SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 18, 2013, 04:09 AM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Bowral
Joined May 2013
845 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by berts View Post
Hi Owen I been using tgy 2013-09-20 with no complaints,On my F20A's Im about to flash some new F20 ESC's ive just brought, do you recommed flashing them with this lastest fimware tgy testing 2013-10-29 8c2cf42 comp -pwm. If so what is the differance I might notice that will make this new flash worth doing. As I said before I have no probs with the earlyer flash ,I also have a linker and my earlier flashes were with bootloader so I still have option to reflash them with the lastest fw If Its a good thing. Bert
If you search the thread, there has been discussion about what COMP_PWM does, and I am not going to repeat it.

Given that you really should thoroghly test a new FW version, I suggest that if there aren't problems with the old one, leave it alone. If you are a student of the stuff and just need to try it, do so by all means.

Owen
OwenD is offline Find More Posts by OwenD
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 18, 2013, 06:56 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2013
41 Posts
please help to reflash yellow esc no brand

Hello,

This is my first post here several weeks ago I bought a few ESCs from eBay, very cheap, rated 30A, yellow heat shrink tube, no brand, no manual. I asked the seller about programming instructions and I received a file.

As much as I can say the programming manual is correct. The beeping is according to it and the behavior corresponds.

I have an issue with those EScs - they spin the motor but when it gets to high rpm the motor shuts down. The shut down is not fast like on a brake but rather slow like freewheeling.

I decided to change the firmware. So I opened them - the micro-controller is Atmega8A. The pins are connected in an unusual way :

AH - PB2
AL - PD1
BH - PB1
BL - PD0
CH - PB6
CL - PD3

termistor - ADC5

bat sense - PC0

input - INT0

sense A - ADC7
sense B - ADC6
sense C - PD7
common - PD6

as much as I can say this is all connected to micro-controller.

The ESC is using all N fets with bipolar transistor driving stage for high side.

Please help me to identify the right firmware or to compile a hex file with the correct settings.

I will attach some pics of the ESC and scope pics.

Thanks for your support!
Spree is offline Find More Posts by Spree
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2013, 12:39 PM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Bowral
Joined May 2013
845 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spree View Post
...

Please help me to identify the right firmware or to compile a hex file with the correct settings.
Start here: https://github.com/sim-/tgy/wiki/Ide...-configuration .

Owen
OwenD is offline Find More Posts by OwenD
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2013, 02:39 AM
Registered User
Germany, SH, Bad Segeberg
Joined Oct 2013
147 Posts
Last thoughts or hints about ESC getting too hot ?

Hi again !
recap:
flashed 6 x ESC (noname) with tgy.hex.
I did that because the PCB Layout looks EXACTLY like HK-SS30A-HW and RedBrick 30 layouts (also identical to 25A versions, just added heatsinks) from the compatibility sheet and from the first post of this thread.

BUT i was unlucky, MY ESC get VERY hot even when used at low / medium current...
Well, 2 died in that process killing other Equipment as a side note...

When browsing the net for "SimonK ESC too hot" problems i found many references for "tp.hex" leading to a similar problem and "hotfixed" by a tp 8 kHz version.


NOW my Question is:
Should i try to flash tp 8 kHz to my (semi) tgy.hex compatible ESC or should i introduce the same fix to tgy.hex to produce a tgy 8kHz version or is this all crap and not related to my problem ?

If you guys cannot testbuild such a tgy 8kHz version for me i would try it myself but a hint or two would be very welcome.

Thank you for help,

Ender
enderffx is offline Find More Posts by enderffx
Last edited by enderffx; Dec 19, 2013 at 02:39 AM. Reason: BS
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2013, 04:55 AM
g0t rabb1t?
ABLomas's Avatar
Lietuva, Vilnius
Joined Jul 2011
1,539 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by enderffx View Post
If you guys cannot testbuild such a tgy 8kHz version for me i would try it myself but a hint or two would be very welcome.
I don't understand, what's the problem to build it yourself, using available frontends, if you dislike cli?
I can compile it later for you if you can't for some reason. I guess, you need latest codebase tgy.hex (or tp.hex ?), with COMP_PWM disabled (<censored> FET), brake, 3d and other fancy stuff disabled too and set to 8KHz?
ABLomas is online now Find More Posts by ABLomas
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2013, 05:03 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2013
5 Posts
Hi guys, great thread. Long time listener, first time caller. I have a question that may be covered here but at 500 pages i'll ask anyway. I have some Mystery cloud 30amp esc i would like to reflash. I have looked up all the information and found they run the TP.hex. I have tried to flash them with the socket tool and kkMulticopter .74 tool but i get the following response:


Reading | ################################################## | 100% -0.00s

avrdude.exe: Device signature = 0xffffff
avrdude.exe: Yikes! Invalid device signature.
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.


avrdude.exe done. Thank you.

