HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 29, 2012, 06:03 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2012
224 Posts
I was searching for the link https://github.com/sim-/tgy but only hex file for multicopter.I can not find file hex have reverser, brake of motor sensorless .
fantasy1988 is offline Find More Posts by fantasy1988
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 29, 2012, 06:31 AM
g0t rabb1t?
ABLomas's Avatar
Lietuva, Vilnius
Joined Jul 2011
1,622 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fantasy1988 View Post
I was searching for the link https://github.com/sim-/tgy but only hex file for multicopter.I can not find file hex have reverser, brake of motor sensorless .
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABLomas View Post
just recompile with needed braking power and timings...
....there's no hex file, because there's a lot of settings you could change in tgy.asm - probably most users would compile own version with own changes.

Search this thread - already posted few times how to compile firmware.
ABLomas is offline Find More Posts by ABLomas
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 06:45 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2012
224 Posts
I have heard, esc brushless can used to play indoor 4 d, airplanes can fly backwards. servo can used to change the direction of rotation., but I want to use brushless esc for this work
this is motor use servo to fly backwards

and had fimware flash verison new by simonk


fantasy1988 is offline Find More Posts by fantasy1988
Last edited by fantasy1988; Oct 29, 2012 at 07:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 06:42 PM
Registered User
sharonx's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
944 Posts
Hi.
I have a strange problem with a setup that flew well on DJI ESCs ony My DJI Quad :

I have Tiger motors 2212 800KV with 10X5 graupner props on 4S.
I use these ESCs now
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=25986
and I flashed SimonK FW (30.9.12 using built in FW in LazyZero flash tool).
I had a version without boot-loader and a version with boot-loader and I chose the one with boot-loader.
What is the meaning of the boot-loader and was this a good choice ?
The burn was successful according to the tool.

The problem is this : when I try lo lift off the quad is very unstable and tries to fly forward and right and possibly flip over.
in manual mode it feels very unstable also, couldn't even lift it past 20cm, it was very unstable.

When I tried the motors without props it seems that they are not reacting in real time but with big delay.

Can you think of what causes this ?
sharonx is offline Find More Posts by sharonx
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 08:32 PM
Registered User
Australia, SA, Renmark West
Joined Sep 2011
399 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fantasy1988 View Post
I have heard, esc brushless can used to play indoor 4 d, airplanes can fly backwards. servo can used to change the direction of rotation., but I want to use brushless esc for this work
this is motor use servo to fly backwards

and had fimware flash verison new by simonk


Seeing that reminds me of an idea I'd had for a multicopter with constant speed, variable pitch props. The response to control inputs would be much quicker than having to speed up and slow down the complete motor and propeller. I might do it one day - variable pitch units capable of swinging a 12-15 inch prop are available "off the shelf"- I could use helicopter tail rotor assemblies.
RedSky is offline Find More Posts by RedSky
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 08:33 PM
Registered User
Australia, SA, Renmark West
Joined Sep 2011
399 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharonx View Post
Hi.
I have a strange problem with a setup that flew well on DJI ESCs ony My DJI Quad :

I have Tiger motors 2212 800KV with 10X5 graupner props on 4S.
I use these ESCs now
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=25986
and I flashed SimonK FW (30.9.12 using built in FW in LazyZero flash tool).
I had a version without boot-loader and a version with boot-loader and I chose the one with boot-loader.
What is the meaning of the boot-loader and was this a good choice ?
The burn was successful according to the tool.

The problem is this : when I try lo lift off the quad is very unstable and tries to fly forward and right and possibly flip over.
in manual mode it feels very unstable also, couldn't even lift it past 20cm, it was very unstable.

When I tried the motors without props it seems that they are not reacting in real time but with big delay.

Can you think of what causes this ?
Are there any odd noises from the motors as they speed up? (I'm thinking about mis-timing here).
RedSky is offline Find More Posts by RedSky
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 09:18 PM
Registered User
sharonx's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
944 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedSky View Post
Are there any odd noises from the motors as they speed up? (I'm thinking about mis-timing here).
nope
sharonx is offline Find More Posts by sharonx
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 04:00 AM
T.ing to put on air 100 models
chiloschista's Avatar
Switzerland
Joined Feb 2008
680 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farmer_Joe View Post
It works!!!

Here are the instructions for all the noobs like me.

