HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 22, 2013, 10:30 PM
Registered User
3d astronaut's Avatar
United States, MI, Paw Paw
Joined Sep 2011
4,108 Posts
Hey guys I am having some issues.. I flashed my hk 30amp esc's with simonk+bootloader and everything said it was successful. Now when I hook up power to an esc, it just beeps 1 time (with or without a motor connected, nothing comes from the motor, its from the esc) I cant set the throttle range, I cant get it to arm I just cant get it to do anything. All 4 that I have are doing the same thing. Any ideas??

edit// figured out my problem in post #7594. But, I fried two esc's in the process....

I am looking for two hk30amp esc's and am in desperate need. Let me know your price!
3d astronaut is offline Find More Posts by 3d astronaut
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by 3d astronaut; May 23, 2013 at 02:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 23, 2013, 03:38 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2010
154 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by redcard1 View Post
Well, I tried it on a windows xp computer and it still gives me the same messages.

I'm not giving up on flashing these Hobbyking f20a escs yet but,
I want to try a different USBasp device, Ideally one that is a known working one, anyone have a tested spare that they would like to part with?


Anyone?
redcard1 is offline Find More Posts by redcard1
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 03:47 AM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Bowral
Joined May 2013
845 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by redcard1 View Post
Anyone?
Is your USBasp visible in Device Manager? Is its status good, does it have two driver files being libusb*.*?

Owen
OwenD is online now Find More Posts by OwenD
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 03:50 AM
Registered User
New Zealand, Canterbury, Christchurch
Joined Dec 2012
1,419 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by redcard1 View Post
Anyone?
while your vendor and device ID's are all zero's there isn't anything that can be done. Windows expects the device to present valid vendor and device ID"s. The fact that yours isn't means either it's a faulty programmer, or it's not getting a good USB connection to the computer. Have you plugged it into a USB port on the back panel of your computer directly, not via a USB hub or extension cable?

The libusb driver will work on 32bit and 64bit without issue once you get that far, but until you get something other than 0000 for vendor and device ID's you won't get any driver to load
WendoNZ is offline Find More Posts by WendoNZ
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 04:14 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2010
154 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by WendoNZ View Post
while your vendor and device ID's are all zero's there isn't anything that can be done. Windows expects the device to present valid vendor and device ID"s. The fact that yours isn't means either it's a faulty programmer, or it's not getting a good USB connection to the computer. Have you plugged it into a USB port on the back panel of your computer directly, not via a USB hub or extension cable?

The libusb driver will work on 32bit and 64bit without issue once you get that far, but until you get something other than 0000 for vendor and device ID's you won't get any driver to load
Thanks for the info. I tried it on 4 different computers and all the usb ports directly on those 4 computers (no hub or extension). 2 windows 7, 1 win xp, 1 windows vista computers all the same problem. Still looking for a different USB asp to try out.
redcard1 is offline Find More Posts by redcard1
Last edited by redcard1; May 23, 2013 at 04:15 AM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 04:16 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,570 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by WendoNZ View Post
while your vendor and device ID's are all zero's there isn't anything that can be done. Windows expects the device to present valid vendor and device ID"s. The fact that yours isn't means either it's a faulty programmer, or it's not getting a good USB connection to the computer. Have you plugged it into a USB port on the back panel of your computer directly, not via a USB hub or extension cable?

The libusb driver will work on 32bit and 64bit without issue once you get that far, but until you get something other than 0000 for vendor and device ID's you won't get any driver to load
Hi,

I have several reports that this http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__27990__USBasp_AVR_Programming_Device_for_ATMEL_p roccessors.html has 0000 as Device ID and teh same for Vendor ID.
That can only be when there is no firmware on the USBasp. Normally when you plug in a USB device it is recognised by the system because of a resistor going from one signal line to ground (If I remeber correctly). Then it asks for the IDs to look-up the right driver.

Christian
LazyZero is online now Find More Posts by LazyZero
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 04:34 AM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Bowral
Joined May 2013
845 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LazyZero View Post
Hi,

...
That can only be when there is no firmware on the USBasp. ...
Or possibly no power.

