Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 20, 2011, 01:32 PM
manuLRK
Belgium
Joined Sep 2004
1,528 Posts
Tried:

Must be a capacitor stuff...

Powering up the esc, i only get the PWM present beep
Then, touching phase A-B or A-C i get 1 beep + PWM present beep.

Putting 10k resistors over the 3 phases, i get 2 beeps + PWM present.
So i still miss 1 beep...

Removing the 10k resistors, i continue to get the 2 beeps + PWM present.

When i leave the esc alone for a while, and reconnect... i only get the PWM present beep!

manu

Quote:
Originally Posted by simonk View Post
Yes, FETs can be very fragile. Unlike a transistor's base, the gate will not avalanche or conduct away, it just charges like a tiny capacitor. If you exceed the Vgs rating, it will blow a hole and short. This is why they're so sensitive to static. Not sure why your finger makes it beep more.. Are you touching just output phases together? I have a 10k resistor star on the output phases of some of mine just for scope-clippability..You could try the same, maybe. I'll try it on one of my dead ones.
alll is offline Find More Posts by alll
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 20, 2011, 01:34 PM
Registered User
Nederland, Gelderland, Meteren
Joined Dec 2010
202 Posts
What do you think about this one http://www.ebay.nl/itm/10A-10-A-Brus...item43a945ff40

It's very cheap should be nice when it's working with it.
KeesvR is offline Find More Posts by KeesvR
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 02:44 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2011
62 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeesvR View Post
What do you think about this one http://www.ebay.nl/itm/10A-10-A-Brus...item43a945ff40

It's very cheap should be nice when it's working with it.
1. Get one
2. Open it up
3. check processor, connections
4. share
5. if it's atmel based,get code
6. enjoy
eosbandi is offline Find More Posts by eosbandi
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 02:50 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2005
2,399 Posts
My usbasp arrived today and I was able to get a version from my rct 30a esc. It read the lfuse as A4 and the hfuse as DF. I'll try the latest fw but do I try the fuses as posted in the first post or do I use the ones that I read from the esc?
Buffythesaint is online now Find More Posts by Buffythesaint
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 05:17 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Use as-is first.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Dec 20, 2011, 06:11 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2005
2,399 Posts
Ok, I tried tgy-2011-10-12 but it only read my esc, stopped and didn't flash anything. I'm in the folder where the hex file is and used the command line in the first post.
Buffythesaint is online now Find More Posts by Buffythesaint
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 06:16 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
You typed what?

avrdude -c usbasp -p m8 -U flash:w:tgy-2011-10-12.hex
? the filename after w: is the file you want to write.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Dec 20, 2011, 06:35 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2005
2,399 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timecop View Post
You typed what?

avrdude -c usbasp -p m8 -U flash:w:tgy-2011-10-12.hex
? the filename after w: is the file you want to write.
Yup, thats what I typed, it did a reading and then thankyou. It didn't say flashing.

Never mind, it's capital U, doh!
Buffythesaint is online now Find More Posts by Buffythesaint
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 07:35 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2005
2,399 Posts
I reflashed one of my rct 30a escs and it went well. I tested it out with a 2.4 rx and rct motor/1047 prop. It started smoothly, no stutters. Next will be hook it to one of my Axis and see what it starts at in MKTools. Will the reflashed escs work with WKM?
Buffythesaint is online now Find More Posts by Buffythesaint
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 07:39 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
No reason why it shouldn't. There's a few people using reflashed stuff with WKM already.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Dec 20, 2011, 08:59 PM
Registered User
VA
Joined Nov 2009
2,628 Posts
Ok I was able to trace a few connections to mcu even though most are hidden on this 6A esc. It has combo N and P channel FET chip with P drivers connected to PC5, PD4 and PC3 for sure so seems like bs.inc pinout most likely. Does anyone have a link to schematic for bs (blue series?) esc?
pug398 is offline Find More Posts by pug398
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 11:49 PM
manuLRK
Belgium
Joined Sep 2004
1,528 Posts
Could you post a draft drawing of your findings?
thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by pug398 View Post
Ok I was able to trace a few connections to mcu even though most are hidden on this 6A esc. It has combo N and P channel FET chip with P drivers connected to PC5, PD4 and PC3 for sure so seems like bs.inc pinout most likely. Does anyone have a link to schematic for bs (blue series?) esc?
alll is offline Find More Posts by alll
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2011, 03:24 AM
hacker
Canada, BC, North Vancouver
Joined Dec 2010
934 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pug398 View Post
Does anyone have a link to schematic for bs (blue series?) esc?
http://tfsoft.org.ua/tmp/el/AVR/hk_b...series_30a.png

(from http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1401408)
simonk is offline Find More Posts by simonk
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2011, 03:32 AM
manuLRK
Belgium
Joined Sep 2004
1,528 Posts
bad fets

All the post about not starting well and strange behavior were due to BAD fets!
Sorry for these confusing posts.

I replaced the fets and now i get the nice 3 beeps + pwm beep! ta, ta, ta, taaaa

manu
PS: is there an easy way to "check" a good/bad fet?
alll is offline Find More Posts by alll
Last edited by alll; Dec 21, 2011 at 03:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2011, 03:53 AM
hacker
Canada, BC, North Vancouver
Joined Dec 2010
934 Posts
Hey, all!

I just git pushed and uploaded a new zip at https://github.com/sim-/tgy/downloads (with source + builds of all targets) with significant zero-cross detection changes. This improves startup for me on all motors (even the hard drive is perfect now). I've tested this mostly on BlueSeries 20A, Plush 18A, and AfroESC 30A, but haven't flight-tested it yet, and it's a significant change, so be careful. However, I'd like to get some feedback, since I don't see anything worse with it yet. The RC Car no longer keeps moving forward when moving forward and reverse is requested, yay!

Thanks to ziss_dm and the wii-esc tree for the timing idea that made it work! I kept trying to get some similar code working for months, but kept running into bugs that made it not work that I couldn't track down. Then I saw it working in the wii-esc tree, and took another stab at it.

This removes the acsr_save register entirely and anything that cared about ACSR sampling in the PWM interrupt, so the 6A / 10A boards and timing issues will all be different, too. Hopefully better.
simonk is offline Find More Posts by simonk
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rctimer 30A esc cutting out with KK board Efliernz Multirotor Talk 2 May 26, 2011 02:20 PM
Sold FS: Tricopter Parts- HK401b, Pentium 30A ESC, rctimer 750kv motors pwu_1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jan 18, 2011 09:58 PM
Sold RCTimer 2826-6 + ESC 30A New in packaging will trade as well Pics Added! planebldr Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2010 09:54 PM
Discussion RCTimer 30A Programmable ESC hunter7193 Power Systems 8 Jan 02, 2010 02:27 PM
For Sale Several New ESC's - 10a, 20a, 30a - Reduced Callen9345 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2009 02:31 PM