HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 11, 2011, 10:09 PM
Registered User
United States, AR, Jonesboro
Joined May 2011
394 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SadSack View Post
when read only, what does say?
ok, how would you do this through avrdude. Don't feel like downloading avr studio and possibly having a problem like previously stated.
firepong is offline Find More Posts by firepong
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 11, 2011, 10:15 PM
Registered User
United States, AR, Jonesboro
Joined May 2011
394 Posts
Ok, heres what I get:

Code:
        Using Port                    : com1
         Using Programmer              : avrisp
         AVR Part                      : ATMEGA8
         Chip Erase delay              : 10000 us
         PAGEL                         : PD7
         BS2                           : PC2
         RESET disposition             : dedicated
         RETRY pulse                   : SCK
         serial program mode           : yes
         parallel program mode         : yes
         Timeout                       : 200
         StabDelay                     : 100
         CmdexeDelay                   : 25
         SyncLoops                     : 32
         ByteDelay                     : 0
         PollIndex                     : 3
         PollValue                     : 0x53
         Memory Detail                 :

                                  Block Poll               Page
      Polled
           Memory Type Mode Delay Size  Indx Paged  Size   Size #Pages MinW  Max
W   ReadBack
           ----------- ---- ----- ----- ---- ------ ------ ---- ------ ----- ---
-- ---------
           eeprom         4    20   128    0 no        512    4      0  9000  90
00 0xff 0xff
           flash         33    10    64    0 yes      8192   64    128  4500  45
00 0xff 0x00
           lfuse          0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  2000  20
00 0x00 0x00
           hfuse          0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  2000  20
00 0x00 0x00
           lock           0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  2000  20
00 0x00 0x00
           calibration    0     0     0    0 no          4    0      0     0
 0 0x00 0x00
           signature      0     0     0    0 no          3    0      0     0
 0 0x00 0x00

         Programmer Type : STK500
         Description     : Atmel AVR ISP
         Hardware Version: 2
         Firmware Version: 1.18
         Topcard         : Unknown
         Vtarget         : 0.0 V
         Varef           : 0.0 V
         Oscillator      : Off
         SCK period      : 0.1 us

avrdude: stk500_program_enable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x50
avrdude: initialization failed, rc=-1
         Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
         this check.

avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51
Something is definitely up with this x.x
firepong is offline Find More Posts by firepong
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2011, 10:20 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Well everything reading back as zeros.. .is your MOSI line connected?
I can't even imagine its possible to flash without that. ..
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Dec 11, 2011, 10:22 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Bristol
Joined Aug 2008
1,772 Posts
http://avr8-burn-o-mat.aaabbb.de/AVR..._1_2_setup.exe

use that takes guess work out. just a front end for avrdude
SadSack is offline Find More Posts by SadSack
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2011, 10:31 PM
Registered User
United States, AR, Jonesboro
Joined May 2011
394 Posts
Guess, it wasen't, cause now, I don't get a error, but I actually get this:

Code:
         Using Port                    : com1
         Using Programmer              : avrisp
         AVR Part                      : ATMEGA8
         Chip Erase delay              : 10000 us
         PAGEL                         : PD7
         BS2                           : PC2
         RESET disposition             : dedicated
         RETRY pulse                   : SCK
         serial program mode           : yes
         parallel program mode         : yes
         Timeout                       : 200
         StabDelay                     : 100
         CmdexeDelay                   : 25
         SyncLoops                     : 32
         ByteDelay                     : 0
         PollIndex                     : 3
         PollValue                     : 0x53
         Memory Detail                 :

                                  Block Poll               Page
      Polled
           Memory Type Mode Delay Size  Indx Paged  Size   Size #Pages MinW  Max
W   ReadBack
           ----------- ---- ----- ----- ---- ------ ------ ---- ------ ----- ---
-- ---------
           eeprom         4    20   128    0 no        512    4      0  9000  90
00 0xff 0xff
           flash         33    10    64    0 yes      8192   64    128  4500  45
00 0xff 0x00
           lfuse          0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  2000  20
00 0x00 0x00
           hfuse          0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  2000  20
00 0x00 0x00
           lock           0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  2000  20
00 0x00 0x00
           calibration    0     0     0    0 no          4    0      0     0
 0 0x00 0x00
           signature      0     0     0    0 no          3    0      0     0
 0 0x00 0x00

