HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 05, 2013, 12:41 PM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Bowral
Joined May 2013
842 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackerbes View Post
You are showing your age Owen, there are probably at least two generations of computers users out there now that do not know about the Ctrl + C copy and Ctrl + V paste options.

As I remember it, those were some of the stuff that the first version of MS-DOS stole from another operating system...

Jack
Yes, I have been doing this stuff for a long time!

Well, it is a little different in the modern Windows command consoles, but right clicking starts the process to mark or select all.

Owen
OwenD is offline Find More Posts by OwenD
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 05, 2013, 01:31 PM
How high will it go?
antslake's Avatar
Greenwood Lake NY
Joined Oct 2003
2,734 Posts
I am 48. I tried to ctrl c, it didn't work.
antslake is offline Find More Posts by antslake
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2013, 02:23 PM
Registered User
Canada, ON, Merrickville-Wolford
Joined Jun 2012
835 Posts
Xxd hw30a 30a esc

I bought 10 of these XXD HW30A 30A ESC's from Banggood. (http://www.banggood.com/Wholesale-XX...r-p-50621.html) for under $7 including shipping. They weighed 25g on my scale with leads, 22g minus the heavy heat shrink. They come with yellow heat shrink, with no markings.

Comments on their site mention people flashing them successfully with tgy.hex so that's what I did and it seems to work fine thus far. There are no programming pads, but the HK socket tool worked fine. This time I just let it power the ESC. I haven't tried them out under LiPo power, but they spin and calibrate using a 6 cell NiCad (wth a current limiting bulb just to be sure).

I took a few pics, and they don't seem to match any of the photos on this topic (at least my one scan). There's one mention of someone successfully flashing them with tgy.hex too.

I'm assuming the "D208" or "BAIT14" parts are the power FET's although I couldn't find an easy match. Ditto the "Y1" components on the other side which I'm guessing are the "gate" (is it?) FETS.

Anyway, perhaps someone can comment whether these seem appropriate.

I'll report further when I've tried them out on the tricopter I'm wiring up.

cheers,
Andrew
Banjo5 is offline Find More Posts by Banjo5
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2013, 02:43 PM
Jack
USA, ME, Ellsworth
Joined May 2008
16,924 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by antslake View Post
I am 48. I tried to ctrl c, it didn't work.
You have to be able to select something first, Ctrl + A will select all in the selected or active window. But I think I used a click and drag on the flashtool window to do the selection.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Table_o...line_shortcuts

Jack
(71, and who remembers when he thought EdLin was a good word processor...)
jackerbes is offline Find More Posts by jackerbes
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2013, 04:00 PM
Multicopter Nut
ThePara's Avatar
Romania, Bucharest
Joined Dec 2011
404 Posts
I've had a friend over today with some Red Brick 70A's for reflashing. Some worked OK with RB70A.hex, but three didn't, until I've tried RB50A.hex. Visually identical, so I have no clue what's different.

He also brought some Maytech 85A's. Checking pins yelded the same config as Mystery 40A so I've loaded BS.hex and they worked as expected. Both the OPTO and the SBEC versions.
ThePara is offline Find More Posts by ThePara
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2013, 04:31 PM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Bowral
Joined May 2013
842 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by OwenD View Post
Yes, I have been doing this stuff for a long time!

Well, it is a little different in the modern Windows command consoles, but right clicking starts the process to mark or select all.

Owen
Quote:
Originally Posted by antslake View Post
I am 48. I tried to ctrl c, it didn't work.
But did you follow MY lead.

Microsoft describes the XP procedure at http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d....mspx?mfr=true .

