HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 29, 2012, 04:51 PM
Chad
TheOne420's Avatar
United States, CA, Cathedral City
Joined Dec 2010
1,695 Posts
it beeps 8 beeps exactly the same then a pause for about 1 full second then 8 beeps and it keeps repeating.
i just have the esc hooked to my rx and a motor connected to the esc. i start it with throttle high and wait for beep then lower it and the calibration is done. when i try this process with the one esc i get lots of beeping but with all my others they work great.
i will try to flash it again when i get home.
TheOne420 is offline Find More Posts by TheOne420
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 29, 2012, 04:52 PM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
United States, TX, Spring
Joined Apr 2012
2,364 Posts
Sorry for my noob ? But what esc are the best and easyst to flash I have all the tools to do it
tech69x is offline Find More Posts by tech69x
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 04:55 PM
James not bond
jy0933's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined May 2012
2,074 Posts
Hk f20/f30
jy0933 is offline Find More Posts by jy0933
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 05:06 PM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
United States, TX, Spring
Joined Apr 2012
2,364 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jy0933 View Post
Hk f20/f30
Thank you
tech69x is offline Find More Posts by tech69x
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 05:15 PM
Registered User
snailshoe's Avatar
Canada, BC, Prince George
Joined Dec 2008
23 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABLomas View Post
Where did you got stock firmware?
I downloaded it from the ESC before I reflashed it. Not sure if it worked, though.
snailshoe is offline Find More Posts by snailshoe
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 06:37 PM
Yet another flying K1W1
41south's Avatar
Wellington, New Zealand
Joined Jan 2006
499 Posts
It's all fun until ......

Hi all, hopefully someone can help, I'm stuck!
Trying to flash HK F30A (light blue heatshrink) esc's with the bs_nfet.hex file and it stops at the "writing" as per below.
I've checked, rechecked and triple checked all the connections.
I'm using a USBtinyISP. The 'busy' LED comes on, stays on and it stalls as per the message below.
Did I miss a step, does the ESC need power?


avrdude.exe: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.02s

avrdude.exe: Device signature = 0x1e9307
avrdude.exe: erasing chip
avrdude.exe: reading input file "C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\KK flash tool\tmp\bs_nfet.hex"
avrdude.exe: writing flash (8192 bytes):

Writing |


41south is offline Find More Posts by 41south
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 07:03 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Bristol
Joined Aug 2008
1,774 Posts
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=230

auto read TC messages, firefox and chrome
SadSack is offline Find More Posts by SadSack
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 07:06 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 41south View Post
Hi all, hopefully someone can help, I'm stuck!
Trying to flash HK F30A (light blue heatshrink) esc's with the bs_nfet.hex file and it stops at the "writing" as per below.
I've checked, rechecked and triple checked all the connections.
I'm using a USBtinyISP. The 'busy' LED comes on, stays on and it stalls as per the message below.
Did I miss a step, does the ESC need power?


avrdude.exe: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.02s

avrdude.exe: Device signature = 0x1e9307
avrdude.exe: erasing chip
avrdude.exe: reading input file "C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\KK flash tool\tmp\bs_nfet.hex"
avrdude.exe: writing flash (8192 bytes):

Writing |


I always power ESC (by current limited supply) when flashing.
No real AVR programming adapter provides target power, anyway.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 29, 2012, 07:33 PM
Yet another flying K1W1
41south's Avatar
Wellington, New Zealand
Joined Jan 2006
499 Posts
Thanks TC (and SS)

