HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 08, 2012, 10:32 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,221 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecworks View Post
Another interesting glitch, I rebound the RL using the advanced binding and then,
.... unplugged the RL transmitter from its battery the motor kept running on the plane as if it never realized the RL had disconnected.
That seems like a pretty big problem.
Advanced binding, resets the failsafe to hold last position. Need to set failsafe positions yourself
following advanced binding. It's not a bug.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 08, 2012, 10:38 PM
Registered User
Marshall Islands, Enewetak Atoll
Joined Sep 2011
1,001 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
Advanced binding, resets the failsafe to hold last position. Need to set failsafe positions yourself
following advanced binding. It's not a bug.

ian
Got it! Fixed it. Thanks Ian.

Flew this evening and rangtested on the soccer field in micro mode and got maybe 10 paces. Flew at low power and got out to less than 800 yards and went into failsafe briefly. Was able to get out of it and land. Still stumped. I think I'll need to send the Tx, Rx back to Sid and have it look it over. Major disapointment. 3.5 miles and now down to 800 yards.
ecworks is offline Find More Posts by ecworks
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2012, 12:12 AM
Registered User
Marshall Islands, Enewetak Atoll
Joined Sep 2011
1,001 Posts
Rangelink now has very short range

Interesting development...

I disconnected my Eagletree OSD and E-logger and now in Micropower mode I can get 21 paces (yards) with the turntable antenna. My last test, with the Eagletree connected, was less than 10 feet before I lost any connection. I am stumped as to why the Eagletree would kill the RL range. Any ideas?
ecworks is offline Find More Posts by ecworks
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2012, 12:26 AM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,221 Posts
What about your flight camera? Powered, or not?

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old May 09, 2012, 12:40 AM
Registered User
Marshall Islands, Enewetak Atoll
Joined Sep 2011
1,001 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
What about your flight camera? Powered, or not?

ian
Its a Readymade RC 700

I power it off of the balance plug from the battery. (this one, also from Readymade RC)
ecworks is offline Find More Posts by ecworks
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2012, 12:42 AM
Registered User
Marshall Islands, Enewetak Atoll
Joined Sep 2011
1,001 Posts
Actually the Readymade RC RC 700 powers off of the Immersion 600 mw 5.8 transmitter. The transmitter itself is getting its power off of the balance plug using the Readymade RC JST-XH Balance to JST-Male Battery Style connector.
ecworks is offline Find More Posts by ecworks
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2012, 12:43 AM
Registered User
Marshall Islands, Enewetak Atoll
Joined Sep 2011
1,001 Posts
I'm sooooo close!
ecworks is offline Find More Posts by ecworks
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2012, 12:53 AM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,221 Posts
That wasn't my question. When you say you took the OSD et. all out, did you also de-power
the camera? Or put more simply, have you tested the range, with and without the camera
in the mix?

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old May 09, 2012, 01:01 AM
Registered User
Marshall Islands, Enewetak Atoll
Joined Sep 2011
1,001 Posts
Range test without the eagletree was equally good (30+ yards) with the camera attached and without.
ecworks is offline Find More Posts by ecworks
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2012, 03:41 AM
Registered User
Italy
Joined Jun 2010
97 Posts
I am experiencing very short range too.... but it seems unrelated to anything. (tested 2 different rxs, 3 different cameras, different vtx, no vtx and no bec at all, but still very short range)
Even the rx alone and one HTX900 servo powered from 4 nimh, max range in micro mode is 10-15m max. In flight I can reach 1,2-2Km at 35-40% RSSI, but sometimes i get failsafes even sooner.

Ian, read somewhere you had the a similar problem, was your RL TX? It dropped power?
When it happened, did you mesure the power output or tested the range on the ground or in flight (at full power)?

