HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 22, 2012, 04:12 PM
Filipino Expat in Saudi
blimppilot@ph's Avatar
Saudi Arabia, Riyadh Province, Riyadh
Joined Apr 2004
577 Posts
@ blu, your results are the ones i should expect but mine is really strange, it seems that the avr chip doesn't want to get erased, somehow it always wants to revert back to its stock firmware, even if i write the default fuses for atmega8 it will revert back to stock firmware fuse settings. its really strange because i never got this problem flashing my turnigy9x transmitter using the same usbasp hardware.

@pug.. i have used extreme burner, lazy's flashtool, avr burn o mat, and even parallel port programmer. all of which were able to communicate with the atmega and write on it. but somewhat were not able to pass write verification, and as i said even resetting the fuses doesnt seem to really change it even if avrdude reported that writing fuses are successful.
blimppilot@ph is offline Find More Posts by blimppilot@ph
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 22, 2012, 05:25 PM
hacker
Canada, BC, North Vancouver
Joined Dec 2010
934 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blimppilot@ph View Post
@ blu, your results are the ones i should expect but mine is really strange, it seems that the avr chip doesn't want to get erased, somehow it always wants to revert back to its stock firmware, even if i write the default fuses for atmega8 it will revert back to stock firmware fuse settings. its really strange because i never got this problem flashing my turnigy9x transmitter using the same usbasp hardware.

@pug.. i have used extreme burner, lazy's flashtool, avr burn o mat, and even parallel port programmer. all of which were able to communicate with the atmega and write on it. but somewhat were not able to pass write verification, and as i said even resetting the fuses doesnt seem to really change it even if avrdude reported that writing fuses are successful.
Check your connections and power supply. It's sometimes possible to read but not write if something is not connected properly, falls off during programming, or if Vcc drops below a usable voltage while programming. I usually power the ESC from a current-limited bench supply rather than using the programmer's supply.
simonk is offline Find More Posts by simonk
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2012, 08:57 PM
Fly, crash, rebuild.
United States, NY, Shelter Island
Joined May 2011
872 Posts
Hexacopter Maiden KK2 + SimonK F30a & NTM2826 1000kv (4 min 29 sec)


Maiden flight of Hexa with KK2 and Simonk F30A Hobbyking ESCs. Stock PI settings at 150. Tuning to be done. quite pleased but got to balance props and dail her in. I used Christian's Lazyzero flash tool and it worked very well. Thank you for the guides and he;lp.
H
shelterock is offline Find More Posts by shelterock
Last edited by shelterock; Jul 22, 2012 at 08:59 PM. Reason: props to LzayZero
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2012, 10:27 PM
Chad
TheOne420's Avatar
United States, CA, Cathedral City
Joined Dec 2010
1,610 Posts
anybody know if these esc's can be flashed with simonk ?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...arehouse_.html
TheOne420 is online now Find More Posts by TheOne420
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2012, 10:53 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Yes, bs_nfet target.
But no pads, so you'll have to get some nanoclips.
I've done a bunch of them.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 22, 2012, 10:56 PM
Chad
TheOne420's Avatar
United States, CA, Cathedral City
Joined Dec 2010
1,610 Posts
great thanks
I solder tiny smd lights so i dont think it will be much of a problem.
TheOne420 is online now Find More Posts by TheOne420
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 05:41 AM
Registered User
pinguin's Avatar
Joined May 2009
352 Posts
I don't feel want to flashed my ESC with SimonK fw right know. But want's to know if setting the ESC timing to high would help the motor response?
pinguin is offline Find More Posts by pinguin
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 05:45 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinguin View Post
I don't feel want to flashed my ESC with SimonK fw right know. But want's to know if setting the ESC timing to high would help the motor response?
Then you're in the wrong thread.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 23, 2012, 06:00 AM
Registered User
Slovenia, Ljubljana
Joined Sep 2011
1,411 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinguin View Post
I don't feel want to flashed my ESC with SimonK fw right know. But want's to know if setting the ESC timing to high would help the motor response?
NO it'won't. Set timing to medium.
er9xuser is offline Find More Posts by er9xuser
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 03:36 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2008
356 Posts
hi all!

i have a question: is it possible to mix different ESCs flashed with Simonk' FW?
All in all? Or same "family"? (e.g. same hex file).

thanks
GliderLover is offline Find More Posts by GliderLover
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 07:01 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Yes, you can mix them.
Preferably of same type - with crystal or without (i.e. tgy.hex or any of tp/bs/nfet targets).
Why crystal? Because the tgy stuff with internal resonator will drift over temperature while all others won't.

