Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 11, 2013, 11:47 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Sebastopol
Joined Dec 2010
7,135 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pugsam View Post
You don't need the $$$ built-in GPS for that!

It's free on my phone (which I can stick on the windshield if I want to):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=SxB7bqkmXtI

Yep. I just got my first smartphone and am still discovering all it can do. It's a 5" Android "phablet" and it's pretty danged cool! OT here I know... but I didn't start it!
erkq is offline Find More Posts by erkq
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 11, 2013, 12:03 PM
LiPo-Sucker & Airframe EMT
pugsam's Avatar
Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
Joined Aug 2010
3,517 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkq View Post
.....OT here I know... but I didn't start it!
OT???

Isn't this a thread on cool little gadgety stuff?

pugsam is offline Find More Posts by pugsam
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:22 PM
Gopher huntin' stick jockey
turboparker's Avatar
East Bethel, MN USA
Joined Jul 2009
11,620 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by airpower View Post
I agree that price is right with their quality, but these damn QC issues are pushing it.
Yeah, I hope they get it sorted out soon. It makes me think that they may have underestimated the popularity of these planes, and that they're having some difficulty keeping up with demand. We all know what usually happens to quality when companies apply "time-saving" measures to speed things up with minimal investment. The end result is often corner-cutting, which invariably hurts quality. I am reminded of the old 'business triangle':

Draw a triangle. Label the three apexes 'low-cost, 'high-quality', and 'quick'. Cover up any one of the three & you can have the other two. You can have quality at lower cost, but it won't be quick. If you want high-quality and fast production, it won't be cheap. If you insist on having it quick and cheap, it won't be high-quality. You never get all three.

Joel
turboparker is offline Find More Posts by turboparker
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:46 PM
Have fun
airpower's Avatar
Joined May 2007
6,088 Posts
They're starting to only make product announcements when they hit the water, so hopefully this should take a lot of the pressure of being quick off of them. They do more than that triangle with perfect customer support, but replacing the product doesn't help much if the replaced products have the same issues. They are getting better in QC, so we'll see.
airpower is offline Find More Posts by airpower
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 09:51 PM
Bruno, GOOD DOG
A Rdnek's Avatar
United States, IA, Grinnell
Joined Aug 2007
4,012 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by airpower View Post
I agree that price is right with their quality, but these damn QC issues are pushing it.
+1
Rn
A Rdnek is offline Find More Posts by A Rdnek
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 07:47 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2009
11 Posts
geebee as3x has anyone taken undercarriage off for belly landings ?
did you you do anything to wings as they would not have the wires from wheels?
crispinchurch is offline Find More Posts by crispinchurch
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 08:33 AM
Gopher huntin' stick jockey
turboparker's Avatar
East Bethel, MN USA
Joined Jul 2009
11,620 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by crispinchurch View Post
geebee as3x has anyone taken undercarriage off for belly landings ?
did you you do anything to wings as they would not have the wires from wheels?
The wing bracing is functional and it is very much mandatory.

