HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 08, 2011, 12:38 PM
Augernaut
United States, KS, Overland Park
Joined Jan 2010
1,363 Posts
Discussion
So how do I know when the bearings are bad on my 2 stroke glow?

OK, a little stumped. I have limited bearing experience. how exactly do I know when they are bad? I have the back bearing out. It's a little discolored and it feels like it has just a touch of grit in it when you turn it, but even that is exxagerating it I guess it doesn't feel silky smooth. Real uniform though, it doesn't catch on anything. it just isn't as smooth turning as the front bearing. is it bad? I've serachd around this forum for some ideas, but it's all pretty limited to catastrophic failures.
Wookster is offline Find More Posts by Wookster
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 08, 2011, 01:08 PM
Joined Jun 2011
1,513 Posts
If you took it out it's probably bad now. You should replace it anyway as it's out.
datsunguy is offline Find More Posts by datsunguy
Old Oct 08, 2011, 02:16 PM
Augernaut
Joined Jan 2010
1,363 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by datsunguy View Post
If you took it out it's probably bad now. You should replace it anyway as it's out.
Huh? how does taking a bearing out destroy it?
Old Oct 08, 2011, 02:33 PM
Detroit 2-stroke junkie
USA, CA, Oceanside
Joined Jul 2008
3,167 Posts
Taking bearings out can damage them and it can also not damage them.
If they come out/press out easily they are most likely ok.
If they are forced out there can be side loading damage that can distort the cage.

One good check is to see if there is any crank movement other than rotational. If you hold the prop you shouldn't feel any up and down movement.
1320fastback is online now Find More Posts by 1320fastback
Old Oct 08, 2011, 02:35 PM
Joined Mar 2009
137 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wookster View Post
Huh? how does taking a bearing out destroy it?