- download Atmel Studio 6.0 and install it.
- start new AVR Assembler project (select ATmega8 or Atmega8A)
- copy the content from https://raw.github.com/sim-/tgy/master/tgy.asm and paste it in your new project.
- comment out everything till first .endif
- download latest zip form https://github.com/sim-/tgy/commits/master and extract to a folder - let say c:esc
- in your opened project press alt+F7 and got to Toolchain select General and at the bottom (include paths) / add item, uncheck - Reletive Path and select your folder (c:esc).
- save your project
-now just uncomment .include of your desired firmware and hit F7.

Your .hex will be in my documents/Atmel Studio/your project name/Debug

That is all...

It is works for me, someone correct me if i wrote something wrong.
Hi,
thank you very much for simple instructions !
I got the "wrap relative branch option" error while compiling.
This is solved by selecting "wrap relative jumps" in Toolchain -> General.
You could add this in your post to complete it.
Apologize if it was already discussed

Ric
chiloschista is online now Find More Posts by chiloschista
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 05:52 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2012
224 Posts
programming language to give the easiest avr ?

language C or ASM too abstract, it is difficult to understand
fantasy1988 is offline Find More Posts by fantasy1988
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 06:40 AM
Registered User
larryf8's Avatar
Philippines, NCR, QC
Joined Dec 2011
109 Posts
Fms 35A esc

Hi guys, i used to flash my Fms 20A esc with simonk firmware using Bsnfet file. Now i recently purchased the new Fms 35A esc which have different pad lay-outs now, than the previous older 20A and 30A.
Question: does anyone have any experience on this esc's regarding pad identification and file to flash it with.

Appreciate any help to point me in the information highway.

best regards,
larry
larryf8 is offline Find More Posts by larryf8
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 08:10 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
397 Posts
Maytech 30 esc

Tried searching, but does anyone have the pins identified to flash 30 amp Maytech escs? Thanks rkensoha
rkenosha is offline Find More Posts by rkenosha
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 10:58 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2012
115 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fantasy1988 View Post
programming language to give the easiest avr ?

language C or ASM too abstract, it is difficult to understand
you can arduino,very easy
future88 is offline Find More Posts by future88
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 12:55 PM
Registered User
LittleMo's Avatar
United States, VA
Joined Dec 2006
1,494 Posts
I put up ArduinoUSBLinker version 0.7 yesterday. This release was mostly concentrating on reducing the size. Adds about 1800 bytes to MultiWii now which leaves me with about 3K free when using my quad's configuration (ACC, BARO, MAG, FAILSAFE, BUZZER, VBAT).

The work flow I have been using to flash my ESC's on my Pro-mini MultiWii quad is like this:
  1. Hook up the serial port from the quad to the computer.
  2. Power up the quad. Safest to do this with no props on your motors.
  3. * Send the magic MultiWii command to enter USB Linker mode (motors start beeping "no signal").
  4. Open a serial monitor in the Arduino GUI (115200 baud) and send a "$M<" command to make sure it's active.
  5. Send commands "$M<P19", "$M<P1", "$M<P2", and "$M<P3". Motors all stop beeping.
  6. Send command "$M<P19".
  7. Close Arduino serial monitor to free the serial port.
  8. Run "avrdude -c stk500v2 -b 115200 -P /dev/ttyUSB0 -u -p m8 -D -U flash:w:simonkfirmware.hex:i"
  9. Open Arduino serial monitor and send command "$M<P1". Close serial monitor. Run avrdude again.
  10. Open Arduino serial monitor and send command "$M<P2". Close serial monitor. Run avrdude again.
  11. Open Arduino serial monitor and send command "$M<P3". Close serial monitor. Run avrdude again.
  12. Power off the quad.
Process could be automated but works well enough as is.

* In Linux I just use echo to output the magic command. Like this:
Code:
echo -ne "\x24\x4D\x3C\x00\xD3\xD3" > /dev/ttyUSB0
Here is a C program that will output the command to stdout:
Code:
#include <stdio.h>

int main(int argc, char* argv[])
{
   unsigned char cmd[] = { '$', 'M', '<', 0, 211, 0 };
   unsigned char checksum = 0;
   size_t i;

   for (i = 3; i < sizeof(cmd) - 1; i++)
      checksum ^= (cmd[i] & 0xFF);

   cmd[sizeof(cmd) - 1] = checksum;

   fwrite(cmd, sizeof(cmd), 1, stdout);
   fflush(stdout);

   return 0;
}
LittleMo is offline Find More Posts by LittleMo
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 01:31 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Bristol
Joined Aug 2008
1,774 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LittleMo View Post
I put up ArduinoUSBLinker version 0.7 yesterday. This release was mostly concentrating on reducing the size. Adds about 1800 bytes to MultiWii now which leaves me with about 3K free when using my quad's configuration (ACC, BARO, MAG, FAILSAFE, BUZZER, VBAT).