Joel
turboparker is offline Find More Posts by turboparker
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 26, 2013, 10:05 AM
Chesapeake Bay RC Club
Gary Hoorn's Avatar
USA, MD, Annapolis
Joined Feb 2005
4,870 Posts
Quote:
geebee as3x has anyone taken undercarriage off for belly landings ?
Destroy the scale appearance and remove the structural integrity of the plane? Why would you want to do such a thing? I fly from a grass field and have nosed over several times. Thankfully the GeeBee is reinforced in critical places like the nose and rudder.
Gary
Gary Hoorn is offline Find More Posts by Gary Hoorn
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 11:52 AM
Have fun
airpower's Avatar
Joined May 2007
6,088 Posts
I did once, wing broke off in a turn,
airpower is offline Find More Posts by airpower
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 10:46 PM
Romans 8:34-39
bhoov128's Avatar
United States, FL, Davenport
Joined May 2012
8,363 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by airpower View Post
I did once, wing broke off in a turn,
Now that's scale!!
bhoov128 is offline Find More Posts by bhoov128
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Snice Slick
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 11:52 PM
Have fun
airpower's Avatar
Joined May 2007
6,088 Posts
I was like, "omigosh that was so cool!" And just watched it spiral to the ground towing the wing behind it, almost beautiful.
airpower is offline Find More Posts by airpower
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 12:03 AM
Flying addicted and lovin it!
Fish99's Avatar
Canada, AB, Edmonton
Joined Jun 2010
2,663 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by airpower View Post
I was like, "omigosh that was so cool!" And just watched it spiral to the ground towing the wing behind it, almost beautiful.
LOL, I had a similar experience a few years ago when I was just learning. Had hopped up my original Parkzone Spitfire MK II, putting a nice Turnigy brushless motor, independant ailerons and a rudder into it. Was a real rocket and a great flyer, but I did NOT re-enforce the wings. Pulling out of a loop at speed and one wing folded. Cut throttle and watched it spiral into the pavement on a -25 C day. NOTHING but a cloud of foam particles left, but my very first words and reaction were "MAN ... THAT WAS SO COOL". Quite the site, lol.

Marlin
Fish99 is offline Find More Posts by Fish99
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 01:43 PM
Master of Micro Modding
valiantGLX's Avatar
Australia, SA, Burra
Joined Sep 2011
2,502 Posts
Programming PKZU2164

Has anyone had any success programming PKZU2164 (Spitfire Brick)???

I have this programming card, SPMA3060: http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...er-SPMA3060#t6

The PKZU2164 (obviously )

My computer runs Windows 7 Premium Edition.

So every things in check right? However I cant work it out for the life of me I'll list the steps I take and please point out if I have done anything wrong:

1. downloaded software
2. Installed 'gyrodel2007.exe' on the desktop
3. Installed XP drivers and then the win7/vista drivers
4. Plugged the card into the RX and setup the X-port then removed the battery and card.
5. Plugged the card into the computer, then plugged the other end into the RX and connected the battery.
6. Opened 'gyrodel2007.exe', but it doesnt seem to auto detect

Also when I try to open settings I get an error message: '8.0' is not a valid floating point value

I have tried uninstalling everything and reinstalling it again, resetting my computer at every stage, but I still cannot figure it out.

The red light on the RX flashes quickly a few moments after plugging in the battery. Is that normal???

I have even tried binding it to the TX when plugged into the computer, and plugging it in while the x-port is disabled and the 5th ch is active, but all to no avail.

Any assistance would be much appreciated.
valiantGLX is offline Find More Posts by valiantGLX
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 01:57 PM
Registered User
tware's Avatar
Little Rock, AR
Joined Nov 2005
254 Posts
run as admin
tware is offline Find More Posts by tware
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 02:21 PM
Master of Micro Modding
valiantGLX's Avatar
Australia, SA, Burra
Joined Sep 2011
2,502 Posts
Programming PKZU2164

I have read now that the programming card isn't win7 compatible despite being listed as, and who runs XP anymore. WHAT A JOKE, HH ARE A BUNCH OF FOR LISTING THIS STUPID ITEM AS WINDOWS 7 COMPATIBLE

Shame on you HH get your act together and fix the drivers.
valiantGLX is offline Find More Posts by valiantGLX
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product UMX Hyper Taxi, UMX Beast 3D, and mSR X boredom.is.me Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 37 Oct 23, 2011 09:22 PM
Sold New in Box UMX Beast PatternFlyer Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 22, 2010 09:55 AM
Sold UMX Beast BRAND SPANKIN NEW with extras Kev71H Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 5 Dec 19, 2010 09:49 PM
Sold UMX Beast Brand New never flown H&H Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Dec 19, 2010 07:33 PM
For Sale UMX Beast Brand New never flown H&H Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 19, 2010 12:24 PM