Otherwise it makes no difference, since firmware handles different hardwares same way.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 24, 2012, 02:02 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
69 Posts
Hi all,

Thanks to Simon, noe my red brick is not a brick any more.

I flashed it with reverse enabled in order to get reverse thrust to slow down my edf jet on landing roll.

However, its difficult to set the mix or t curve. it works but not best.

Does any one know what variable to change in the source code, for
1. giving the motor a chance to spool down before I can kick in the reverse thrust. I know there is probably no way to detect the motor since its definitely sensor-less motor. I tried to enable delay but doesnt see any change.

2. setting the throtle range so i could mix both way properly. Right now with the mix I can get forward full speed , but reverse is already full at half a throtle. The mix for the forward (in order to get 0 thr at lowest posision) is weird. I had to set 1st point to 86% and goes to 100% on 5th point to get it working. and for the reverse it would go 1st 86% and at mid point -100%.

thanks in advance
whiskey29 is offline Find More Posts by whiskey29
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2012, 11:01 AM
hacker
Canada, BC, North Vancouver
Joined Dec 2010
934 Posts
Hello!

Before I left for vacation, I added a variable strength (and speed) brake, but in a simple way that runs outside of the normal drive loop. This means that it cannot switch between braking and running without relearning the timing, which is not what I wanted, but was simpler to implement. I do want to try to get the PWM interrupt to support any combination of FET twiddling, but still haven't figured out how to do it cleanly and without making it slower. It's currently over-optimized, and of course I don't want to make it worse (this actually affects throttle linearity and the bump right before full throttle).

Anyway, what this means is that there is currently no way to track the motor timing while braking. However, it can (and does) track it while commutating in reverse, even if the motor is spinning the other way. But there is no way to affect duty cycle limiting or delay reverse mode in favour of braking with the current approach.

Note that being sensorless doesn't matter except when the FETs are fully on. It's easier to check when using sensors, of course, but we can still get some feedback. We just have to not exit the running loop while braking.

Note also that throttle calibration also works when forward/reverse mode is active. You can select the pulse lengths for full forward, neutral, and full reverse. This may help you get the rate you want. However, there is also a neutral dead-band which is currently set in tgy.asm. If RCP_DEADBAND is set to 0, it would be very difficult to get the exact pulse length to stop the motor -- it defaults to 50 currently, which means neutral is extended to 50Ás above and below the calibrated point. Perhaps this is causing some confusion?

I also want to add a very low pulse length as being brake separately from coasting/neutral in forward/reverse mode, since this would help with my RC car with thumb brake, but this probably wouldn't help you.

It might work for you to just have a SLOW_THROTTLE for reverse only. What is the issue exactly now? Is it just too strong in reverse mode?
simonk is offline Find More Posts by simonk
Last edited by simonk; Jul 24, 2012 at 11:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2012, 12:15 PM
Registered User
PolynÚsie franšaise, ╬les du Vent, Papeete
Joined Oct 2011
16 Posts
Hi,
There are new hobbyking esc :
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...C_4A_UBEC.html
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...C_4A_UBEC.html
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...C_4A_UBEC.html
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...C_4A_UBEC.html
Any information about their mcu ? fets ?
maikodk is offline Find More Posts by maikodk
Last edited by maikodk; Jul 24, 2012 at 01:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2012, 12:22 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
1st link is 404, but the other two are probably same as f80a with more fets.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rctimer 30A esc cutting out with KK board Efliernz Multirotor Talk 2 May 26, 2011 02:20 PM
Sold FS: Tricopter Parts- HK401b, Pentium 30A ESC, rctimer 750kv motors pwu_1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jan 18, 2011 09:58 PM
Sold RCTimer 2826-6 + ESC 30A New in packaging will trade as well Pics Added! planebldr Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2010 09:54 PM
Discussion RCTimer 30A Programmable ESC hunter7193 Power Systems 8 Jan 02, 2010 02:27 PM
For Sale Several New ESC's - 10a, 20a, 30a - Reduced Callen9345 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2009 02:31 PM