I haven't powered it without antenna, but now I am not so sure of anything...
jhoexp is offline Find More Posts by jhoexp
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2012, 03:45 AM
Registered FPVer :)
markus123456's Avatar
Switzerland, LU, Buchrain
Joined Aug 2006
2,805 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecworks View Post
Range test without the eagletree was equally good (30+ yards) with the camera attached and without.
I can't help, but lets put the facts straight. It WORKED, so there is no reason to doubth on board components of all of a sudden createing noise etc. At least that would be very unlikely.

I almost bet it's the antenna connector ON THE RX that is causeing the trouble, or even a fautly RX by itself. Those conectors are known to come loose when over tigthened. Did you ever checked this? It would explain all the behaviour you describe.

Markus
markus123456 is offline Find More Posts by markus123456
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2012, 03:51 AM
Registered User
Italy
Joined Jun 2010
97 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
That was 30 miles with Tx on a hill, and Rx inside my car in my FPV plane, with everything powered.
Power everything up (Rx, camera, video tx, ESCs, etc) and redo your micro-power mode test.
The PIXIM Seawolf is known to be quite RF noisy, so if it's very close to your UHF Rx
that is likely your problem. It's hard to get much physical separation on a quad, so you
may end up having to use a different camera to improve your range.
ian
Tested my RL system as you did in the video, with tx on micro mode at the edge of range (rssi was 30-35%).
Tried 3 different camera I had around (sharp starlight from sc2000, sony super had 650tvl from sc2000, HK sony 520TVL) and none seem to have an effect on range (or rssi indication). (With no ferrite or choke next to the camera, but with dedicated 3s lipo and regulator)

Tried the gopro too, selfpowered and hooked up to vtx....and no effect too!?

What was the LR of the video?
jhoexp is offline Find More Posts by jhoexp
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2012, 10:27 AM
Registered User
Marshall Islands, Enewetak Atoll
Joined Sep 2011
1,001 Posts
Rangelink now has very short range

Quote:
Originally Posted by markus123456 View Post
I can't help, but lets put the facts straight. It WORKED, so there is no reason to doubth on board components of all of a sudden createing noise etc. At least that would be very unlikely.

I almost bet it's the antenna connector ON THE RX that is causeing the trouble, or even a fautly RX by itself. Those conectors are known to come loose when over tigthened. Did you ever checked this? It would explain all the behaviour you describe.

Markus
Hmmm, I've looked closely at the Rx connection to the antenna cable and the Rx connection to the Rx board and it all looks fine. Unless there is a small defect I can't see. The thing I can't figure out is why does my range (during Micro power test) drop dramatically when the Eagletree is connected? With the Eagletree connected I get less than 10 feet but when I disconnect the Eagletree I get 30 yards during the range test.
ecworks is offline Find More Posts by ecworks
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2012, 02:11 PM
Registered User
Marshall Islands, Enewetak Atoll
Joined Sep 2011
1,001 Posts
Rangelink now has very short range

To clarify my problem I'm attaching two pics showing my layout with the eagletree, which severely reduces my range (10 feet) with the Rangelink during the micropower range test, and then the layout without the eagletree, which miraculously increases my range during micropower to 30 yards.
ecworks is offline Find More Posts by ecworks
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2012, 02:44 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,221 Posts
Sounds like a question for other ET users. I've not heard that ET gear is UHF noisy, but then
I really haven't heard that it isn't either.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yippee! DRAGON LINK - New V2, Professional Grade Long Range FPV System, Always in Stock ! JettPilot FPV Equipment 31262 Today 06:51 AM
New Product ChainLink UHF Long Range System siim227 FPV Talk 2853 Jul 01, 2013 04:23 PM
New Product ChainLink--The new UHF narrow band long range system BEVRC FPV Talk 878 Jun 08, 2013 06:53 PM
New Product UHF Long range JR / Futaba module Hooks FPV Talk 18 Aug 13, 2012 05:46 AM
Sold [VDS]LRS thomas scherrer UHF + 2 receivers long range LTS49 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 8 Jul 22, 2011 03:55 PM