HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 28, 2013, 08:32 AM
Registered User
GhostMaster's Avatar
Portugal
Joined Feb 2012
2,850 Posts
I just notice that there is a new firmware for the HK F-30A.

Its safe to flash this on the ESC?

GhostMaster is online now Find More Posts by GhostMaster
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 28, 2013, 12:44 PM
Registered User
GhostMaster's Avatar
Portugal
Joined Feb 2012
2,850 Posts
Can someone help me please? Just want to flash all the ESC if is safe. Thank you very much.
GhostMaster is online now Find More Posts by GhostMaster
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2013, 12:55 PM
How high will it go?
antslake's Avatar
Greenwood Lake NY
Joined Oct 2003
2,661 Posts
Can you make adjustments to the flash file? Like changing motor timing etc?
Is there a tutorial or description of what and how to change it?

I have a motor esc combo that I want to experiment with.
antslake is offline Find More Posts by antslake
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2013, 09:58 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2013
421 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostMaster View Post
I just notice that there is a new firmware for the HK F-30A.

Its safe to flash this on the ESC?

I will let you know in the morning, I just flashed my 30a HK blue/mystery on my tri
panaceabeachbum is offline Find More Posts by panaceabeachbum
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2013, 01:05 AM
Registered User
GhostMaster's Avatar
Portugal
Joined Feb 2012
2,850 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by panaceabeachbum View Post
I will let you know in the morning, I just flashed my 30a HK blue/mystery on my tri
Thanks
GhostMaster is online now Find More Posts by GhostMaster
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2013, 02:04 AM
Registered User
nexty's Avatar
Belgium
Joined May 2012
134 Posts
someone as already try to flash a Turnigy 10A Plush ESC? if so do you have the picture of each pole?

cheers
nexty is offline Find More Posts by nexty
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: FlyX-Vision: Is almost there!
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2013, 03:05 AM
Registered User
Slovenia, Ljubljana
Joined Sep 2011
1,432 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostMaster View Post
I just notice that there is a new firmware for the HK F-30A.

Its safe to flash this on the ESC?

I have flashed my F30A with this FW and it's ok. They are working.
er9xuser is offline Find More Posts by er9xuser
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2013, 09:09 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2013
421 Posts
Well flashed bs-nfet 2013-05-15 on all 3 esc, hk blue 30 amp, 2 seem to be fine one is very slow to respond, it does spin in the correct direction but is well behind the other 2 and jerks while making a clunkiung sound.

I am using kk2 v1.6 and have gone thru esc calibration , same result. I have flashed all 3 with the prvious version of simonk, same problem.

UPDATE

Swapped to unflashed(china firmware) ESC flys fine, swapped back to the same esc flashed with bs-nfet hex, jerky twitchy motor rotation. Swapped motors to a different model and they run perfectly on the flashed ESC so I am guessing there is just a compatability issue with the new firmware and the motors I originaly had mounted.
panaceabeachbum is offline Find More Posts by panaceabeachbum
Last edited by panaceabeachbum; Jul 29, 2013 at 10:31 AM. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2013, 02:02 AM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Bowral
Joined May 2013
822 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by panaceabeachbum View Post
Well flashed bs-nfet 2013-05-15 on all 3 esc, hk blue 30 amp, 2 seem to be fine one is very slow to respond,...
No hints of the motors or their characteristics (poles, kV etc).

So, did you try to split the bad ESC+motor and try the ESC on one of the other good motors, and the motor on one of the other good ESCs.

This is really basic diagnostic technique to divide the problem area to help to localise the problem.

Owen
OwenD is offline Find More Posts by OwenD
Last edited by OwenD; Jul 30, 2013 at 03:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2013, 07:25 AM
SILURIA / UK
Shikra's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Jun 2009
2,422 Posts
Thanks Marco - appreciate time taken for reply.

Firstly I think its a normal 12 stator motor. I haven't counted the number of poles. 650kv running 4s

Fast acceleration changes are when it fails consistently. " out of every 3 times. Starting speed is a reasonably fast "tickover"
Slow - moderate accelerations are fine.
When running at consistent speed always OK.
Also to note - it does seem worse when warmed up as Marco noted.

Have four motors and escs - they all do it - some worse than others.

One motor does have trouble starting sometimes - others the odd hiccup for a second

I am running some older simonK on my Tri - with 880kv t-motor and no issues. Might try swapping over.

bit of a nuisance as escs are hard wired and buried in the frame so not a quick change Thought I'd do a nice job for once...!

Quote:
Originally Posted by OwenD View Post
Marco, Shikra,

My first thought is that I would be trying to create a consistent test framework for evaluating the problem.

