HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 01, 2011, 07:40 PM
3d Kiwi
New Zealand
Joined Dec 2007
3,080 Posts
Discussion
Be careful what camera for multirotors!

I've conducted some basic tests on a new vtail quad, especially focussing on stills for AP. I'm a photographer so my camera settings were optimal for each test (usually at least 800th second, TV mode if availbable, and under 200 iso, IS off)

Cameras tested were:

Canon s90
Canon a590is
Canon a550

s90 - I tried for several days to get a sharp shot from the excellent s90 (OIS off) - after many mounting options, vibration reduction techniques, I only managed to pull off about 3-5 tack sharp images, out of probably 50 or so.

a590 - not a camera to rave about imagewise, but less affected by vibration in the same mount as the s90. However, overall poor results. NB: Cam uses OIS system

a550 -tack sharp almost on every shot, right off the bat. This is a little 7mp camera with pretty poor specs, but actually nice images. NB: No Cam uses no OIS or IS system

My conclusion, after seeing another quad flyer stuggle to get tack sharp with an s95, is that indeed, the OIS system is to blame. All I can assume is that the a550 has NO stabilization, and is rock solid.

It would be interesting to compile a list of cameras whos OIS/IS does not interfere with use in multirotors. It could potentially save someone a lot of money who purchases a great camera, only to find that on rotors, it is virtually useless.

Of note is that the s90 produces brilliant images on fixed wings, with not a hint of blur. Just as sharp as on the ground. The vibes in rotors, massively affect this and I assume other similar cameras.

If you have experience with similar cameras on rotors, or want to add a known good camera, it would be useful I think.
PS - images with IS turned ON with the s90 were just as poor.

Regards
Rick
uptime4downtime is online now Find More Posts by uptime4downtime
RCG Plus Member