Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 08, 2012, 06:51 PM
Registered User
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Aug 2012
80 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by _ELLIOT_ View Post
this is not the right way to set the rssi!

set 100% value looking at the voltage when the transmitter is 1 m from the rx.
set 0% value like the voltage with the transmitter switched off.
Sorry my post was not clear, this is how I set it but with the tx off I still get 0.9v. Did some micromode tests and fail safe enguages at around 30% (0.9v + 0.3*2v = 1.5v). Seems a bit high perhaps something need to be pulled down to ground?
Integratedneck is offline Find More Posts by Integratedneck
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 08, 2012, 06:52 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,272 Posts
No, don't pull it to ground. RSSI is not meant to carry a load.
It is normal for RSSI voltage to not go to zero. Depends on your noise floor.
Try measuring it some place further from civilization.

ian
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 09, 2012, 05:38 PM
Registered User
United States, FL, St Cloud
Joined Dec 2011
68 Posts
rx question

*** update *** Sid and I discussed this via email and it turns out the rx is working normal. Another example of great customer service!
=============
Sid, had a crash today and while trying to determine the cause, I compared my rx to an extra I have. I removed the shrink wrap to see if any leads were fried. The only thing I noticed was a small piece missing. Not sure what it is called or its purpose but when viewed next to my other receiver, its clear its missing.
Not saying it had anything to do with the crash. Just want to repair if I can.
What does this part do? Is it something I can make and resolder?

I just ordered a another rx from your site. If this is a part you have, please send to me at the same time. Let me know the cost and I will of course pay whatever it is.

If anyone else knows what this part is and if it can be simply made and replaced, please advise.
Pathfinder22 is online now Find More Posts by Pathfinder22
Last edited by Pathfinder22; Dec 10, 2012 at 08:39 PM. Reason: *update
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 08:09 AM
Pat K
The Netherlands
Joined Dec 2010
382 Posts
Hello guys.
I plan to invest in such UHF Tx/Rx for more control reliability compared to a standard 35Mhz Tx at 5km. My video TX is a 5.8GHz 200mW module.
My transmitter is an old fashion Futaba FC18plus (35MHz) from the 90's using FM modules. Can this UHF system be easily plugged in? Sorry if this question has been asked many times already...
Papat is offline Find More Posts by Papat
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 09:55 PM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,051 Posts
how you actually calculate range with micro power mode range test, with rx and only servo i get 40 ft of range with my fpv setup probably around 16ft in all directions
skellator is offline Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: ZMR/RCX Motor X Mount
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 10:22 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,272 Posts
You don't use it to calculate range. You use it to compare your range before and
after the introduction of other FPV equipment.
In other words, first do a micro-power range test with just the Rx powered and nothing else.
A "normal" micro power range might be anywhere from 25-40 paces.
Then power up rest of FPV equipment (or individual components) and repeat the
test. If the range drops significantly then you know you've got an issue to fix.
I typically am not comfortable with anything more than about a 20% reduction in range
with FPV equipment powered.

ian
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 15, 2012, 01:14 AM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,051 Posts
ah ok mean i have something need to be fixed range drop almpat half witb all fpv equipment are on
skellator is offline Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: ZMR/RCX Motor X Mount
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:28 AM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,272 Posts
Camera is the most likely suspect.
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 15, 2012, 04:28 AM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,051 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
Camera is the most likely suspect.
the cctv cam? i have no where to put my rx beside in the middle of my bixler the cam and rx maybe around 4-5 inch away from the cams
skellator is offline Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: ZMR/RCX Motor X Mount
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:00 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,272 Posts
Could be anything (camera, voltage regulators, current sensor, etc), but
many cameras are known to spew noise in the UHF band. Start by
unplugging the camera, and then repeat the micro-power range test. If that doesn't
improve range, unplug something else, and keep repeating test until you know what is
causing the range reduction.

ian
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 15, 2012, 06:21 PM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,051 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
Could be anything (camera, voltage regulators, current sensor, etc), but
many cameras are known to spew noise in the UHF band. Start by
unplugging the camera, and then repeat the micro-power range test. If that doesn't
improve range, unplug something else, and keep repeating test until you know what is
causing the range reduction.

ian
ok thanks will do that later
skellator is offline Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: ZMR/RCX Motor X Mount
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 04:05 PM
Registered User
France, RA, Lyon
Joined Oct 2012
107 Posts
Excellent vid, thks
fpv38 is offline Find More Posts by fpv38
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 04:25 PM
RC pilot by soul
Israel
Joined Apr 2005
2,474 Posts
Guys,

whats a reasonable distance in range check mode (micro mode) with the Rangelink ?

i just setup a skywalker with FPV and Eagletree system and noticed my camera (420TVL CCD) was killing the range completely so without it im getting about 10-12 good 1 meter paces (probably about 30ft). VTx (1.2Ghz 800mW) on or off doesnt make a difference.

is this too low ?
i3dm is offline Find More Posts by i3dm
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 04:54 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,272 Posts
It sounds low. I usually get 30-40 paces.
You need to do a test with *just* the RL Rx powered (preferably with a NiMH battery to
rule out noise from ESC/BEC) and use that as your baseline.

Note that if it persists in being very short range, it could be indicating some
other problem, like a damaged Tx or Rx antenna or SMA connector.

ian
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 20, 2012, 05:12 PM
RC pilot by soul
Israel
Joined Apr 2005
2,474 Posts
Also has anyone tried removing the RL module curcuit and installaing it inside the Tx box ?
i3dm is offline Find More Posts by i3dm
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yippee! DRAGON LINK - New V2, Professional Grade Long Range FPV System, Always in Stock ! JettPilot FPV Equipment 31329 Yesterday 08:39 PM
New Product ChainLink UHF Long Range System siim227 FPV Talk 2853 Jul 01, 2013 04:23 PM
New Product ChainLink--The new UHF narrow band long range system BEVRC FPV Talk 878 Jun 08, 2013 06:53 PM
New Product UHF Long range JR / Futaba module Hooks FPV Talk 18 Aug 13, 2012 05:46 AM
Sold [VDS]LRS thomas scherrer UHF + 2 receivers long range LTS49 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 8 Jul 22, 2011 03:55 PM