         Programmer Type : STK500
         Description     : Atmel AVR ISP
         Hardware Version: 2
         Firmware Version: 1.18
         Topcard         : Unknown
         Vtarget         : 0.0 V
         Varef           : 0.0 V
         Oscillator      : Off
         SCK period      : 0.1 us

avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.12s

avrdude: Device signature = 0x000000
avrdude: Yikes!  Invalid device signature.
avrdude: Expected signature for ATMEGA8 is 1E 93 07
avrdude: safemode: lfuse reads as 0
avrdude: safemode: hfuse reads as 0

avrdude: safemode: lfuse reads as 0
avrdude: safemode: hfuse reads as 0
avrdude: safemode: Fuses OK

avrdude done.  Thank you.
It says there is in fact no device code or fuses set O.o
firepong is offline Find More Posts by firepong
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2011, 10:47 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Bristol
Joined Aug 2008
1,772 Posts
don't use -f, check connections. try using gui to read only
SadSack is offline Find More Posts by SadSack
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2011, 11:03 PM
Registered User
United States, AR, Jonesboro
Joined May 2011
394 Posts
Without -f, it comes up the same, just that it gives me a different ending:

Code:
         Using Port                    : com1
         Using Programmer              : avrisp
         AVR Part                      : ATMEGA8
         Chip Erase delay              : 10000 us
         PAGEL                         : PD7
         BS2                           : PC2
         RESET disposition             : dedicated
         RETRY pulse                   : SCK
         serial program mode           : yes
         parallel program mode         : yes
         Timeout                       : 200
         StabDelay                     : 100
         CmdexeDelay                   : 25
         SyncLoops                     : 32
         ByteDelay                     : 0
         PollIndex                     : 3
         PollValue                     : 0x53
         Memory Detail                 :

                                  Block Poll               Page
      Polled
           Memory Type Mode Delay Size  Indx Paged  Size   Size #Pages MinW  Max
W   ReadBack
           ----------- ---- ----- ----- ---- ------ ------ ---- ------ ----- ---
-- ---------
           eeprom         4    20   128    0 no        512    4      0  9000  90
00 0xff 0xff
           flash         33    10    64    0 yes      8192   64    128  4500  45
00 0xff 0x00
           lfuse          0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  2000  20
00 0x00 0x00
           hfuse          0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  2000  20
00 0x00 0x00
           lock           0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  2000  20
00 0x00 0x00
           calibration    0     0     0    0 no          4    0      0     0
 0 0x00 0x00
           signature      0     0     0    0 no          3    0      0     0
 0 0x00 0x00

         Programmer Type : STK500
         Description     : Atmel AVR ISP
         Hardware Version: 2
         Firmware Version: 1.18
         Topcard         : Unknown
         Vtarget         : 0.0 V
         Varef           : 0.0 V
         Oscillator      : Off
         SCK period      : 0.1 us

avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.13s

avrdude: Device signature = 0x000000
avrdude: Yikes!  Invalid device signature.
         Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
         this check.
firepong is offline Find More Posts by firepong
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2011, 11:12 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Bristol
Joined Aug 2008
1,772 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by firepong View Post
Ok, I got it to flash. Seems I had to use external power and UN-hook the power coming from the avrisp.

So, now I have another problem:

Code:
c:\>avrdude -c avrisp -p m8 -U lfuse:w:0x84:m -F

avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.13s

avrdude: Device signature = 0x000000
avrdude: Yikes!  Invalid device signature.
avrdude: Expected signature for ATMEGA8 is 1E 93 07
avrdude: reading input file "0x84"
avrdude: writing lfuse (1 bytes):

Writing |                                                    | 0% 0.00s ***faile
d;
Writing | ################################################## | 100% 0.32s

avrdude: 1 bytes of lfuse written
avrdude: verifying lfuse memory against 0x84:
avrdude: load data lfuse data from input file 0x84:
avrdude: input file 0x84 contains 1 bytes
avrdude: reading on-chip lfuse data:

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.03s

avrdude: verifying ...
avrdude: verification error, first mismatch at byte 0x0000
         0x84 != 0x00
avrdude: verification error; content mismatch

avrdude: safemode: lfuse changed! Was 84, and is now 0
Would you like this fuse to be changed back? [y/n]
What would be the problem here? I've tried both, no lets it go through, yes freezes and goes no further.

