HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 06, 2013, 03:07 PM
Registered User
New Zealand, Canterbury, Christchurch
Joined Dec 2012
1,417 Posts
I'm pretty sure you have to have enabled the fuse bits to boot the bootloader first, at least that's how every other AVR chip I've ever seen works
WendoNZ is offline Find More Posts by WendoNZ
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 06, 2013, 03:10 PM
Mmmmmmm!
WiseDuck's Avatar
Kingdom of Sweden, Dalarna County, Sater
Joined Oct 2011
3,352 Posts
I know how to reflash my Nano, no problems there. I even used it to reflash a bunch of ESCs. However, where does the ESC wires go (GND, VCC and SIG)? You mention a bunch of pins in the readme, pins which I cant find on it.

Maybe it'll just be easier to cut away some of the heatshrink and resolder the wires. Takes a minute or two.
WiseDuck is offline Find More Posts by WiseDuck
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2013, 03:12 PM
Registered User
LittleMo's Avatar
United States, VA
Joined Dec 2006
1,483 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by WendoNZ View Post
I'm pretty sure you have to have enabled the fuse bits to boot the bootloader first, at least that's how every other AVR chip I've ever seen works
If the servo wire is held high (eg. USB Linker) then it will switch to running the bootloader code. It's not an avr/arduino thing, it's a feature of the simonk firmware.
LittleMo is offline Find More Posts by LittleMo
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2013, 03:15 PM
Registered User
LittleMo's Avatar
United States, VA
Joined Dec 2006
1,483 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiseDuck View Post
I know how to reflash my Nano, no problems there. I even used it to reflash a bunch of ESCs. However, where does the ESC wires go (GND, VCC and SIG)? You mention a bunch of pins in the readme, pins which I cant find on it.

Maybe it'll just be easier to cut away some of the heatshrink and resolder the wires. Takes a minute or two.
Start with the directions at the top of the README, it has a list of steps in a bulleted list. There is only one pin mentioned, that is PD2/INT0 (digital pin 2).

The other stuff down low is for more complicated usage (like with MultiWii or using other pins).

Of course re-soldering is not that hard but it's worth it to get the linker running because from then on it's so easy you never have to think about reflashing.

Edit:
I was just thinking maybe I could draw a picture that shows how everything is hooked up. That might make it clearer. I'll do that when I get a chance. Really it's just digital pin 2 and ground that need to be connected between the arduino and servo wire.
LittleMo is offline Find More Posts by LittleMo
Last edited by LittleMo; Apr 06, 2013 at 03:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2013, 03:15 PM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,550 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LittleMo View Post
Which part? Maybe I can walk you through it. The KK flash tool has direct support for the Arudiono USB Linker.



Depends on which firmware, newer versions can enter the bootloader at any time even if it's not enabled.
It also helps you in making a Arduino USB Linker. See http://lazyzero.de/en/modellbau/kkmu...duinousblinker
for more informations on that.

Best Christian
LazyZero is online now Find More Posts by LazyZero
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2013, 04:12 PM
Mmmmmmm!
WiseDuck's Avatar
Kingdom of Sweden, Dalarna County, Sater
Joined Oct 2011
3,352 Posts
Ah, right, so PD2 = Pin D2. Should've been able to figure out that one. Durr.
WiseDuck is offline Find More Posts by WiseDuck
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2013, 04:17 PM
Mmmmmmm!
WiseDuck's Avatar
Kingdom of Sweden, Dalarna County, Sater
Joined Oct 2011
3,352 Posts
Nevermind, used KKFlashtool, worked!
WiseDuck is offline Find More Posts by WiseDuck
Last edited by WiseDuck; Apr 06, 2013 at 04:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2013, 04:21 PM
Registered User
LittleMo's Avatar
United States, VA
Joined Dec 2006
1,483 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LazyZero View Post
It also helps you in making a Arduino USB Linker. See http://lazyzero.de/en/modellbau/kkmu...duinousblinker
for more informations on that.
Excellent, I didn't even know that was there myself.

How's this picture for a start:
LittleMo is offline Find More Posts by LittleMo
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2013, 04:25 PM
Registered User
LittleMo's Avatar
United States, VA
Joined Dec 2006
1,483 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiseDuck View Post
Nevermind, used KKFlashtool, worked!
Great!