Problem solved - missed a step in loading up the KK flash tool

Quote:
If you have a USBtiny the flashtool newer than 0.33 will not work with until you replace the avrdude.exe and avrdude.conf in the folder /lib/avrdude/windows/ with the one in this
First esc flashed - woohoo
41south is offline Find More Posts by 41south
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 09:31 PM
Chad
TheOne420's Avatar
United States, CA, Cathedral City
Joined Dec 2010
1,695 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOne420 View Post
it beeps 8 beeps exactly the same then a pause for about 1 full second then 8 beeps and it keeps repeating.
i just have the esc hooked to my rx and a motor connected to the esc. i start it with throttle high and wait for beep then lower it and the calibration is done. when i try this process with the one esc i get lots of beeping but with all my others they work great.
i will try to flash it again when i get home.
looks like reflashing the esc worked out fine for me. it must of had a glitch when flashing the first try.
TheOne420 is offline Find More Posts by TheOne420
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 02:40 AM
Registered User
The Netherlands, LI, Venray
Joined Dec 2008
1,395 Posts
Hello,

i am using Hobbywing Flyfun 18Amp for my quad,
i did not know if these are high refresh ESC, so i asked my seller
he stated:
As we know, all the flyfun series ESCs have a high refresh rate of 423HZ. We also confirmed this information with Hobbywing company. And they are all compatible with multicopters.


Did anyone know this already?, so there is no need to flash them ?
jaccies is offline Find More Posts by jaccies
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 02:46 AM
James not bond
jy0933's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined May 2012
2,074 Posts
i dont think hw's esc does high fresh rate....
http://www.hobbywing.com/product_show.asp?id=201
jy0933 is offline Find More Posts by jy0933
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 02:48 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaccies View Post
Hello,

i am using Hobbywing Flyfun 18Amp for my quad,
i did not know if these are high refresh ESC, so i asked my seller
he stated:
As we know, all the flyfun series ESCs have a high refresh rate of 423HZ. We also confirmed this information with Hobbywing company. And they are all compatible with multicopters.


Did anyone know this already?, so there is no need to flash them ?
lol. did they mention they also work real well with DJI??
incase you didn't get it, hobbywing esc = garbage, do not buy, do not waste money, cheaper, better ESC is available that is reflashable.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 30, 2012, 03:28 AM
Registered User
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2005
1,043 Posts
Hi Guys
Im having some issues getting my software setup to flash some esc's

I am trying to run the lazyzero tool

When i try to run the serial command to launch the program i get this message.

"java is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file"

Even though i have Java installed?

What am i doing wrong?

Then i have tried the Chatch15117 fashtool and i get the following message

avrdude.exe: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update.
avrdude.exe: error: programm enable: target doesn't answer. 1
avrdude.exe: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.


avrdude.exe done. Thank you.

I am trying to flash RCtimer 18amp esc using HK USBasp programmer.
I am pretty sure i have the driver installed correctly for this programmer.

Any ideas what i am doing wrong?

Cheers

Ben
wazzer is offline Find More Posts by wazzer
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 03:32 AM
Registered User
Slovenia, Ljubljana
Joined Sep 2011
1,456 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wazzer View Post
Hi Guys
Im having some issues getting my software setup to flash some esc's

I am trying to run the lazyzero tool

When i try to run the serial command to launch the program i get this message.

"java is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file"

Even though i have Java installed?

What am i doing wrong?

Then i have tried the Chatch15117 fashtool and i get the following message

avrdude.exe: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update.
avrdude.exe: error: programm enable: target doesn't answer. 1
avrdude.exe: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.


avrdude.exe done. Thank you.

I am trying to flash RCtimer 18amp esc using HK USBasp programmer.
I am pretty sure i have the driver installed correctly for this programmer.

Any ideas what i am doing wrong?

Cheers

Ben
Try to reinstall java.
er9xuser is offline Find More Posts by er9xuser
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rctimer 30A esc cutting out with KK board Efliernz Multirotor Talk 2 May 26, 2011 02:20 PM
Sold FS: Tricopter Parts- HK401b, Pentium 30A ESC, rctimer 750kv motors pwu_1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jan 18, 2011 09:58 PM
Sold RCTimer 2826-6 + ESC 30A New in packaging will trade as well Pics Added! planebldr Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2010 09:54 PM
Discussion RCTimer 30A Programmable ESC hunter7193 Power Systems 8 Jan 02, 2010 02:27 PM
For Sale Several New ESC's - 10a, 20a, 30a - Reduced Callen9345 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2009 02:31 PM