Owen
OwenD is offline Find More Posts by OwenD
Last edited by OwenD; Aug 05, 2013 at 04:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2013, 04:45 PM
How high will it go?
antslake's Avatar
Greenwood Lake NY
Joined Oct 2003
2,734 Posts
Jack, I know all the shortcuts I use them all the time. I learned programming on a vic20, but I didn't take it much past that save for some html and visual basic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackerbes View Post
You have to be able to select something first, Ctrl + A will select all in the selected or active window. But I think I used a click and drag on the flashtool window to do the selection.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Table_o...line_shortcuts

Jack
(71, and who remembers when he thought EdLin was a good word processor...)
antslake is offline Find More Posts by antslake
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2013, 04:47 PM
How high will it go?
antslake's Avatar
Greenwood Lake NY
Joined Oct 2003
2,734 Posts
Thanks, will do when I am done being a plumber today.
Quote:
Originally Posted by OwenD View Post
But did you follow MY lead.

Microsoft describes the XP procedure at http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d....mspx?mfr=true .

Owen
antslake is offline Find More Posts by antslake
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2013, 04:52 PM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Bowral
Joined May 2013
842 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePara View Post
I've had a friend over today with some Red Brick 70A's for reflashing. Some worked OK with RB70A.hex, but three didn't, until I've tried RB50A.hex. Visually identical, so I have no clue what's different.

He also brought some Maytech 85A's. Checking pins yelded the same config as Mystery 40A so I've loaded BS.hex and they worked as expected. Both the OPTO and the SBEC versions.
If you comare the .inc files, it suggests the circuits use different pins for the A FETs and two of the sense inputs.

If you check the detail of the inc files, and you check those pins carefully from board to board it might reveal the issue.

Owen

Code:
--- rb50a.inc    Thu Jul 18 18:17:21 2013
+++ rb70a.inc    Sun Jul 14 07:15:33 2013
@@ -1,7 +1,7 @@
 ;********************************************
-;* Red Brick 50A with all FETs on PORTD     *
-;* Original fuses are lfuse:0xbf hfuse:0xc1 *
-;* Same as hk200a but with reversed C and A *
+;* Red Brick 70A with all FETs on PORTD     *
+;* Also Red Brick 200A black (RB200A-BTO)   *
+;* Original fuses are lfuse:0x3f hfuse:0xc1 *
 ;********************************************
 
 .equ    F_CPU        = 16000000
@@ -10,9 +10,6 @@
 .equ    USE_UART    = 0
 .equ    USE_ICP        = 0
 
-.equ    DEAD_LOW_NS    = 1200
-.equ    DEAD_HIGH_NS    = 1800
-
 ;*********************
 ; PORT D definitions *
 ;*********************
@@ -22,8 +19,8 @@
 .equ    BpFET        = 4    ;2  o
 .equ    BnFET        = 3    ;1  o
 .equ    rcp_in        = 2    ;32 i r/c pulse input
-.equ    AnFET        = 1    ;31 o
-.equ    ApFET        = 0    ;30 o
+.equ    ApFET        = 1    ;31 o
+.equ    AnFET        = 0    ;30 o
 
 .equ    INIT_PD        = 0
 .equ    DIR_PD        = (1<<ApFET)+(1<<BpFET)+(1<<CpFET)+(1<<AnFET)+(1<<BnFET)+(1<<CnFET)
@@ -38,17 +35,17 @@
 ;*********************
 ; PORT C definitions *
 ;*********************
-.equ    mux_voltage    = 7    ; ADC7 voltage input (47k from Vbat, 2.0k to gnd, 14.7V in -> .598V at ADC7)
+.equ    mux_voltage    = 7    ; ADC7 voltage input (47k from Vbat, 2.0k to gnd, 10.10V in -> .402V at ADC7)
 ;.equ            = 6    ; ADC6
 ;.equ            = 5    ; ADC5
-.equ    mux_c        = 4    ; ADC4 phase input
+.equ    mux_a        = 4    ; ADC4 phase input
 .equ    mux_b        = 3    ; ADC3 phase input
-.equ    mux_a        = 2    ; ADC2 phase input
+.equ    mux_c        = 2    ; ADC2 phase input
 ;.equ            = 1    ; ADC1
 ;.equ            = 0    ; ADC0
 
 .equ    O_POWER        = 47
-.equ    O_GROUND    = 2    ; Mystery Cloud-50A seen to have 4.7k here, pfft
+.equ    O_GROUND    = 2
 