This happens on both fuses.
going back to this post.

you did say y to changing back fusees?

lf not you may have locked your out but dont know really
SadSack is offline Find More Posts by SadSack
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2011, 11:34 PM
Registered User
United States, AR, Jonesboro
Joined May 2011
394 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SadSack View Post
going back to this post.

you did say y to changing back fusees?

lf not you may have locked your out but dont know really
I'm thinking this might be my problem. I'm going to sleep on it and get me some sleep. I'll mess with it some more tomorrow and hope I can figure out why it's doing that.

I do know the MOSI line as well as all of the others are working though as I got fuses back from my atmega328 chip I tried it on.

Might just be something wrong with the ESC. It is one of the first ones I got back when I started my first quad.
firepong is offline Find More Posts by firepong
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2011, 01:39 AM
Maiden>Confident>Cocky>Crash!
argo-2's Avatar
New Zealand
Joined Feb 2010
558 Posts
Hey Simon

Cause you nothing to do any chance of some code for battery voltage monitoring?

Feel free to tell me to pee off - I can live without it!
argo-2 is offline Find More Posts by argo-2
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2011, 02:18 AM
Registered User
Fifon's Avatar
France
Joined Oct 2005
93 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SadSack View Post
part 2...
That's Huge Many many thanks !!
Fifon is offline Find More Posts by Fifon
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2011, 05:29 AM
Registered User
Canada, AB, Calgary
Joined Sep 2011
330 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonk View Post
4. My code is junk

Hrm, well, which software did you use? I just flashed an RCTimer 50A, and it was a totally different pinout (made a new target called rct50a), but that's probably not your issue. Could you post a picture of the board? If it worked with no prop, it's likely not the wrong pinout, but it could be. There do seem to be some cases with some boards (particularly at higher voltage and sometimes encouraged by capacitors between the sense lines) where starting seems to look like it's trying to start and stop continously instead of just starting smoothly. I was able to reproduce this on the HK 30A board until I fried it. Still trying to come up with a good solution for that problem.
I use AVR Studio 5 for loading my hex through a STK500 programmer. I just loaded you HEX code and didn't compile anything as that is what I thought was required. When I get home tonight I will open up a controller a take a photo of it.
Greg Nuspel is offline Find More Posts by Greg Nuspel
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2011, 07:56 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Bristol
Joined Aug 2008
1,772 Posts
Hi
I'm looking for infomation on how to go about setting up inc. Has a guide or wiki been done?

Phil
SadSack is offline Find More Posts by SadSack
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2011, 10:38 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2010
44 Posts
I got the same error with my new AVR USB STK500 v2 when reflashing new fw for my blue series ESC 40A. (chip Atmega8A AU 1022).
Please help, does it have any trick for this?
I solder wire directly to chip as well.
Still have the same error as:
[IMG] error by duypham11[/IMG]
duypham11 is offline Find More Posts by duypham11
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2011, 02:08 PM
manuLRK
Belgium
Joined Sep 2004
1,528 Posts
home work

Hello,
I did my homework. I pinpointed the turnigy plush 10A not starting version

Up to these revisions it works :
#Spelling fixes and comment clarification.
f51a0f47df94255f86ce09211c59a55a9cb55a05 f51a0f47df Browse code
Simon Kirby authored October 14, 2011
&
#Implement configuration option for UltraPWM (untested).
9ecb4a47ab13b8de7e5387ae89315688b3ff510d 9ecb4a47ab Browse code
Simon Kirby authored October 14, 2011

The guilty changes: Delay PWM comparator check by ~.5us if there is time to do so.

https://github.com/sim-/tgy/tree/1fc6477bbf6748e4056e8baedc7452d46f4e7a7b


manu
alll is offline Find More Posts by alll
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rctimer 30A esc cutting out with KK board Efliernz Multirotor Talk 2 May 26, 2011 02:20 PM
Sold FS: Tricopter Parts- HK401b, Pentium 30A ESC, rctimer 750kv motors pwu_1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jan 18, 2011 09:58 PM
Sold RCTimer 2826-6 + ESC 30A New in packaging will trade as well Pics Added! planebldr Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2010 09:54 PM
Discussion RCTimer 30A Programmable ESC hunter7193 Power Systems 8 Jan 02, 2010 02:27 PM
For Sale Several New ESC's - 10a, 20a, 30a - Reduced Callen9345 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2009 02:31 PM