Although I wonder why it wouldn't compile for you the first time. Seems strange like it couldn't find the EEPROM header.
LittleMo is offline Find More Posts by LittleMo
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2013, 04:30 PM
Mmmmmmm!
WiseDuck's Avatar
Kingdom of Sweden, Dalarna County, Sater
Joined Oct 2011
3,352 Posts
Well, the Lazyzero flash tool is throwing a whole heap of red messages at me. Didn't use a regulated supply though. I guess I'm gonna have to hook up a 1S lipo or something to this, or use a BEC. I just hooked up a 3S lipo to the ESCs but maybe that's not OK.
WiseDuck is offline Find More Posts by WiseDuck
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2013, 04:37 PM
Registered User
LittleMo's Avatar
United States, VA
Joined Dec 2006
1,483 Posts
Actually a 3S or whatever should work, it's just a little risky in case the motors spin.

Can you copy the errors you get and post them here?

Also, do you know which version of the firmware you have on there? It may not be able to enter the bootloader if it wasn't enabled and your firmware is very old.
LittleMo is offline Find More Posts by LittleMo
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2013, 04:41 PM
Mmmmmmm!
WiseDuck's Avatar
Kingdom of Sweden, Dalarna County, Sater
Joined Oct 2011
3,352 Posts
Flash the firmware file.

C:\Users\WiseDuck\Downloads\kkmulticopterflashtool _0.71beta7\lib\avrdude\windows\avrdude.exe -C C:\Users\WiseDuck\Downloads\kkmulticopterflashtool _0.71beta7\lib\avrdude\windows\avrdude.conf -p m8 -P COM11 -c stk500v2 -b 19200 -B 8 -e -U lfuse:r:C:\Users\WiseDuck\Downloads\kkmulticopterf lashtool_0.71beta7\tmp\/lfuse.hex:r -U hfuse:r:C:\Users\WiseDuck\Downloads\kkmulticopterf lashtool_0.71beta7\tmp\/hfuse.hex:r
avrdude.exe: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude.exe: stk500v2_command(): command failed
avrdude.exe: stk500v2_getparm(): failed to get parameter 0x98
avrdude.exe: Unable to get parameter 0x98

avrdude.exe: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.10s

avrdude.exe: Device signature = 0x1e9307
avrdude.exe: erasing chip
avrdude.exe: reading lfuse memory:

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.03s

avrdude.exe: writing output file "C:\Users\WiseDuck\Downloads\kkmulticopterflashtoo l_0.71beta7\tmp\/lfuse.hex"
avrdude.exe: reading hfuse memory:

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.03s

avrdude.exe: writing output file "C:\Users\WiseDuck\Downloads\kkmulticopterflashtoo l_0.71beta7\tmp\/hfuse.hex"

avrdude.exe done. Thank you.


C:\Users\WiseDuck\Downloads\kkmulticopterflashtool _0.71beta7\lib\avrdude\windows\avrdude.exe -C C:\Users\WiseDuck\Downloads\kkmulticopterflashtool _0.71beta7\lib\avrdude\windows\avrdude.conf -p m8 -P COM11 -c stk500v2 -b 19200 -B 8 -e -U lfuse:w:0:m -U hfuse:w:10:m
avrdude.exe: stk500v2_command(): command failed
avrdude.exe: stk500v2_getparm(): failed to get parameter 0x98
avrdude.exe: Unable to get parameter 0x98

avrdude.exe: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.10s

avrdude.exe: Device signature = 0x1e9307
avrdude.exe: erasing chip
avrdude.exe: reading input file "0"
avrdude.exe: writing lfuse (1 bytes):

Writing | ################################################## | 100% 0.03s

avrdude.exe: 1 bytes of lfuse written
avrdude.exe: verifying lfuse memory against 0:
avrdude.exe: load data lfuse data from input file 0:
avrdude.exe: input file 0 contains 1 bytes
avrdude.exe: reading on-chip lfuse data:

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.03s

avrdude.exe: verifying ...
avrdude.exe: 1 bytes of lfuse verified
avrdude.exe: reading input file "10"
avrdude.exe: writing hfuse (1 bytes):

Writing | ***failed;
################################################## | 100% 0.26s

avrdude.exe: 1 bytes of hfuse written
avrdude.exe: verifying hfuse memory against 10:
avrdude.exe: load data hfuse data from input file 10:
avrdude.exe: input file 10 contains 1 bytes
avrdude.exe: reading on-chip hfuse data:

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.03s

avrdude.exe: verifying ...
avrdude.exe: verification error, first mismatch at byte 0x0000
0x00 != 0x0a
avrdude.exe: verification error; content mismatch

avrdude.exe done. Thank you.