Error during writing flash.

I have used this sytem to program HK esc with no problem so i know it works. It just will not communicate with the mystery. The latest mystery clouds i purchased have pads next to the atmega8 chip. I have even tried using these with the same result.
I would greatly appreciate some help as i have a few of these i would like to flash, i have tried 3 (in case one had a fault) but they all give the same result.

Thanks and keep up the good work
EvoMan01 is offline Find More Posts by EvoMan01
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2013, 05:55 AM
Registered User
Germany, SH, Bad Segeberg
Joined Oct 2013
147 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABLomas View Post
I don't understand, what's the problem to build it yourself, using available frontends, if you dislike cli?
I can compile it later for you if you can't for some reason. I guess, you need latest codebase tgy.hex (or tp.hex ?), with COMP_PWM disabled (<censored> FET), brake, 3d and other fancy stuff disabled too and set to 8KHz?
Hello ABLomas !
I do'nt think there is a problem to build, i just never have done it, and if things are like with other IDE's --> If you guys have it setup already its just uncommenting the 8kHz thingy and recompile = < 1 minute of work.

NOT having all this its a lot of reading & work for me.

I am just asking in a very friendly manner, becasue if someone (You ?) would be so kind it would save me a lot of trouble and possible reduce risks of (even more fatal) errors.

So IF you can do that for me (please compile tgy.hex with the standard options whatever they are but with the 8kHz patch switched on.

That'd be great !


Greetings,

Ender

P.S. part of your last message was censored ?! Probably an ill- named compile option ?!?!
enderffx is offline Find More Posts by enderffx
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2013, 03:21 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2013
41 Posts
I tried to compile new fw today. My yellow esc without brand / no name did not work with it.

The inc file is :


;************************************************* **************
;* For Yellow Brick NO NAME with only n-Channel FETs *
;* Fuses should be set to -U lfuse:w:0x24:m -U hfuse:w:0xd7:m *
;* *
;* 12/2013 *
;* Spree *
;************************************************* **************

.equ F_CPU = 8000000
.equ USE_INT0 = 1
.equ USE_I2C = 0 ; We could, but FETs are on the I2C ports
.equ USE_UART = 0
.equ USE_ICP = 0

.equ DEAD_LOW_NS = 300
.equ DEAD_HIGH_NS = 300

;*********************
; PORT D definitions *
;*********************
.equ mux_c = 7
.equ c_comp = 6
;.equ = 5
;.equ = 4
.equ CnFET = 3
.equ rcp_in = 2
.equ AnFET = 1
.equ BnFET = 0

;.equ INIT_PD = (1<<ApFET)
.equ INIT_PD = 0
.equ DIR_PD = (1<<AnFET)+(1<<BnFET)+(1<<CnFET)

.equ AnFET_port = PORTD
.equ BnFET_port = PORTD
.equ CnFET_port = PORTD

;*********************
; PORT C definitions *
;*********************
.equ mux_a = 7 ; ADC7
.equ mux_b = 6 ; ADC6
.equ mux_temperature = 5 ; ADC5
;.equ = 4
;.equ = 3
;.equ = 2
;.equ = 1
.equ mux_voltage = 0 ; ADC0 voltage input (33k from Vbat, 3.3k to gnd, 10.10V -> 0.918V at ADC0)

.equ O_POWER = 10
.equ O_GROUND = 1

.equ INIT_PC = 0
.equ DIR_PC = 0

;*********************
; PORT B definitions *
;*********************
;.equ = 7
.equ CpFET = 6
;.equ = 5 (sck stk200 interface)
;.equ = 4 (miso stk200 interface)
;.equ = 3 (mosi stk200 interface)
.equ ApFET = 2
.equ BpFET = 1
;.equ = 0

.equ INIT_PB = 0
.equ DIR_PB = (1<<ApFET)+(1<<BpFET)+(1<<CpFET)

.equ ApFET_port = PORTB
.equ BpFET_port = PORTB
.equ CpFET_port = PORTB

.MACRO RED_on
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO RED_off
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO GRN_on
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO GRN_off
.ENDMACRO


I will attach the fuse words configuration according to online calculator.

The motor tries to turn but did not manage, it just shake left-right. The current consumption goes not very high.

Please help to fix it. Thanks!

Links :

calculator : http://www.engbedded.com/fusecalc
bat file for windows asm : http://lunarflow.com/index.php?topic=7.0
avrdude with Arduino ISP programmer : http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoISP
Spree is offline Find More Posts by Spree
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2013, 03:45 PM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Bowral
Joined May 2013
845 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spree View Post
.equ mux_c = 7
This seems inconsistent with your earlier post.

