshop 2 Oct 05, 2011 08:36 AM
Discussion Ritewing Zephyr hobbycity motor nexstarselect FPV Talk 2 Mar 07, 2011 04:37 PM