I have been playing with motor timing recently. I questioned to apparently universal scheme of applying some timing advance as a constant number of electrical degrees, when some effects in the the motor (eg current rise time due to winding inductance) might be better compensated by a constant time advance.

I encouraged Simon to add a facility for advance to be calculated as some number of microseconds plus some number of degrees. The change is in the current git repo.
Shikra is offline Find More Posts by Shikra
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: MultiWii OSD - MWOSD NG
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2013, 11:31 AM
How high will it go?
antslake's Avatar
Greenwood Lake NY
Joined Oct 2003
2,661 Posts
When using afro esc, should we be defining extended motor range?
antslake is offline Find More Posts by antslake
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2013, 03:18 PM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Bowral
Joined May 2013
822 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shikra View Post
...
Firstly I think its a normal 12 stator motor. I haven't counted the number of poles. 650kv running 4s
Ok, with fractional poles it might be 14 pole motor. The stator poles do not determine the commutation rate for a give speed, the permanent magnet poles do that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shikra View Post
...
Fast acceleration changes are when it fails consistently. " out of every 3 times. Starting speed is a reasonably fast "tickover"
Slow - moderate accelerations are fine.
When running at consistent speed always OK.
No surprises that it is easier to maintain sync at constant speed.

Are you sure that it is during the acceleration phase and not the deceleration phase that it looses sync. That would best be confirmed with quite separate acc and dec tests.

My own tests reveal that whilst a motor might be more sensitive to timing on rapid acceleration at low speed. I know most people seem to choose motor timing to get max power at reasonable current, but have you tried to vary timing advance to see if it affects rapid performance at the low end. Again, these tests are most valid if you use a consistent acceleration scenario... I generated a test ramp on an Arduino nano. Also helpful if you can capture the response with a logger for instance.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shikra View Post
When running at consistent speed always OK.
Also to note - it does seem worse when warmed up as Marco noted.
Ok, but is it because the ESC is warm, or the motor warm or both? Motor windings can heat up real quick and it increases the resistance. Try heating the ESC with a hair dryer and do a test with a hot ESC and cold motor. Does that reveal anything?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Shikra View Post
Have four motors and escs - they all do it - some worse than others.

One motor does have trouble starting sometimes - others the odd hiccup for a second
Isn't that a warning that something is marginal?

Owen
OwenD is offline Find More Posts by OwenD
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2013, 03:56 PM
Registered User
nexty's Avatar
Belgium
Joined May 2012
134 Posts
nobody has try yet with the 10A Turnigy Plush version?

wondering why I'm getting this message;

avrdude.exe: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update.
avrdude.exe: error: programm enable: target doesn't answer. 1
avrdude.exe: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.


I'v based some assumption on the wirering from the 12a version
nexty is offline Find More Posts by nexty
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: FlyX-Vision: Is almost there!
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2013, 06:02 PM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Bowral
Joined May 2013
822 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexty View Post
...

wondering why I'm getting this message;

avrdude.exe: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update.
Outdated firmware on your USBASP... isn't that self evident? Do you have one of the Hobbyking duds?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nexty View Post
avrdude.exe: error: programm enable: target doesn't answer. 1
avrdude.exe: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.
Now this could be caused by a fast clock (since -B did not work, hence the message you got).

Install the slow clock jumper on the USBASP, check your connections and try again.

Owen
OwenD is offline Find More Posts by OwenD
Last edited by OwenD; Jul 30, 2013 at 07:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2013, 06:29 PM
Filipino Expat in Saudi
blimppilot@ph's Avatar
Saudi Arabia, Riyadh Province, Riyadh
Joined Apr 2004
578 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexty View Post
nobody has try yet with the 10A Turnigy Plush version?

wondering why I'm getting this message;

avrdude.exe: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update.
avrdude.exe: error: programm enable: target doesn't answer. 1
avrdude.exe: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.


I'v based some assumption on the wirering from the 12a version
does you plush 10a sports an atmega chip? do you know what an atmega8 chip looks like? if it's not then you're on a wrong thread.. kindly post pics of your esc w/o heatshrink and we could help you more
blimppilot@ph is online now Find More Posts by blimppilot@ph
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rctimer 30A esc cutting out with KK board Efliernz Multirotor Talk 2 May 26, 2011 02:20 PM
Sold FS: Tricopter Parts- HK401b, Pentium 30A ESC, rctimer 750kv motors pwu_1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jan 18, 2011 09:58 PM
Sold RCTimer 2826-6 + ESC 30A New in packaging will trade as well Pics Added! planebldr Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2010 09:54 PM
Discussion RCTimer 30A Programmable ESC hunter7193 Power Systems 8 Jan 02, 2010 02:27 PM
For Sale Several New ESC's - 10a, 20a, 30a - Reduced Callen9345 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2009 02:31 PM