Owen
OwenD is offline Find More Posts by OwenD
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2013, 04:44 PM
g0t rabb1t?
ABLomas's Avatar
Lietuva, Vilnius
Joined Jul 2011
1,539 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by enderffx View Post
HSo IF you can do that for me (please compile tgy.hex with the standard options whatever they are but with the 8kHz patch switched on.
Attached. Untested, todays git version, i didn't used latest code so it may be broken "by design" or something.
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvoMan01 View Post
<...>I have tried to flash them with the socket tool and kkMulticopter .74 tool but i get the following response:


Reading | ################################################## | 100% -0.00s

avrdude.exe: Device signature = 0xffffff
avrdude.exe: Yikes! Invalid device signature.<...>
Solder wires to pads. Use use battery to power ESC.
ABLomas is online now Find More Posts by ABLomas
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2013, 04:49 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2013
41 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by OwenD View Post
This seems inconsistent with your earlier post.

Owen
Why? My previous post :

sense A - ADC7
sense B - ADC6
sense C - PD7
common - PD6

my .inc file :

;*********************
; PORT D definitions *
;*********************
.equ mux_c = 7
.equ c_comp = 6

;*********************
; PORT C definitions *
;*********************
.equ mux_a = 7 ; ADC7
.equ mux_b = 6 ; ADC6
.equ mux_temperature = 5 ; ADC5
Spree is offline Find More Posts by Spree
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2013, 05:12 PM
manuLRK
Belgium
Joined Sep 2004
1,529 Posts
I had these similar esc:

And modified the tpnfet.inc to this one:

But to be sure trace it with your esc to be sure!


manu



Quote:
Originally Posted by Spree View Post
Why? My previous post :

sense A - ADC7
sense B - ADC6
sense C - PD7
common - PD6

my .inc file :

;*********************
; PORT D definitions *
;*********************
.equ mux_c = 7
.equ c_comp = 6

;*********************
; PORT C definitions *
;*********************
.equ mux_a = 7 ; ADC7
.equ mux_b = 6 ; ADC6
.equ mux_temperature = 5 ; ADC5
alll is offline Find More Posts by alll
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2013, 05:24 PM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Bowral
Joined May 2013
845 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spree View Post
Why? My previous post :

sense A - ADC7
sense B - ADC6
sense C - PD7
common - PD6

my .inc file :

;*********************
; PORT D definitions *
;*********************
.equ mux_c = 7
This means ADC channel 7 in the code, your pin is not ADC7.

Owen
OwenD is offline Find More Posts by OwenD
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2013, 06:08 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2013
41 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by alll View Post
I had these similar esc:

manu
Ah, interesting - these are very similar, but not the same layout. I have double bipolar pre-driver stage, seems that the control signal for high side is inverted in mine.

Interesting point is that I have the same signature on mine "ffxx". I tought that this is the model name, but seems that it is a kind of signature or some marking.

The N fets are the same on mine too. Also there is no oscillator.

How did it worked the modified code ?

I am a bit surprised that your .inc has the freq set to 16MHz, I tought that without external oscillator the maximum frequency is only 8 MHz or am I wrong? Please give also the fuse bits.
Spree is offline Find More Posts by Spree
Last edited by Spree; Dec 19, 2013 at 06:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2013, 01:20 AM
manuLRK
Belgium
Joined Sep 2004
1,529 Posts
i didn't looked closer to yours...
No modified code here, just another layout inc file for yhis "yellow" unbranded 25A. The fuses are low:CA high:2C i think...

I think the avr is "overclocked" to +- 15MHz
in avr-c you do it like this
OSCCAL=0xFF;//0xC9; 0x97 // calibration for internal 8 MHz

manu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spree View Post
Ah, interesting - these are very similar, but not the same layout. I have double bipolar pre-driver stage, seems that the control signal for high side is inverted in mine.

Interesting point is that I have the same signature on mine "ffxx". I tought that this is the model name, but seems that it is a kind of signature or some marking.

The N fets are the same on mine too. Also there is no oscillator.

How did it worked the modified code ?

I am a bit surprised that your .inc has the freq set to 16MHz, I tought that without external oscillator the maximum frequency is only 8 MHz or am I wrong? Please give also the fuse bits.
alll is offline Find More Posts by alll
Last edited by alll; Dec 20, 2013 at 01:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rctimer 30A esc cutting out with KK board Efliernz Multirotor Talk 2 May 26, 2011 02:20 PM
Sold FS: Tricopter Parts- HK401b, Pentium 30A ESC, rctimer 750kv motors pwu_1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jan 18, 2011 09:58 PM
Sold RCTimer 2826-6 + ESC 30A New in packaging will trade as well Pics Added! planebldr Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2010 09:54 PM
Discussion RCTimer 30A Programmable ESC hunter7193 Power Systems 8 Jan 02, 2010 02:27 PM
For Sale Several New ESC's - 10a, 20a, 30a - Reduced Callen9345 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2009 02:31 PM