Does the HK device power the target, lots of USBasp do that... and if the target pulls the volts low, then it won't work.

Is this identification problem apparent if the USBasp has nothing attached on the target side?


Owen
OwenD is online now Find More Posts by OwenD
Last edited by OwenD; May 23, 2013 at 04:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 06:13 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
53 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogueqd View Post
My spare F-30A's arrived!

I made a peg pin tool, but I bent the ends of the pins to give them some springyness, this made it esier to get all the pins to touch, rather than making them all the exact same length.



I used the kkMulticopter flash tool v0.72 and tried to flash BS N-FET V2012-09-30, but got this error.

Code:
G:\Temp\kk2 flash tool\lib\avrdude\windows\avrdude.exe -C G:\Temp\kk2 flash tool\lib\avrdude\windows\avrdude.conf -p m8 -P usb -c usbasp -B 8 -e -U flash:w:G:\Temp\kk2 flash tool\tmp\bs_nfet.hex:i 

avrdude.exe: set SCK frequency to 93750 Hz
avrdude.exe: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update.
avrdude.exe: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.01s

avrdude.exe: Device signature = 0x3c0102
avrdude.exe: Expected signature for ATmega8 is 1E 93 07
             Double check chip, or use -F to override this check.

avrdude.exe done.  Thank you.

Error during writing flash.
Any ideas?


Edit: I notice that the picture from the ESC Specs spreadsheet shows the chip as ATMEGA8A AU 1106 but my ESC has ATMEGA8A AU 1249.


.
The 1106 and 1249 as the year and Week in the year the chip was made, standard electronics industry notation of YYWW, they look to be the same chip. Can't help you with why the ID is showing wrong, that ID you got doesn't turn up anything but this thread on google.

Andrew
dopplet is offline Find More Posts by dopplet
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 06:50 AM
Quads, 4 times the fun.
Australia, NSW, Brookvale
Joined Apr 2011
730 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dopplet View Post
The 1106 and 1249 as the year and Week in the year the chip was made, standard electronics industry notation of YYWW, they look to be the same chip.
Thanks Andrew.
I worked out that the device signature error was because my programmer wasn't supplying enough power. I've edited my original post.

I just flashed a newly bought F-30A ESC with the bs_nfet.hex from tgy_2012-06-10_d8f53c2.zip and also the latest one downloaded automatically with kkMulticopter Flash Tool (2012-09-30).

Both firmwares worked fine, no smoke or other weirdness.

I'm off to flash my other ESCs...
rogueqd is offline Find More Posts by rogueqd
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 07:54 AM
:)
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Sep 2012
3,588 Posts
A big thanks to all here, I just flashed some BS 12A for a quad, and the response is just incredible!

Can I please confirm the default throttle range is 1060-1860?

Need to find the donate button tomorrow Very appreciative for this firmware.

Cheers!
Soma is offline Find More Posts by Soma
RCG Plus Member
Old May 23, 2013, 08:12 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2010
154 Posts
No

Quote:
Originally Posted by OwenD View Post
Is your USBasp visible in Device Manager? Is its status good, does it have two driver files being libusb*.*?

Owen
I dont have it in front of me right now, but when I tried it yesterday I noticed that in device manager it doesnt show up as a USBasp.

It shows up as an unknown device in the usb controllers tree. no drivers loaded. when I do try to update the driver, windows says it already has the best drivers for this device.
redcard1 is offline Find More Posts by redcard1
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 09:02 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2013
1 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by alsav View Post
20A esc reflashed suscessfull!

