HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 03, 2011, 10:54 PM
\_(ツ)_/
Joined Sep 2011
738 Posts
Discussion
So what do these numbers mean?

So as suggested, I bought a battery meter to figure out why the charger was suddenly giving a "reconditioning" or "error" message on my 2 lipos. I figured being a lipo noob, I must've overdischarged them and destroyed them. Today I bought two new batteries and came home with the intention to toss the old ones, but first I thought I'd put the meter on them, just in case.

So here we are.

[/IMG]

The blue battery has only been run a few times, and it no longer charges. It used to charge ok, then it would go to a "reconditioning" mode before charging. Now it just reads error all the time. It simply does not charge any more.

the readings:
Cell 1: 3.78
Cell 2: 3.79
Cell 3: 3.78
All: 11.3

The white battery has been run the same number of times. It suddlenly started reading "reconditioning", and then it would charge. Now, it will just charge for like 4 hours straight. Then it will go to "error" message. I figured it was also garbage due to overdischarging.

the readings.
Cell 1: 3.98
Cell 2: 4.03
Cell 3: 3.96
All: 11.9

So do you think these batteries are actually toast, or is it possible that the cheap charger was at fault all along, (it was supplied with the airplane) I never over discharged them, and I bought 2 new batteries today for no reason.
Kawi is offline Find More Posts by Kawi
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 03, 2011, 11:05 PM
2is
Joined Sep 2011
62 Posts
The cell voltages look ok and they're not too far off from one another. It COULD be the charger but it also could be the cells not able to charge past those voltages. A fully charged cell should be at 4.2v
2is is offline Find More Posts by 2is
Old Oct 03, 2011, 11:19 PM
Dude, I do fly all day long!
San Jose, California
Joined Dec 2007
5,823 Posts