HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 16, 2011, 11:06 AM
Joined Oct 2011
1 Posts
Discussion
4.8v vs 6v for a receiver

Hi... First off, I tried searching as best as I could for an answer but couldn't find a discussion about this. Sorry up front if I'm creating a new thread on a topic that is already here.

I'm a newbie, planning on running 4x3004 servos through an R2006GS installed on a glow Nexstar. My radio is a 6J. I understand that a higher mAh NiMH will provide more "radio" time between charges but what I don't understand is the difference 4.8V vs 6V makes? Other than added weight, is there a big difference between 4 and 5 cell receiver packs? I've currently got a 4.8v/1500 mAh battery that I was planning on using, but I'm debating going with a 6v/2000 mAh as my primary battery and using the 4.8 as a spare. I see that most folks are running LiPO and LiFE batteries but the safety piece combined with the cost has me leaning toward NiMH especially as a newbie. Can anybody explain the differences and help out a new guy?
thanks!

-Dave
cessdave is offline Find More Posts by cessdave
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 16, 2011, 11:37 AM
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Jan 2007
5,325 Posts
Servo has an electric motor.
More voltage > faster response and more power, as long as the servos/ESC are good for it.

As a newbie, probably you won't be able to tell any difference at all.
flydiver is offline Find More Posts by flydiver
Old Oct 16, 2011, 12:07 PM
Canada, MB, Winnipeg
Joined Apr 2008
939 Posts
Nice to have a 5 cell battery in your plane should you drop a cell, still have 4 good cells. Also the servo speed and power are slightly enhanced. Go with the bigger battery for slightly increased flight times.

I have a 2700 mah nimh in my nexstar for all day long training sessions.
Mikecam is offline Find More Posts by Mikecam
Old Oct 16, 2011, 12:09 PM
United States, UT, Highland
Joined Jun 2006
1,227 Posts