 .equ    INIT_PC        = 0
 .equ    DIR_PC        = 0
OwenD is offline Find More Posts by OwenD
Last edited by OwenD; Aug 05, 2013 at 06:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2013, 05:20 PM
safer on the ground
teccer1234's Avatar
wilts, United Kingdom
Joined Jul 2006
719 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by antslake View Post
I am 48. I tried to ctrl c, it didn't work.
vista and windows 7 have this installed, it's called snipping tool, go to start/all programs/accessories, then look for snipping tool, self explanatory when you bring it up, it can also snip a still from videos as well
ray
teccer1234 is offline Find More Posts by teccer1234
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2013, 05:35 PM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Bowral
Joined May 2013
842 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by teccer1234 View Post
vista and windows 7 have this installed, it's called snipping tool, go to start/all programs/accessories, then look for snipping tool, self explanatory when you bring it up, it can also snip a still from videos as well
ray
That procedure makes a graphic capture, a PNG file.

In my last post, I have included text copied from the command window screen, it is more text than contained withing the visible window, but can be 'marked' and copied using the bog standard features available from the right click menu.

Look at the difference, my quote is 56 lines, and it is scrollable, copiable, searchable text... and it uses a fraction of the storage.

Owen
OwenD is offline Find More Posts by OwenD
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2013, 10:07 PM
How high will it go?
antslake's Avatar
Greenwood Lake NY
Joined Oct 2003
2,734 Posts
Sorry Owen, I would have googled the solution for copying and pasting last night, but I was falling asleep, haha. I knew there was a way, I remember doing it from pinging server to prove to my isp that I had pl loss.

Anyway, here are the numbers.

Quote:
C:\Users\Anthony>avrdude -c usbasp -p m8 -t

avrdude: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware u
.
avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.10s

avrdude: Device signature = 0x1e9307
avrdude: current erase-rewrite cycle count is -50462977 (if being tracked)
avrdude> dump eeprom 0 512
>>> dump eeprom 0 512
0000 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0a 0b 0c 0d 0e 0f |......... ..|
0010 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 1a 1b 1c 1d 1e 1f |................|
0020 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 2a 2b 2c 2d 2e 2f | !"#$%&'()*+,-./|
0030 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 3a 3b 3c 3d 3e 3f |0123456789:;<=>?|
0040 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 4a 4b 4c 4d 4e 4f |@ABCDEFGHIJKLMNO|
0050 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 5a 5b 5c 5d 5e 5f |PQRSTUVWXYZ[\]^_|
0060 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 6a 6b 6c 6d 6e 6f |`abcdefghijklmno|
0070 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 7a 7b 7c 7d 7e 7f |pqrstuvwxyz{|}~.|
0080 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 8a 8b 8c 8d 8e 8f |................|
0090 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 9a 9b 9c 9d 9e 9f |................|
00a0 a0 a1 a2 a3 a4 a5 a6 a7 a8 a9 aa ab ac ad ae af |................|
00b0 b0 b1 b2 b3 b4 b5 b6 b7 b8 b9 ba bb bc bd be bf |................|
00c0 c0 c1 c2 c3 c4 c5 c6 c7 c8 c9 ca cb cc cd ce cf |................|
00d0 d0 d1 d2 d3 d4 d5 d6 d7 d8 d9 da db dc dd de df |................|
00e0 e0 e1 e2 e3 e4 e5 e6 e7 e8 e9 ea eb ec ed ee ef |................|
00f0 f0 f1 f2 f3 f4 f5 f6 f7 f8 f9 fa fb fc fd fe ff |................|
0100 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0a 0b 0c 0d 0e 0f |......... ..|
0110 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 1a 1b 1c 1d 1e 1f |................|
0120 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 2a 2b 2c 2d 2e 2f | !"#$%&'()*+,-./|
0130 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 3a 3b 3c 3d 3e 3f |0123456789:;<=>?|
0140 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 4a 4b 4c 4d 4e 4f |@ABCDEFGHIJKLMNO|
0150 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 5a 5b 5c 5d 5e 5f |PQRSTUVWXYZ[\]^_|
0160 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 6a 6b 6c 6d 6e 6f |`abcdefghijklmno|
0170 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 7a 7b 7c 7d 7e 7f |pqrstuvwxyz{|}~.|
0180 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 8a 8b 8c 8d 8e 8f |................|
0190 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 9a 9b 9c 9d 9e 9f |................|
01a0 a0 a1 a2 a3 a4 a5 a6 a7 a8 a9 aa ab ac ad ae af |................|
01b0 b0 b1 b2 b3 b4 b5 b6 b7 b8 b9 ba bb bc bd be bf |................|
01c0 c0 c1 c2 c3 c4 c5 c6 c7 c8 c9 ca cb cc cd ce cf |................|
01d0 d0 d1 d2 d3 d4 d5 d6 d7 d8 d9 da db dc dd de df |................|
01e0 e0 e1 e2 e3 e4 e5 e6 e7 e8 e9 ea eb ec ed ee ef |................|
01f0 f0 f1 f2 f3 f4 f5 f6 f7 f8 f9 fa fb fc fd fe ff |................|
You are right about them being in succession, with your knowledge you recognized it right away, I have no clue what I am looking at but it is odd how it came out in succession. So my question is, are we looking at stock firmware, or if someone loaded SimonK without a bootloader, would it show up like this?