The work flow I have been using to flash my ESC's on my Pro-mini MultiWii quad is like this:
  1. Hook up the serial port from the quad to the computer.
  2. Power up the quad. Safest to do this with no props on your motors.
  3. * Send the magic MultiWii command to enter USB Linker mode (motors start beeping "no signal").
  4. Open a serial monitor in the Arduino GUI (115200 baud) and send a "$M<" command to make sure it's active.
  5. Send commands "$M<P19", "$M<P1", "$M<P2", and "$M<P3". Motors all stop beeping.
  6. Send command "$M<P19".
  7. Close Arduino serial monitor to free the serial port.
  8. Run "avrdude -c stk500v2 -b 115200 -P /dev/ttyUSB0 -u -p m8 -D -U flash:w:simonkfirmware.hex:i"
  9. Open Arduino serial monitor and send command "$M<P1". Close serial monitor. Run avrdude again.
  10. Open Arduino serial monitor and send command "$M<P2". Close serial monitor. Run avrdude again.
  11. Open Arduino serial monitor and send command "$M<P3". Close serial monitor. Run avrdude again.
  12. Power off the quad.
Process could be automated but works well enough as is.

* In Linux I just use echo to output the magic command. Like this:
Code:
echo -ne "\x24\x4D\x3C\x00\xD3\xD3" > /dev/ttyUSB0
Here is a C program that will output the command to stdout:
Code:
#include <stdio.h>

int main(int argc, char* argv[])
{
   unsigned char cmd[] = { '$', 'M', '<', 0, 211, 0 };
   unsigned char checksum = 0;
   size_t i;

   for (i = 3; i < sizeof(cmd) - 1; i++)
      checksum ^= (cmd[i] & 0xFF);

   cmd[sizeof(cmd) - 1] = checksum;

   fwrite(cmd, sizeof(cmd), 1, stdout);
   fflush(stdout);

   return 0;
}
Just can't wait till board gets here and try multiwii with this for real. Could rig up Uno but shall wait till FC appears.
Haven't re flashed esc as yet works gone bit mad and can't say no
Have got java install right now so thats something.
What ever version i use it always fail in the same place every time..
reads 100%
erase
then just times out on write.
Think i may have broke bootloader when i just kept flashing maybe 10X + in a row
SadSack is offline Find More Posts by SadSack
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 02:40 PM
Registered User
sharonx's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
944 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharonx View Post
Hi.
I have a strange problem with a setup that flew well on DJI ESCs ony My DJI Quad :

I have Tiger motors 2212 800KV with 10X5 graupner props on 4S.
I use these ESCs now
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=25986
and I flashed SimonK FW (30.9.12 using built in FW in LazyZero flash tool).
I had a version without boot-loader and a version with boot-loader and I chose the one with boot-loader.
What is the meaning of the boot-loader and was this a good choice ?
The burn was successful according to the tool.

The problem is this : when I try lo lift off the quad is very unstable and tries to fly forward and right and possibly flip over.
in manual mode it feels very unstable also, couldn't even lift it past 20cm, it was very unstable.

When I tried the motors without props it seems that they are not reacting in real time but with big delay.

Can you think of what causes this ?
Please help me understand what is the boot-loader ?
sharonx is offline Find More Posts by sharonx
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rctimer 30A esc cutting out with KK board Efliernz Multirotor Talk 2 May 26, 2011 03:20 PM
Sold FS: Tricopter Parts- HK401b, Pentium 30A ESC, rctimer 750kv motors pwu_1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jan 18, 2011 10:58 PM
Sold RCTimer 2826-6 + ESC 30A New in packaging will trade as well Pics Added! planebldr Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2010 10:54 PM
Discussion RCTimer 30A Programmable ESC hunter7193 Power Systems 8 Jan 02, 2010 03:27 PM
For Sale Several New ESC's - 10a, 20a, 30a - Reduced Callen9345 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2009 03:31 PM