SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 17, 2011, 07:33 AM
Brisbane, Australia
Joined Mar 2006
21 Posts
Discussion
Cutting Kevlar

Hi All

I was just wondering what folks out there use to cut kevlar? I've never worked with it before and don't seem to have anything in my shop that can give me clean edges on the 75gm cloth that I'm using for doublers.

Do I need a pair of those special serrated shears?

Cheers
Pete
dydx is offline Find More Posts by dydx
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 17, 2011, 07:35 AM
Composites Kid
Lima, Peru
Joined Jul 2008
3,122 Posts
Give a good pair of Fiskars the Samotage treatment and youŽll be cutting golden fabric in no time!

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=657516
Alex.Schweig is offline Find More Posts by Alex.Schweig
Old Oct 17, 2011, 07:58 AM
Brisbane, Australia
Joined Mar 2006
21 Posts
Thanks Alex, Samotage, I'll give it a go
dydx is offline Find More Posts by dydx
Old Oct 17, 2011, 08:16 AM
Red Merle ALES
United States, Mt, Helena
Joined Apr 2002
5,794 Posts
I use some scissors from the Dollar Store. They are used for cutting leather, they look something like this:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...6JQX6XXTS1JVJ7

It's all in the angles of the blades, Phil Barnes has solved this inexpensively also:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=795224

Curtis
Montana
Curtis Suter is online now Find More Posts by Curtis Suter
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 17, 2011, 09:38 AM
Live and let Fly !
Mill Hill - London
Joined Aug 2009
107 Posts
+ One for the re edged scissors. I dont have a sander, i re edged mine on an off hand grinder.

LB
Lawrence B is offline Find More Posts by Lawrence B
Old Oct 17, 2011, 10:24 AM
Registered Loon
South Africa, WC, Knysna
Joined May 2006
1,321 Posts
the serrated scissors are great, but they done last long .. i tried to keep mine only for kevlar but when you see how great they cut everything else you just cant help yourself *shrug*