The photos:Attachment 4974182Attachment 4974183

"type-2" board
All is nFETs: ON 529 T70 N03

pFETs is in reverse
ApFET PD5
BpFET PD4
CpFET PD3

AnFET PB2
BnFET PB1
CnFET PB0

rcp_in PD2(INT0)

mux_a ADC6
mux_b ADC7
mux_c AIN1(PD7)
comp AIN0(PD6)
accu_adc ADC0 voltage control input: 47k from Vbat, 4.7k to gnd, 7.72V in -> .702V at ADC0 (this values from my esc)

And the .inc file:
Code:
.equ	F_CPU		= 16000000
.equ	USE_INT0	= 1
.equ	USE_I2C		= 0
.equ	USE_UART	= 0
.equ	USE_ICP		= 0

;*********************
; PORT D definitions *
;*********************
;.equ	mux_c		= 7	;i <plus> comparator input (AIN1)
.equ	c_comp		= 6	;i common comparator input (AIN0)
.equ	ApFET		= 5	;o
.equ	BpFET		= 4	;o
.equ	CpFET		= 3	;o
.equ	rcp_in		= 2	;i r/c pulse input

.equ	INIT_PD		= (1<<ApFET)+(1<<BpFET)+(1<<CpFET)
.equ	DIR_PD		= (1<<ApFET)+(1<<BpFET)+(1<<CpFET)

.equ	ApFET_port	= PORTD
.equ	BpFET_port	= PORTD
.equ	CpFET_port	= PORTD

.MACRO rcp_int_enable
	ldi	@0, (1<<INT0)	; enable ext0int
	out	GICR, @0
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO rcp_int_disable
	out	GICR, ZH	; disable ext0int
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO rcp_int_rising_edge
	ldi	@0, (1<<ISC01)+(1<<ISC00)
	out	MCUCR, @0	; set next int0 to rising edge
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO rcp_int_falling_edge
	ldi	@0, (1<<ISC01)
	out	MCUCR, @0	; set next int0 to falling edge
.ENDMACRO

.MACRO ApFET_on
	cbi	PORTD, ApFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO ApFET_off
	sbi	PORTD, ApFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO BpFET_on
	cbi	PORTD, BpFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO BpFET_off
	sbi	PORTD, BpFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO CpFET_on
	cbi	PORTD, CpFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO CpFET_off
	sbi	PORTD, CpFET
.ENDMACRO

.MACRO ApFET_on_reg
	cbr	@0, 1<<ApFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO ApFET_off_reg
	sbr	@0, 1<<ApFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO BpFET_on_reg
	cbr	@0, 1<<BpFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO BpFET_off_reg
	sbr	@0, 1<<BpFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO CpFET_on_reg
	cbr	@0, 1<<CpFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO CpFET_off_reg
	sbr	@0, 1<<CpFET
.ENDMACRO

.MACRO all_pFETs_off
	in	@0, PORTD
	sbr	@0, (1<<ApFET)+(1<<BpFET)+(1<<CpFET)
	out	PORTD, @0
.ENDMACRO


;*********************
; PORT C definitions *
;*********************
.equ	mux_b		= 7	; ADC7 phase input
.equ	mux_a		= 6	; ADC6 phase input
;.equ			= 5	; ADC5
;.equ			= 4	; ADC4
;.equ			= 3	; ADC3
;.equ			= 2	; ADC2
;.equ			= 1	; ADC1
.equ	accu_adc	= 0	; ADC7 voltage control input

.equ	INIT_PC		= 0
.equ	DIR_PC		= 0

.MACRO comp_init
	in	@0, SFIOR
	sbr	@0, (1<<ACME)	; set Analog Comparator Multiplexer Enable
	out	SFIOR, @0
.ENDMACRO

.MACRO set_comp_phase_a
	ldi	@0, mux_a	; set comparator multiplexer to phase A
	out	ADMUX, @0
	cbi	ADCSRA, ADEN	; disable ADC
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO set_comp_phase_b
	ldi	@0, mux_b	; set comparator multiplexer to phase B
	out	ADMUX, @0
	cbi	ADCSRA, ADEN	; disable ADC
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO set_comp_phase_c	
	sbi	ADCSRA, ADEN	; enable ADC and comparator to phase C (AIN1)
.ENDMACRO