Error during reading of high fuse.
Flashing of firmware aborted.
WiseDuck is offline Find More Posts by WiseDuck
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2013, 04:45 PM
Registered User
LittleMo's Avatar
United States, VA
Joined Dec 2006
1,483 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiseDuck View Post
Flash the firmware file.
<snip>
Error during reading of high fuse.
Flashing of firmware aborted.
LazyZero might be able to answer better than me but do you have the bootloader option enabled? You might need to turn that off. It looks like it's trying to set fuses and that doesn't work over the USB Linker.
LittleMo is offline Find More Posts by LittleMo
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2013, 04:49 PM
Mmmmmmm!
WiseDuck's Avatar
Kingdom of Sweden, Dalarna County, Sater
Joined Oct 2011
3,352 Posts
Tried without the "enable bootloader" thing. Failed again. Might as well do this the traditional way, would've been done by now if I had.

Flash the firmware file.
Flashing firmware from file.: C:\Users\WiseDuck\Downloads\simonk_avra1.3.0_windo ws\tgy.hex

C:\Users\WiseDuck\Downloads\kkmulticopterflashtool _0.71beta7\lib\avrdude\windows\avrdude.exe -C C:\Users\WiseDuck\Downloads\kkmulticopterflashtool _0.71beta7\lib\avrdude\windows\avrdude.conf -p m8 -P COM11 -c stk500v2 -b 19200 -B 8 -e -U flash:w:C:\Users\WiseDuck\Downloads\simonk_avra1.3 .0_windows\tgy.hex:i
avrdude.exe: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude.exe: stk500v2_command(): command failed
avrdude.exe: stk500v2_getparm(): failed to get parameter 0x98
avrdude.exe: Unable to get parameter 0x98

avrdude.exe: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.10s

avrdude.exe: Device signature = 0x1e9307
avrdude.exe: erasing chip
avrdude.exe: reading input file "C:\Users\WiseDuck\Downloads\simonk_avra1.3.0_wind ows\tgy.hex"
avrdude.exe: writing flash (8192 bytes):

Writing | ################################################## | 100% 6.30s

avrdude.exe: 8192 bytes of flash written
avrdude.exe: verifying flash memory against C:\Users\WiseDuck\Downloads\simonk_avra1.3.0_windo ws\tgy.hex:
avrdude.exe: load data flash data from input file C:\Users\WiseDuck\Downloads\simonk_avra1.3.0_windo ws\tgy.hex:
avrdude.exe: input file C:\Users\WiseDuck\Downloads\simonk_avra1.3.0_windo ws\tgy.hex contains 8192 bytes
avrdude.exe: reading on-chip flash data:

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 5.58s

avrdude.exe: verifying ...
avrdude.exe: verification error, first mismatch at byte 0x1ed0
0x49 != 0x48
avrdude.exe: verification error; content mismatch

avrdude.exe done. Thank you.

Error during writing flash.
WiseDuck is offline Find More Posts by WiseDuck
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2013, 04:57 PM
Registered User
LittleMo's Avatar
United States, VA
Joined Dec 2006
1,483 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiseDuck View Post
Tried without the "enable bootloader" thing. Failed again. Might as well do this the traditional way, would've been done by now if I had.
Sometimes it goes that way.

It looks like it "successfully" wrote the new firmware but also looks like it's the same problem I had with the very latest simonk firmwares not being able to update with the USB Linker (which Simon can't recreate ).

It's probably updated to something (unknown) relatively recent but it might be risky to run the ESC that way (I'm paranoid though) so you might might want to try updating the old way, sorry.
LittleMo is offline Find More Posts by LittleMo
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rctimer 30A esc cutting out with KK board Efliernz Multirotor Talk 2 May 26, 2011 02:20 PM
Sold FS: Tricopter Parts- HK401b, Pentium 30A ESC, rctimer 750kv motors pwu_1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jan 18, 2011 09:58 PM
Sold RCTimer 2826-6 + ESC 30A New in packaging will trade as well Pics Added! planebldr Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2010 09:54 PM
Discussion RCTimer 30A Programmable ESC hunter7193 Power Systems 8 Jan 02, 2010 02:27 PM
For Sale Several New ESC's - 10a, 20a, 30a - Reduced Callen9345 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2009 02:31 PM