SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Sep 29, 2011, 01:17 PM
United States, CO, Broomfield
Joined Jan 2003
925 Posts
Discussion
F3J Flight Matrix Generation

As many of you know I regularly run F3J events and handle all the matrix and scoring tasks. In the past I have always generated the flight matrix using a random assignment and rarely have any complaints. However, I am now looking at generating the fairest possible matrix for the US F3J Team Selections and have run a number of tests and often see anomalies in the matrix where a pilot flies against another an inordinate number of times or very few times. I ain't the sharpest pencil in the box, so I could use some suggestions on how to improve the matrix from some of the smart math people in the group. I am a programmer so if I understand the algorithm I can program it..

Here are the constraints:
1. There are 10 teams
2. Each team consists of 4 pilots (if there are less than 4 pilots a BYE will fill the empty slots).
3. Each pilot will fly once in a round (so there are 4 groups in a round)
4. Pilots on the same team are protected and will never fly against another team member.
5. We will schedule 24 total rounds in the matrix

Here is what I have attempted so far:
1. Pure random – for each round I process each team. On each team every pilot has a fixed pilot number between 1 and 4 (including BYES). I then compute a random sequence of the position numbers 1-4 and assign the flight group based on that sequence. Repeat for each team. When all teams have been computed for a round I go on to compute the next round.