;*********************
; PORT B definitions *
;*********************
;.equ			= 7
;.equ			= 6
;.equ			= 5
;.equ			= 4
;.equ			= 3
.equ	AnFET		= 2
.equ	BnFET		= 1
.equ	CnFET		= 0

.equ	INIT_PB		= 0
.equ	DIR_PB		= (1<<AnFET)+(1<<BnFET)+(1<<CnFET)

.equ	AnFET_port	= PORTB
.equ	BnFET_port	= PORTB
.equ	CnFET_port	= PORTB

.MACRO AnFET_on
	sbi	PORTB, AnFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO AnFET_off
	cbi	PORTB, AnFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO BnFET_on
	sbi	PORTB, BnFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO BnFET_off
	cbi	PORTB, BnFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO CnFET_on
	sbi	PORTB, CnFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO CnFET_off
	cbi	PORTB, CnFET
.ENDMACRO

.MACRO AnFET_on_reg
	sbr	@0, 1<<AnFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO AnFET_off_reg
	cbr	@0, 1<<AnFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO BnFET_on_reg
	sbr	@0, 1<<BnFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO BnFET_off_reg
	cbr	@0, 1<<BnFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO CnFET_on_reg
	sbr	@0, 1<<CnFET
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO CnFET_off_reg
	cbr	@0, 1<<CnFET
.ENDMACRO

.MACRO nFET_brake
	in	@0, PORTB
	sbr	@0, (1<<AnFET)+(1<<BnFET)+(1<<CnFET)
	out	PORTB, @0
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO all_nFETs_off
	in	@0, PORTB
	cbr	@0, (1<<AnFET)+(1<<BnFET)+(1<<CnFET)
	out	PORTB, @0
.ENDMACRO

.MACRO RED_on
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO RED_off
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO GRN_on
.ENDMACRO
.MACRO GRN_off
.ENDMACRO

Hello? can I flash this ESC with KKmulticopter Flash Tool or RCTimer/Turnigy/Hobbywing ESC DIY Firmware Flashing TOOL!!! ?

And what name for this ESC ?
zamanko is offline Find More Posts by zamanko
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 09:29 AM
Chilled and served
Henry.'s Avatar
Sweden
Joined Mar 2005
287 Posts
Would the tgy.hex work/make any difference with a tp.hex ESC or will it make a small nuke?
Henry. is offline Find More Posts by Henry.
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 02:13 PM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Bowral
Joined May 2013
845 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogueqd View Post
Thanks Andrew.
I worked out that the device signature error was because my programmer wasn't supplying enough power. I've edited my original post.
The USBasp is one of the few programmers that can supply power to the target.

It is often though of as a really convenient feature, but it causes grief to lots of newcomers when the target draws too much current (even if short term) as the USBasp circuitry and logic does not have the means of properly managing the situation, it just fails to work properly.

So, the most reliable approach may be to remove the link (JP1 on the original circuit) / cut the track (some implementations don't have the JP1 link) on the USBasp and supply power to the target separately. Make sure also that the USBasp is properly set to 3.3 or 5V supply if it has that feature.

Owen
OwenD is online now Find More Posts by OwenD
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 03:04 PM
Chilled and served
Henry.'s Avatar
Sweden
Joined Mar 2005
287 Posts
I canīt understand how an ESC when the USBASP (or what ever used) connected right to the cpu could draw more then a few mA?
Henry. is offline Find More Posts by Henry.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rctimer 30A esc cutting out with KK board Efliernz Multirotor Talk 2 May 26, 2011 02:20 PM
Sold FS: Tricopter Parts- HK401b, Pentium 30A ESC, rctimer 750kv motors pwu_1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jan 18, 2011 09:58 PM
Sold RCTimer 2826-6 + ESC 30A New in packaging will trade as well Pics Added! planebldr Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2010 09:54 PM
Discussion RCTimer 30A Programmable ESC hunter7193 Power Systems 8 Jan 02, 2010 02:27 PM
For Sale Several New ESC's - 10a, 20a, 30a - Reduced Callen9345 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2009 02:31 PM