@teccer1234, even though I did not need that snipping tool now, it's good to know, thanks.
antslake is offline Find More Posts by antslake
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2013, 10:11 PM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Bowral
Joined May 2013
842 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by antslake View Post
Sorry Owen, I would have googled the solution for copying and pasting last night, but I was falling asleep, haha. I knew there was a way, I remember doing it from pinging server to prove to my isp that I had pl loss.

...
You are right about them being in succession, with your knowledge you recognized it right away, I have no clue what I am looking at but it is odd how it came out in succession. So my question is, are we looking at stock firmware, or if someone loaded SimonK without a bootloader, would it show up like this?

...
My post advised:

Quote:
Originally Posted by OwenD View Post
If you look at this dump, you will see that it is a stepping binary value. This is what you read memory that is read protected (as it is on most commercial product as shipped).

Try reading one that you have successfully programmed and look at the difference.
OwenD is offline Find More Posts by OwenD
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2013, 10:24 PM
How high will it go?
antslake's Avatar
Greenwood Lake NY
Joined Oct 2003
2,734 Posts
Yes I know you said that. I have not programmed any of these, they were supposed to be flashed already. Guess I should flash this one, and measure the difference. This one I am messing with is one of the ones that burnt up on me. But it still sort of works.
antslake is offline Find More Posts by antslake
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2013, 10:28 PM
How high will it go?
antslake's Avatar
Greenwood Lake NY
Joined Oct 2003
2,734 Posts
The plot thickens......I flashed it with TGY, I believe that is correct.

Quote:
avrdude: Device signature = 0x1e9307
avrdude> dump eeprom 0 512
>>> dump eeprom 0 512
0000 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0010 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0020 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0030 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0040 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0050 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0060 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0070 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0080 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0090 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
00a0 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
00b0 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
00c0 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
00d0 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
00e0 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
00f0 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0100 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0110 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0120 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0130 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0140 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0150 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0160 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0170 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0180 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
0190 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
01a0 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
01b0 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
01c0 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
01d0 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
01e0 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
01f0 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff |................|
antslake is offline Find More Posts by antslake
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rctimer 30A esc cutting out with KK board Efliernz Multirotor Talk 2 May 26, 2011 02:20 PM
Sold FS: Tricopter Parts- HK401b, Pentium 30A ESC, rctimer 750kv motors pwu_1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jan 18, 2011 09:58 PM
Sold RCTimer 2826-6 + ESC 30A New in packaging will trade as well Pics Added! planebldr Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2010 09:54 PM
Discussion RCTimer 30A Programmable ESC hunter7193 Power Systems 8 Jan 02, 2010 02:27 PM
For Sale Several New ESC's - 10a, 20a, 30a - Reduced Callen9345 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2009 02:31 PM