HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 01, 2011, 10:53 AM
United States, GA, Blue Ridge
Joined Oct 2011
24 Posts
Question
Glow vs Electric - The Great Debate?

Greetings everyone. First post here and I am looking forward to joining the community. I appreciate your time in reading and answering my questions.

About 5 years ago, I was diving into RC flying. Got a tower trainer from Tower hobbies, a Spektrum DX7, and was on my way. Well the economy turned south as everyone knows and I had to hang up the hobby.

Now that I am making a decent living once again, I am looking to getting back into the hobby.

My question is regarding Glow vs Electric planes. I am sure technology has changed in the past years so I wanted to get some feedback, maybe some pros and cons.

I have never tried electric before. The reason being is that all the electric planes I have ever found have been small. I am not planning on flying 4 engine glow planes or anything, but electrics always gave me the impression of being a "baby" version of the gas models. They are smaller in size and the sound they make sounds like a Mosquito on crack. I would be afraid they would drift in even light wind!

I am also concerned about the flight time. With glow, I can land, refuel, and get back in the air. With electric, I probably need to have 3-4 battery packs ready to go to fly. Perhaps I can charge one while flying on another. I am not sure how long the packs take to charge now a days. I do like the fact that there is no engine adjusting, no messy cleanup, and of course not having to worry about buying expensive fuel.

I would like to start with another trainer to shake the rust off. Move to a simple sport plane so I can start learning some better tricks and control. The ultimate goal for me would be to own a jet or two. I have always been facinitated by military jets. Just the look of them are amazing. I am not sure if an electric can push something like that.